HOL LogoGuard

Explore HOL

  • HOL home
  • AI agent registry
  • AI plugins
  • Open standards
  • HOL members
  • Sponsor HOL
  • Advertise with HOL

Guard product

  • Guard overviewLocal security and control for AI agents and the tools they use.
  • FeaturesRuntime protection, policy routing, review, and evidence.

Explore Guard

  • Product previewWalk through Guard surfaces in read-only demo mode.
  • ComparisonCompare Guard with native controls and AI security vendors.

AI tools

  • All AI toolsEvery supported AI tool and how Guard applies policy to it.
  • Codex
  • Claude Code
  • Cursor
  • Antigravity CLI
  • OpenCode
  • Hermes
  • OpenClaw
  • GitHub Copilot CLI
  • Antigravity
  • Kimi
  • Grok
  • Pi / Oh My Pi
  • Zcode

Extensions

  • All extensionsBrowse command and MCP coverage with owners and stated limits.
  • Command coverageShell command protection across clouds, databases, backups, and packages.
  • MCP server coverageSee how Guard maps risk state across MCP tools and servers.
  • Core safetyThe safety floor listings that ship with Guard.
  • Data and resilienceBackup and storage command protection.
  • Cloud and infrastructureAWS, Azure, GCP, Kubernetes, and more.

Security

  • AI security hubSecurity research, advisories, and agent safety coverage.
  • AI tool securitySecurity profiles for each supported coding agent.
  • Safe labsHands-on attack simulations with safe boundaries.
  • Redacted warningsReal blocked actions with sensitive details removed.
  • AdvisoriesCoordinated disclosure reports for AI tooling.
  • Active CVEsSearch active CVEs affecting AI tooling.

Learn

  • Security guidesPractical guides for securing AI agent workflows.
  • DocsInstall, configure, and operate Guard with confidence.
  • ResearchPublished security research, benchmarks, and methodology.

Community

  • ReleasesVersion history, shipped changes and upgrade notes.
  • ContributorsThe people and contributions behind HOL Guard.
  • AffiliatesShare Guard with your audience and earn from referrals.
  • SponsorFund agreed research, implementation and shared testing through the HOL Partner Program.
  • AdvertiseCompare README logo placements, previews and monthly prices, or promote a plugin or extension.
PricingEnterpriseOpen AppInstall Guard
  1. Guard
  2. Security
  3. CVEs
  4. CVE 2024 42071 ionic use devconsumeskbany outside of napi
HOL Guard

Public security guidance for teams protecting AI harnesses, MCP servers, skills, prompts, and local tool execution.

Install Guard

AI Security

  • Prompt injection
  • MCP security
  • OWASP MCP mapping
  • Supply chain

Resources

  • Trust packet
  • Harness setup
  • Redacted warnings
  • Safe labs

Product

  • Install Guard
  • Pricing
  • Open dashboard
Guard
  • Guard Overview
  • Releases
  • Contributors
  • Install Guard
  • Pricing
Docs
  • Documentation Index
  • Developer Hub
  • API Reference
  • Root OpenAPI
  • Registry OpenAPI
  • Run in Postman
  • Standards
  • Submit ERC-8004 Contract
  • Feature Your Agent
Best Plugins
  • Browse Plugins
  • Plugin Launches
  • Best Claude Plugins
  • Best Codex Plugins
  • Best Grok Plugins
  • Best Kimi Plugins
  • Best DeepSeek Plugins
  • Best Antigravity Plugins
  • Best MCP Servers
  • Best Cursor Plugins
  • Best OpenCode Plugins
Best Agents
  • Best ERC-8004 Agents
  • Best Virtuals Agents
  • Best MCP Servers
  • Best A2A Agents
  • Best x402 Payable
  • All Categories
Community
  • Contribute to HOL
  • Telegram
  • X
More
  • About HOL
  • Sponsor
  • Advertise
  • Affiliate program
  • Contact
  • Blog
  • GitHub
  • Privacy
  • Terms of Service
Settings

Copyright © 2026 HOL DAO LLC. All rights reserved.

Back to active CVEs
High · CVSS 7.8CVE-2024-42071

ionic: use dev_consume_skb_any outside of napiCVE-2024-42071

Answer in brief

CVE-2024-42071 records a High severity (CVSS 7.8) vulnerability in ionic: use dev_consume_skb_any outside of napi. The current sources do not mark it as known exploited. The current feed maps Linux/Linux (generic), Linux/Linux (generic). Check affected ranges and fixed versions before updating.

Analysis pending evidence review

HOL Guard separates source facts from reviewed analysis. See the methodology.

