HOL LogoGuard

Explore HOL

  • HOL home
  • AI agent registry
  • AI plugins
  • Open standards
  • HOL members
  • Sponsor HOL
  • Advertise with HOL

Guard product

  • Guard overviewLocal security and control for AI agents and the tools they use.
  • FeaturesRuntime protection, policy routing, review, and evidence.

Explore Guard

  • Product previewWalk through Guard surfaces in read-only demo mode.
  • ComparisonCompare Guard with native controls and AI security vendors.

AI tools

  • All AI toolsEvery supported AI tool and how Guard applies policy to it.
  • Codex
  • Claude Code
  • Cursor
  • Antigravity CLI
  • OpenCode
  • Hermes
  • OpenClaw
  • GitHub Copilot CLI
  • Antigravity
  • Kimi
  • Grok
  • Pi / Oh My Pi
  • Zcode

Extensions

  • All extensionsBrowse command and MCP coverage with owners and stated limits.
  • Command coverageShell command protection across clouds, databases, backups, and packages.
  • MCP server coverageSee how Guard maps risk state across MCP tools and servers.
  • Core safetyThe safety floor listings that ship with Guard.
  • Data and resilienceBackup and storage command protection.
  • Cloud and infrastructureAWS, Azure, GCP, Kubernetes, and more.

Security

  • AI security hubSecurity research, advisories, and agent safety coverage.
  • AI tool securitySecurity profiles for each supported coding agent.
  • Safe labsHands-on attack simulations with safe boundaries.
  • Redacted warningsReal blocked actions with sensitive details removed.
  • AdvisoriesCoordinated disclosure reports for AI tooling.
  • Active CVEsSearch active CVEs affecting AI tooling.

Learn

  • Security guidesPractical guides for securing AI agent workflows.
  • DocsInstall, configure, and operate Guard with confidence.
  • ResearchPublished security research, benchmarks, and methodology.

Community

  • ReleasesVersion history, shipped changes and upgrade notes.
  • ContributorsThe people and contributions behind HOL Guard.
  • AffiliatesShare Guard with your audience and earn from referrals.
  • SponsorFund agreed research, implementation and shared testing through the HOL Partner Program.
  • AdvertiseCompare README logo placements, previews and monthly prices, or promote a plugin or extension.
PricingEnterpriseOpen AppInstall Guard
  1. Guard
  2. Security
  3. CVEs
  4. CVE 2024 53219 virtiofs use pages instead of pointer for kernel
HOL Guard

Public security guidance for teams protecting AI harnesses, MCP servers, skills, prompts, and local tool execution.

Install Guard

AI Security

  • Prompt injection
  • MCP security
  • OWASP MCP mapping
  • Supply chain

Resources

  • Trust packet
  • Harness setup
  • Redacted warnings
  • Safe labs

Product

  • Install Guard
  • Pricing
  • Open dashboard
Guard
  • Guard Overview
  • Releases
  • Contributors
  • Install Guard
  • Pricing
Docs
  • Documentation Index
  • Developer Hub
  • API Reference
  • Root OpenAPI
  • Registry OpenAPI
  • Run in Postman
  • Standards
  • Submit ERC-8004 Contract
  • Feature Your Agent
Best Plugins
  • Browse Plugins
  • Plugin Launches
  • Best Claude Plugins
  • Best Codex Plugins
  • Best Grok Plugins
  • Best Kimi Plugins
  • Best DeepSeek Plugins
  • Best Antigravity Plugins
  • Best MCP Servers
  • Best Cursor Plugins
  • Best OpenCode Plugins
Best Agents
  • Best ERC-8004 Agents
  • Best Virtuals Agents
  • Best MCP Servers
  • Best A2A Agents
  • Best x402 Payable
  • All Categories
Community
  • Telegram
  • X
More
  • About HOL
  • Sponsor
  • Advertise
  • Contact
  • Blog
  • GitHub
  • Privacy
  • Terms of Service
Settings

Copyright © 2026 HOL DAO LLC. All rights reserved.

