HOL LogoGuard

Explore HOL

  • HOL home
  • AI agent registry
  • AI plugins
  • Open standards
  • HOL members
  • Sponsor HOL
  • Advertise with HOL

Guard product

  • Guard overviewLocal security and control for AI agents and the tools they use.
  • FeaturesRuntime protection, policy routing, review, and evidence.

Explore Guard

  • Product previewWalk through Guard surfaces in read-only demo mode.
  • ComparisonCompare Guard with native controls and AI security vendors.

AI tools

  • All AI toolsEvery supported AI tool and how Guard applies policy to it.
  • Codex
  • Claude Code
  • Cursor
  • Antigravity CLI
  • OpenCode
  • Hermes
  • OpenClaw
  • GitHub Copilot CLI
  • Antigravity
  • Kimi
  • Grok
  • Pi / Oh My Pi
  • Zcode

Extensions

  • All extensionsBrowse command and MCP coverage with owners and stated limits.
  • Command coverageShell command protection across clouds, databases, backups, and packages.
  • MCP server coverageSee how Guard maps risk state across MCP tools and servers.
  • Core safetyThe safety floor listings that ship with Guard.
  • Data and resilienceBackup and storage command protection.
  • Cloud and infrastructureAWS, Azure, GCP, Kubernetes, and more.

Security

  • AI security hubSecurity research, advisories, and agent safety coverage.
  • AI tool securitySecurity profiles for each supported coding agent.
  • Safe labsHands-on attack simulations with safe boundaries.
  • Redacted warningsReal blocked actions with sensitive details removed.
  • AdvisoriesCoordinated disclosure reports for AI tooling.
  • Active CVEsSearch active CVEs affecting AI tooling.

Learn

  • Security guidesPractical guides for securing AI agent workflows.
  • DocsInstall, configure, and operate Guard with confidence.
  • ResearchPublished security research, benchmarks, and methodology.

Community

  • ReleasesVersion history, shipped changes and upgrade notes.
  • ContributorsThe people and contributions behind HOL Guard.
  • AffiliatesShare Guard with your audience and earn from referrals.
  • SponsorFund agreed research, implementation and shared testing through the HOL Partner Program.
  • AdvertiseCompare README logo placements, previews and monthly prices, or promote a plugin or extension.
PricingEnterpriseOpen AppInstall Guard
  1. Guard
  2. Security
  3. CVEs
  4. CVE 2023 6816 xorg x11 server heap buffer overflow in
HOL Guard

Public security guidance for teams protecting AI harnesses, MCP servers, skills, prompts, and local tool execution.

Install Guard

AI Security

  • Prompt injection
  • MCP security
  • OWASP MCP mapping
  • Supply chain

Resources

  • Trust packet
  • Harness setup
  • Redacted warnings
  • Safe labs

Product

  • Install Guard
  • Pricing
  • Open dashboard
Guard
  • Guard Overview
  • Releases
  • Contributors
  • Install Guard
  • Pricing
Docs
  • Documentation Index
  • Developer Hub
  • API Reference
  • Root OpenAPI
  • Registry OpenAPI
  • Run in Postman
  • Standards
  • Submit ERC-8004 Contract
  • Feature Your Agent
Best Plugins
  • Browse Plugins
  • Plugin Launches
  • Best Claude Plugins
  • Best Codex Plugins
  • Best Grok Plugins
  • Best Kimi Plugins
  • Best DeepSeek Plugins
  • Best Antigravity Plugins
  • Best MCP Servers
  • Best Cursor Plugins
  • Best OpenCode Plugins
Best Agents
  • Best ERC-8004 Agents
  • Best Virtuals Agents
  • Best MCP Servers
  • Best A2A Agents
  • Best x402 Payable
  • All Categories
Community
  • Contribute to HOL
  • Telegram
  • X
More
  • About HOL
  • Sponsor
  • Advertise
  • Affiliate program
  • Contact
  • Blog
  • GitHub
  • Privacy
  • Terms of Service
Settings

Copyright ยฉ 2026 HOL DAO LLC. All rights reserved.