Published Jul 29, 2024Updated Aug 5, 2026Source checked Nov 4, 2026First seen by HOL Aug 5, 2026Material review Aug 5, 2026
Upstream Advisory

Key facts

Risk
High · CVSS 7.8
Exploitation
Not marked as known exploited
Affected software
2 mapped packages or products
Fix availability
Available

Why this deserves its current priority

CVSS is 7.8. The current sources do not mark it as known exploited. Treat this as a source-backed prioritization signal, not a statement about your environment.

Analysis status

Analysis pending evidence review

Factual feed record only; HOL analysis is not approved for indexing. Read the methodology.

Affected scope and exposure questions

The current feed maps Linux/Linux (generic), Linux/Linux (generic). Check affected ranges and fixed versions before updating.

Mapped affected packages and fixed versions
PackageAffected rangeFixed version
Linux/Linuxgeneric>=386e69865311044b576ff536c99c6ee9cc98a228 <ef7646ed49fff962e97b276f4ab91327a67eeb5a || >=386e69865311044b576ff536c99c6ee9cc98a228 <84b767f9e34fdb143c09e66a2a20722fc2921821ef7646ed49fff962e97b276f4ab91327a67eeb5a, 84b767f9e34fdb143c09e66a2a20722fc2921821
Linux/Linuxgeneric6.9Not reported

Recommended response

  1. 1Check inventory. Check lockfiles and deployed manifests for Linux/Linux, Linux/Linux.
  2. 2Review the reported fix. Update Linux/Linux to ef7646ed49fff962e97b276f4ab91327a67eeb5a if you use the affected versions. Test the change in a non-production environment first.

Evidence timeline and material changes

  1. Published upstream

    Jul 29, 2024

    Evidence: source:cvelist:source_dates:source-dates:record
  2. Source modified

    Aug 5, 2026

    Evidence: source:cvelist:source_dates:source-dates:record
  3. First seen by HOL

    Aug 5, 2026

Sources and claim methodology

  • Source referencegit.kernel.org
  • Source referencegit.kernel.org
Upstream source description

In the Linux kernel, the following vulnerability has been resolved: ionic: use dev_consume_skb_any outside of napi If we're not in a NAPI softirq context, we need to be careful about how we call napi_consume_skb(), specifically we need to call it with budget==0 to signal to it that we're not in a safe context. This was found while running some configuration stress testing of traffic and a change queue config loop running, and this curious note popped out: [ 4371.402645] BUG: using smp_processor_id() in preemptible [00000000] code: ethtool/20545 [ 4371.402897] caller is napi_skb_cache_put+0x16/0x80 [ 4371.403120] CPU: 25 PID: 20545 Comm: ethtool Kdump: loaded Tainted: G OE 6.10.0-rc3-netnext+ #8 [ 4371.403302] Hardware name: HPE ProLiant DL360 Gen10/ProLiant DL360 Gen10, BIOS U32 01/23/2021 [ 4371.403460] Call Trace: [ 4371.403613] <TASK> [ 4371.403758] dump_stack_lvl+0x4f/0x70 [ 4371.403904] check_preemption_disabled+0xc1/0xe0 [ 4371.404051] napi_skb_cache_put+0x16/0x80 [ 4371.404199] ionic_tx_clean+0x18a/0x240 [ionic] [ 4371.404354] ionic_tx_cq_service+0xc4/0x200 [ionic] [ 4371.404505] ionic_tx_flush+0x15/0x70 [ionic] [ 4371.404653] ? ionic_lif_qcq_deinit.isra.23+0x5b/0x70 [ionic] [ 4371.404805] ionic_txrx_deinit+0x71/0x190 [ionic] [ 4371.404956] ionic_reconfigure_queues+0x5f5/0xff0 [ionic] [ 4371.405111] ionic_set_ringparam+0x2e8/0x3e0 [ionic] [ 4371.405265] ethnl_set_rings+0x1f1/0x300 [ 4371.405418] ethnl_default_set_doit+0xbb/0x160 [ 4371.405571] genl_family_rcv_msg_doit+0xff/0x130 [...] I found that ionic_tx_clean() calls napi_consume_skb() which calls napi_skb_cache_put(), but before that last call is the note /* Zero budget indicate non-NAPI context called us, like netpoll */ and DEBUG_NET_WARN_ON_ONCE(!in_softirq()); Those are pretty big hints that we're doing it wrong. We can pass a context hint down through the calls to let ionic_tx_clean() know what we're doing so it can call napi_consume_skb() correctly.

Quoted source text, attributed separately from HOL analysis.

Record context

Vulnerability class
Vulnerability
EPSS
Not reported
CWE IDs
Not reported
Source
CVE List V5
Source checked
Nov 4, 2026
References
2 linked sources
Open source record