HOL LogoGuard

Explore HOL

  • HOL home
  • AI agent registry
  • AI plugins
  • Open standards
  • HOL members
  • Sponsor HOL
  • Advertise with HOL

Guard product

  • Guard overviewLocal security and control for AI agents and the tools they use.
  • FeaturesRuntime protection, policy routing, review, and evidence.

Explore Guard

  • Product previewWalk through Guard surfaces in read-only demo mode.
  • ComparisonCompare Guard with native controls and AI security vendors.

AI tools

  • All AI toolsEvery supported AI tool and how Guard applies policy to it.
  • Codex
  • Claude Code
  • Cursor
  • Antigravity CLI
  • OpenCode
  • Hermes
  • OpenClaw
  • GitHub Copilot CLI
  • Antigravity
  • Kimi
  • Grok
  • Pi / Oh My Pi
  • Zcode

Extensions

  • All extensionsBrowse command and MCP coverage with owners and stated limits.
  • Command coverageShell command protection across clouds, databases, backups, and packages.
  • MCP server coverageSee how Guard maps risk state across MCP tools and servers.
  • Core safetyThe safety floor listings that ship with Guard.
  • Data and resilienceBackup and storage command protection.
  • Cloud and infrastructureAWS, Azure, GCP, Kubernetes, and more.

Security

  • AI security hubSecurity research, advisories, and agent safety coverage.
  • AI tool securitySecurity profiles for each supported coding agent.
  • Safe labsHands-on attack simulations with safe boundaries.
  • Redacted warningsReal blocked actions with sensitive details removed.
  • AdvisoriesCoordinated disclosure reports for AI tooling.
  • Active CVEsSearch active CVEs affecting AI tooling.

Learn

  • Security guidesPractical guides for securing AI agent workflows.
  • DocsInstall, configure, and operate Guard with confidence.
  • ResearchPublished security research, benchmarks, and methodology.

Community

  • ReleasesVersion history, shipped changes and upgrade notes.
  • ContributorsThe people and contributions behind HOL Guard.
  • AffiliatesShare Guard with your audience and earn from referrals.
  • SponsorFund agreed research, implementation and shared testing through the HOL Partner Program.
  • AdvertiseCompare README logo placements, previews and monthly prices, or promote a plugin or extension.
PricingEnterpriseOpen AppInstall Guard
  1. Guard
  2. Security
  3. CVEs
  4. CVE 2023 53236 iommufd do not corrupt the pfn list when doing
HOL Guard

Public security guidance for teams protecting AI harnesses, MCP servers, skills, prompts, and local tool execution.

Install Guard

AI Security

  • Prompt injection
  • MCP security
  • OWASP MCP mapping
  • Supply chain

Resources

  • Trust packet
  • Harness setup
  • Redacted warnings
  • Safe labs

Product

  • Install Guard
  • Pricing
  • Open dashboard
Guard
  • Guard Overview
  • Releases
  • Contributors
  • Install Guard
  • Pricing
Docs
  • Documentation Index
  • Developer Hub
  • API Reference
  • Root OpenAPI
  • Registry OpenAPI
  • Run in Postman
  • Standards
  • Submit ERC-8004 Contract
  • Feature Your Agent
Best Plugins
  • Browse Plugins
  • Plugin Launches
  • Best Claude Plugins
  • Best Codex Plugins
  • Best Grok Plugins
  • Best Kimi Plugins
  • Best DeepSeek Plugins
  • Best Antigravity Plugins
  • Best MCP Servers
  • Best Cursor Plugins
  • Best OpenCode Plugins
Best Agents
  • Best ERC-8004 Agents
  • Best Virtuals Agents
  • Best MCP Servers
  • Best A2A Agents
  • Best x402 Payable
  • All Categories
Community
  • Contribute to HOL
  • Telegram
  • X
More
  • About HOL
  • Sponsor
  • Advertise
  • Affiliate program
  • Contact
  • Blog
  • GitHub
  • Privacy
  • Terms of Service
Settings

Copyright © 2026 HOL DAO LLC. All rights reserved.

Back to active CVEs
High · CVSS 7.8CVE-2023-53236

iommufd: Do not corrupt the pfn list when doing batch carryCVE-2023-53236

Answer in brief

CVE-2023-53236 records a High severity (CVSS 7.8) vulnerability in iommufd: Do not corrupt the pfn list when doing batch carry. The current sources do not mark it as known exploited. The current feed maps Linux/Linux (generic), Linux/Linux (generic). Check affected ranges and fixed versions before updating.

Analysis pending evidence review

HOL Guard separates source facts from reviewed analysis. See the methodology.

Published Sep 15, 2025Updated Aug 5, 2026Source checked Nov 3, 2026First seen by HOL Aug 4, 2026Material review Aug 5, 2026
Upstream Advisory

Key facts

Risk
High · CVSS 7.8
Exploitation
Not marked as known exploited
Affected software
8 mapped packages or products
Fix availability
Available

Why this deserves its current priority

CVSS is 7.8. The current sources do not mark it as known exploited. Treat this as a source-backed prioritization signal, not a statement about your environment.

Analysis status

Analysis pending evidence review

Factual feed record only; HOL analysis is not approved for indexing. Read the methodology.