Back to active CVEs
Medium · CVSS 5.5CVE-2024-53219

virtiofs: use pages instead of pointer for kernel direct IOCVE-2024-53219

Answer in brief

CVE-2024-53219 records a Medium severity (CVSS 5.5) vulnerability in virtiofs: use pages instead of pointer for kernel direct IO. The current sources do not mark it as known exploited. The current feed maps Linux/Linux (generic), Linux/Linux (generic). Check affected ranges and fixed versions before updating.

Analysis pending evidence review

HOL Guard separates source facts from reviewed analysis. See the methodology.

Published Dec 27, 2024Updated Oct 21, 2026Source checked Oct 21, 2026First seen by HOL Oct 21, 2026Material review Oct 21, 2026
Upstream Advisory

Key facts

Risk
Medium · CVSS 5.5
Exploitation
Not marked as known exploited
Affected software
2 mapped packages or products
Fix availability
Available

Why this deserves its current priority

CVSS is 5.5. The current sources do not mark it as known exploited. Treat this as a source-backed prioritization signal, not a statement about your environment.

Analysis status

Analysis pending evidence review

Factual feed record only; HOL analysis is not approved for indexing. Read the methodology.

Affected scope and exposure questions

The current feed maps Linux/Linux (generic), Linux/Linux (generic). Check affected ranges and fixed versions before updating.

Mapped affected packages and fixed versions
PackageAffected rangeFixed version
Linux/Linuxgeneric>=a62a8ef9d97da23762a588592c8b8eb50a8deb6a <0015d54a47995867781224450525e60a1a0077ab || >=a62a8ef9d97da23762a588592c8b8eb50a8deb6a <9a8fde56d4b6d51930936ed50f6370a9097328d1 || >=a62a8ef9d97da23762a588592c8b8eb50a8deb6a <2bc07714dc955a91d2923a440ea02c3cb3376b10 || >=a62a8ef9d97da23762a588592c8b8eb50a8deb6a <41748675c0bf252b3c5f600a95830f0936d366c10015d54a47995867781224450525e60a1a0077ab, 9a8fde56d4b6d51930936ed50f6370a9097328d1, 2bc07714dc955a91d2923a440ea02c3cb3376b10, 41748675c0bf252b3c5f600a95830f0936d366c1
Linux/Linuxgeneric5.4Not reported

Recommended response

  1. 1Check inventory. Check lockfiles and deployed manifests for Linux/Linux, Linux/Linux.
  2. 2Review the reported fix. Update Linux/Linux to 0015d54a47995867781224450525e60a1a0077ab if you use the affected versions. Test the change in a non-production environment first.

Evidence timeline and material changes

  1. Published upstream

    Dec 27, 2024

    Evidence: source:cvelist:source_dates:source-dates:record
  2. Source modified

    Oct 21, 2026

    Evidence: source:cvelist:source_dates:source-dates:record
  3. First seen by HOL

    Oct 21, 2026

Sources and claim methodology

  • Source referencegit.kernel.org
  • Source referencegit.kernel.org
  • Source referencegit.kernel.org
  • Source referencegit.kernel.org
Upstream source description