Back to active CVEs
Critical ยท CVSS 9.8CVE-2023-6816

Xorg-x11-server: heap buffer overflow in devicefocusevent and procxiquerypointerCVE-2023-6816

Answer in brief

CVE-2023-6816 records a Critical severity (CVSS 9.8) vulnerability in Xorg-x11-server: heap buffer overflow in devicefocusevent and procxiquerypointer. The current sources do not mark it as known exploited. Affected software not mapped in the current feed; confirm the named product and version against your inventory.

Analysis pending evidence review

HOL Guard separates source facts from reviewed analysis. See the methodology.

Published Jan 18, 2024Updated Nov 4, 2026Source checked Nov 4, 2026First seen by HOL Nov 4, 2026Material review Nov 4, 2026
Upstream Advisory

Key facts

Risk
Critical ยท CVSS 9.8
Exploitation
Not marked as known exploited
Affected software
7 mapped packages or products
Fix availability
Not reported

Why this deserves its current priority

CVSS is 9.8. The current sources do not mark it as known exploited. Treat this as a source-backed prioritization signal, not a statement about your environment.

Analysis status

Analysis pending evidence review

Factual feed record only; HOL analysis is not approved for indexing. Read the methodology.

Affected scope and exposure questions

Affected software not mapped in the current feed; confirm the named product and version against your inventory.

Affected products and reported versions
ProductAffected versionsFixed versions
cpe:2.3:a:x.org:x_server:*:*:*:*:*:*:*:*Not reportedNot reported
cpe:2.3:a:x.org:xwayland:*:*:*:*:*:*:*:*Not reportedNot reported
cpe:2.3:o:debian:debian_linux:10.0:*:*:*:*:*:*:*Not reportedNot reported
cpe:2.3:o:fedoraproject:fedora:39:*:*:*:*:*:*:*Not reportedNot reported
cpe:2.3:o:redhat:enterprise_linux_desktop:7.0:*:*:*:*:*:*:*Not reportedNot reported
cpe:2.3:o:redhat:enterprise_linux_server:7.0:*:*:*:*:*:*:*Not reportedNot reported
cpe:2.3:o:redhat:enterprise_linux_workstation:7.0:*:*:*:*:*:*:*Not reportedNot reported

Recommended response

  1. 1Confirm exposure. Identify whether the named product or interface exists in your inventory, then review the linked upstream references for affected versions and vendor guidance.

Evidence timeline and material changes

  1. Published upstream

    Jan 18, 2024

    Evidence: source:cvelist:source_dates:source-dates:record
  2. Source modified

    Nov 4, 2026

    Evidence: source:cvelist:source_dates:source-dates:record
  3. First seen by HOL

    Nov 4, 2026

Sources and claim methodology

  • Source referenceaccess.redhat.com
  • Source referenceaccess.redhat.com
  • Source referenceaccess.redhat.com
  • Source referenceaccess.redhat.com
  • Source referenceaccess.redhat.com
  • Source referenceaccess.redhat.com
  • Source referenceaccess.redhat.com
  • Source referenceaccess.redhat.com
  • Source referenceaccess.redhat.com
  • Source referenceaccess.redhat.com
  • Source referenceaccess.redhat.com
  • Source referenceaccess.redhat.com
  • Source referenceaccess.redhat.com
  • Source referenceaccess.redhat.com
  • Source referenceaccess.redhat.com
  • Source referenceaccess.redhat.com
  • Source referencebugzilla.redhat.com
  • Source referencelists.debian.org
  • Source referencelists.fedoraproject.org
  • Source referencelists.fedoraproject.org
  • Source referencelists.fedoraproject.org
  • Source referencesecurity.gentoo.org
  • Source referencesecurity.netapp.com
  • Source referenceopenwall.com
Upstream source description

A flaw was found in X.Org server. Both DeviceFocusEvent and the XIQueryPointer reply contain a bit for each logical button currently down. Buttons can be arbitrarily mapped to any value up to 255, but the X.Org Server was only allocating space for the device's particular number of buttons, leading to a heap overflow if a bigger value was used.

Quoted source text, attributed separately from HOL analysis.

Related CVEs

  • h2o: buffer overflow when using the %{error}x log directiveAlso CWE-787
  • VeraCrypt: Heap overflow and out-of-bounds read in Serializable deserialization (elevated Core service input path)Also CWE-787

Record context

Vulnerability class
Memory Corruption
EPSS
Not reported
CWE IDs
CWE-787
Source
CVE List V5
Source checked
Nov 4, 2026
References
24 linked sources
Open source record