Answer in brief
CVE-2024-46681 records a Unknown severity vulnerability in pktgen: use cpus_read_lock() in pg_net_init(). The current sources do not mark it as known exploited. The current feed maps Linux/Linux (generic), Linux/Linux (generic). Check affected ranges and fixed versions before updating.
Analysis pending evidence review
HOL Guard separates source facts from reviewed analysis. See the methodology.
A CVSS score is not reported in the current record. The current sources do not mark it as known exploited. Treat this as a source-backed prioritization signal, not a statement about your environment.
Analysis status
Analysis pending evidence review
Factual feed record only; HOL analysis is not approved for indexing. Read the methodology.
The current feed maps Linux/Linux (generic), Linux/Linux (generic). Check affected ranges and fixed versions before updating.
| Package | Affected range | Fixed version |
|---|---|---|
| Linux/Linuxgeneric | >=1da177e4c3f41524e886b7f1b8a0c1fc7321cac2 <7eed5b3115ce9e057bf64c3f6be9ea72f8298e4e || >=1da177e4c3f41524e886b7f1b8a0c1fc7321cac2 <5f5f7366dda8ae870e8305d6e7b3c0c2686cd2cf || >=1da177e4c3f41524e886b7f1b8a0c1fc7321cac2 <979b581e4c69257acab1af415ddad6b2d78a2fa5 | 7eed5b3115ce9e057bf64c3f6be9ea72f8298e4e, 5f5f7366dda8ae870e8305d6e7b3c0c2686cd2cf, 979b581e4c69257acab1af415ddad6b2d78a2fa5 |
| Linux/Linuxgeneric | 2.6.12 | Not reported |
Published upstream
Sep 13, 2024
Evidence: source:cvelist:source_dates:source-dates:recordSource modified
Oct 21, 2026
Evidence: source:cvelist:source_dates:source-dates:recordFirst seen by HOL
Oct 21, 2026
In the Linux kernel, the following vulnerability has been resolved: pktgen: use cpus_read_lock() in pg_net_init() I have seen the WARN_ON(smp_processor_id() != cpu) firing in pktgen_thread_worker() during tests. We must use cpus_read_lock()/cpus_read_unlock() around the for_each_online_cpu(cpu) loop. While we are at it use WARN_ON_ONCE() to avoid a possible syslog flood.
Quoted source text, attributed separately from HOL analysis.