In the Linux kernel, the following vulnerability has been resolved: virtiofs: use pages instead of pointer for kernel direct IO When trying to insert a 10MB kernel module kept in a virtio-fs with cache disabled, the following warning was reported: ------------[ cut here ]------------ WARNING: CPU: 1 PID: 404 at mm/page_alloc.c:4551 ...... Modules linked in: CPU: 1 PID: 404 Comm: insmod Not tainted 6.9.0-rc5+ #123 Hardware name: QEMU Standard PC (i440FX + PIIX, 1996) ...... RIP: 0010:__alloc_pages+0x2bf/0x380 ...... Call Trace: <TASK> ? __warn+0x8e/0x150 ? __alloc_pages+0x2bf/0x380 __kmalloc_large_node+0x86/0x160 __kmalloc+0x33c/0x480 virtio_fs_enqueue_req+0x240/0x6d0 virtio_fs_wake_pending_and_unlock+0x7f/0x190 queue_request_and_unlock+0x55/0x60 fuse_simple_request+0x152/0x2b0 fuse_direct_io+0x5d2/0x8c0 fuse_file_read_iter+0x121/0x160 __kernel_read+0x151/0x2d0 kernel_read+0x45/0x50 kernel_read_file+0x1a9/0x2a0 init_module_from_file+0x6a/0xe0 idempotent_init_module+0x175/0x230 __x64_sys_finit_module+0x5d/0xb0 x64_sys_call+0x1c3/0x9e0 do_syscall_64+0x3d/0xc0 entry_SYSCALL_64_after_hwframe+0x4b/0x53 ...... </TASK> ---[ end trace 0000000000000000 ]--- The warning is triggered as follows: 1) syscall finit_module() handles the module insertion and it invokes kernel_read_file() to read the content of the module first. 2) kernel_read_file() allocates a 10MB buffer by using vmalloc() and passes it to kernel_read(). kernel_read() constructs a kvec iter by using iov_iter_kvec() and passes it to fuse_file_read_iter(). 3) virtio-fs disables the cache, so fuse_file_read_iter() invokes fuse_direct_io(). As for now, the maximal read size for kvec iter is only limited by fc->max_read. For virtio-fs, max_read is UINT_MAX, so fuse_direct_io() doesn't split the 10MB buffer. It saves the address and the size of the 10MB-sized buffer in out_args[0] of a fuse request and passes the fuse request to virtio_fs_wake_pending_and_unlock(). 4) virtio_fs_wake_pending_and_unlock() uses virtio_fs_enqueue_req() to queue the request. Because virtiofs need DMA-able address, so virtio_fs_enqueue_req() uses kmalloc() to allocate a bounce buffer for all fuse args, copies these args into the bounce buffer and passed the physical address of the bounce buffer to virtiofsd. The total length of these fuse args for the passed fuse request is about 10MB, so copy_args_to_argbuf() invokes kmalloc() with a 10MB size parameter and it triggers the warning in __alloc_pages(): if (WARN_ON_ONCE_GFP(order > MAX_PAGE_ORDER, gfp)) return NULL; 5) virtio_fs_enqueue_req() will retry the memory allocation in a kworker, but it won't help, because kmalloc() will always return NULL due to the abnormal size and finit_module() will hang forever. A feasible solution is to limit the value of max_read for virtio-fs, so the length passed to kmalloc() will be limited. However it will affect the maximal read size for normal read. And for virtio-fs write initiated from kernel, it has the similar problem but now there is no way to limit fc->max_write in kernel. So instead of limiting both the values of max_read and max_write in kernel, introducing use_pages_for_kvec_io in fuse_conn and setting it as true in virtiofs. When use_pages_for_kvec_io is enabled, fuse will use pages instead of pointer to pass the KVEC_IO data. After switching to pages for KVEC_IO data, these pages will be used for DMA through virtio-fs. If these pages are backed by vmalloc(), {flush|invalidate}_kernel_vmap_range() are necessary to flush or invalidate the cache before the DMA operation. So add two new fields in fuse_args_pages to record the base address of vmalloc area and the condition indicating whether invalidation is needed. Perform the flush in fuse_get_user_pages() for write operations and the invalidation in fuse_release_user_pages() for read operations. It may seem necessary to introduce another fie ---truncated---

Quoted source text, attributed separately from HOL analysis.

Record context

Vulnerability class
Vulnerability
EPSS
Not reported
CWE IDs
Not reported
Source
CVE List V5
Source checked
Oct 21, 2026
References
4 linked sources
Open source record