Affected scope and exposure questions

The current feed maps Linux/Linux (generic), Linux/Linux (generic). Check affected ranges and fixed versions before updating.

Affected products and reported versions
ProductAffected versionsFixed versions
cpe:2.3:o:linux:linux_kernel:*:*:*:*:*:*:*:*Not reportedNot reported
cpe:2.3:o:linux:linux_kernel:6.3:rc1:*:*:*:*:*:*Not reportedNot reported
cpe:2.3:o:linux:linux_kernel:6.3:rc2:*:*:*:*:*:*Not reportedNot reported
cpe:2.3:o:linux:linux_kernel:6.3:rc3:*:*:*:*:*:*Not reportedNot reported
cpe:2.3:o:linux:linux_kernel:6.3:rc4:*:*:*:*:*:*Not reportedNot reported
cpe:2.3:o:linux:linux_kernel:6.3:rc5:*:*:*:*:*:*Not reportedNot reported
Mapped affected packages and fixed versions
PackageAffected rangeFixed version
Linux/Linuxgeneric>=f394576eb11dbcd3a740fa41e577b97f0720d26e <6ed5784526ddc0fb58b1798af36ec0c3139a8dca || >=f394576eb11dbcd3a740fa41e577b97f0720d26e <13a0d1ae7ee6b438f5537711a8c60cba005549436ed5784526ddc0fb58b1798af36ec0c3139a8dca, 13a0d1ae7ee6b438f5537711a8c60cba00554943
Linux/Linuxgeneric6.2Not reported

Recommended response

  1. 1Check inventory. Check lockfiles and deployed manifests for Linux/Linux, Linux/Linux.
  2. 2Review the reported fix. Update Linux/Linux to 6ed5784526ddc0fb58b1798af36ec0c3139a8dca if you use the affected versions. Test the change in a non-production environment first.

Evidence timeline and material changes

  1. Published upstream

    Sep 15, 2025

    Evidence: source:cvelist:source_dates:source-dates:record
  2. Source modified

    Aug 5, 2026

    Evidence: source:cvelist:source_dates:source-dates:record
  3. First seen by HOL

    Aug 4, 2026

Sources and claim methodology

  • Source referencegit.kernel.org
  • Source referencegit.kernel.org
Upstream source description

In the Linux kernel, the following vulnerability has been resolved: iommufd: Do not corrupt the pfn list when doing batch carry If batch->end is 0 then setting npfns[0] before computing the new value of pfns will fail to adjust the pfn and result in various page accounting corruptions. It should be ordered after. This seems to result in various kinds of page meta-data corruption related failures: WARNING: CPU: 1 PID: 527 at mm/gup.c:75 try_grab_folio+0x503/0x740 Modules linked in: CPU: 1 PID: 527 Comm: repro Not tainted 6.3.0-rc2-eeac8ede1755+ #1 Hardware name: QEMU Standard PC (i440FX + PIIX, 1996), BIOS rel-1.16.0-0-gd239552ce722-prebuilt.qemu.org 04/01/2014 RIP: 0010:try_grab_folio+0x503/0x740 Code: e3 01 48 89 de e8 6d c1 dd ff 48 85 db 0f 84 7c fe ff ff e8 4f bf dd ff 49 8d 47 ff 48 89 45 d0 e9 73 fe ff ff e8 3d bf dd ff <0f> 0b 31 db e9 d0 fc ff ff e8 2f bf dd ff 48 8b 5d c8 31 ff 48 89 RSP: 0018:ffffc90000f37908 EFLAGS: 00010046 RAX: 0000000000000000 RBX: 00000000fffffc02 RCX: ffffffff81504c26 RDX: 0000000000000000 RSI: ffff88800d030000 RDI: 0000000000000002 RBP: ffffc90000f37948 R08: 000000000003ca24 R09: 0000000000000008 R10: 000000000003ca00 R11: 0000000000000023 R12: ffffea000035d540 R13: 0000000000000001 R14: 0000000000000000 R15: ffffea000035d540 FS: 00007fecbf659740(0000) GS:ffff88807dd00000(0000) knlGS:0000000000000000 CS: 0010 DS: 0000 ES: 0000 CR0: 0000000080050033 CR2: 00000000200011c3 CR3: 000000000ef66006 CR4: 0000000000770ee0 PKRU: 55555554 Call Trace: <TASK> internal_get_user_pages_fast+0xd32/0x2200 pin_user_pages_fast+0x65/0x90 pfn_reader_user_pin+0x376/0x390 pfn_reader_next+0x14a/0x7b0 pfn_reader_first+0x140/0x1b0 iopt_area_fill_domain+0x74/0x210 iopt_table_add_domain+0x30e/0x6e0 iommufd_device_selftest_attach+0x7f/0x140 iommufd_test+0x10ff/0x16f0 iommufd_fops_ioctl+0x206/0x330 __x64_sys_ioctl+0x10e/0x160 do_syscall_64+0x3b/0x90 entry_SYSCALL_64_after_hwframe+0x72/0xdc

Quoted source text, attributed separately from HOL analysis.

Record context

Vulnerability class
Vulnerability
EPSS
Not reported
CWE IDs
NVD-CWE-noinfo
Source
CVE List V5
Source checked
Nov 3, 2026
References
2 linked sources
Open source record