HOL LogoGuard

Explore HOL

  • HOL home
  • AI agent registry
  • AI plugins
  • Open standards
  • HOL members
  • Sponsor HOL
  • Advertise with HOL

Guard product

  • Guard overviewLocal security and control for AI agents and the tools they use.
  • FeaturesRuntime protection, policy routing, review, and evidence.

Explore Guard

  • Product previewWalk through Guard surfaces in read-only demo mode.
  • ComparisonCompare Guard with native controls and AI security vendors.

AI tools

  • All AI toolsEvery supported AI tool and how Guard applies policy to it.
  • Codex
  • Claude Code
  • Cursor
  • Antigravity CLI
  • OpenCode
  • Hermes
  • OpenClaw
  • GitHub Copilot CLI
  • Antigravity
  • Kimi
  • Grok
  • Pi / Oh My Pi
  • Zcode

Extensions

  • All extensionsBrowse command and MCP coverage with owners and stated limits.
  • Command coverageShell command protection across clouds, databases, backups, and packages.
  • MCP server coverageSee how Guard maps risk state across MCP tools and servers.
  • Core safetyThe safety floor listings that ship with Guard.
  • Data and resilienceBackup and storage command protection.
  • Cloud and infrastructureAWS, Azure, GCP, Kubernetes, and more.

Security

  • AI security hubSecurity research, advisories, and agent safety coverage.
  • AI tool securitySecurity profiles for each supported coding agent.
  • Safe labsHands-on attack simulations with safe boundaries.
  • Redacted warningsReal blocked actions with sensitive details removed.
  • AdvisoriesCoordinated disclosure reports for AI tooling.
  • Active CVEsSearch active CVEs affecting AI tooling.

Learn

  • Security guidesPractical guides for securing AI agent workflows.
  • DocsInstall, configure, and operate Guard with confidence.
  • ResearchPublished security research, benchmarks, and methodology.

Community

  • ReleasesVersion history, shipped changes and upgrade notes.
  • ContributorsThe people and contributions behind HOL Guard.
  • AffiliatesShare Guard with your audience and earn from referrals.
  • SponsorFund agreed research, implementation and shared testing through the HOL Partner Program.
  • AdvertiseCompare README logo placements, previews and monthly prices, or promote a plugin or extension.
PricingEnterpriseOpen AppInstall Guard
  1. Guard
  2. Security
  3. CVEs
  4. CVE 2024 56592 bpf call freehtabelem after htabunlockbucket
HOL Guard

Public security guidance for teams protecting AI harnesses, MCP servers, skills, prompts, and local tool execution.

Install Guard

AI Security

  • Prompt injection
  • MCP security
  • OWASP MCP mapping
  • Supply chain

Resources

  • Trust packet
  • Harness setup
  • Redacted warnings
  • Safe labs

Product

  • Install Guard
  • Pricing
  • Open dashboard
Guard
  • Guard Overview
  • Releases
  • Contributors
  • Install Guard
  • Pricing
Docs
  • Documentation Index
  • Developer Hub
  • API Reference
  • Root OpenAPI
  • Registry OpenAPI
  • Run in Postman
  • Standards
  • Submit ERC-8004 Contract
  • Feature Your Agent
Best Plugins
  • Browse Plugins
  • Plugin Launches
  • Best Claude Plugins
  • Best Codex Plugins
  • Best Grok Plugins
  • Best Kimi Plugins
  • Best DeepSeek Plugins
  • Best Antigravity Plugins
  • Best MCP Servers
  • Best Cursor Plugins
  • Best OpenCode Plugins
Best Agents
  • Best ERC-8004 Agents
  • Best Virtuals Agents
  • Best MCP Servers
  • Best A2A Agents
  • Best x402 Payable
  • All Categories
Community
  • Telegram
  • X
More
  • About HOL
  • Sponsor
  • Advertise
  • Contact
  • Blog
  • GitHub
  • Privacy
  • Terms of Service
Settings

Copyright © 2026 HOL DAO LLC. All rights reserved.

Back to active CVEs
Medium · CVSS 5.5CVE-2024-56592

bpf: Call free_htab_elem() after htab_unlock_bucket()CVE-2024-56592

Answer in brief

CVE-2024-56592 records a Medium severity (CVSS 5.5) vulnerability in bpf: Call free_htab_elem() after htab_unlock_bucket(). The current sources do not mark it as known exploited. The current feed maps Linux/Linux (generic), Linux/Linux (generic). Check affected ranges and fixed versions before updating.

Analysis pending evidence review

HOL Guard separates source facts from reviewed analysis. See the methodology.

Published Dec 27, 2024Updated Oct 30, 2026Source checked Oct 30, 2026First seen by HOL Oct 30, 2026Material review Oct 30, 2026
Upstream Advisory

Key facts

Risk
Medium · CVSS 5.5
Exploitation
Not marked as known exploited
Affected software
3 mapped packages or products
Fix availability
Available

Why this deserves its current priority

CVSS is 5.5. The current sources do not mark it as known exploited. Treat this as a source-backed prioritization signal, not a statement about your environment.

Analysis status

Analysis pending evidence review

Factual feed record only; HOL analysis is not approved for indexing. Read the methodology.

Affected scope and exposure questions

The current feed maps Linux/Linux (generic), Linux/Linux (generic). Check affected ranges and fixed versions before updating.

Affected products and reported versions
ProductAffected versionsFixed versions
cpe:2.3:o:linux:linux_kernel:*:*:*:*:*:*:*:*Not reportedNot reported
Mapped affected packages and fixed versions
PackageAffected rangeFixed version
Linux/Linuxgeneric>=f3f1c054c288bb6e503005e6d73611151ed20e91 <5b6a49b87cc73153a3ea5ae3f64b980386059dca || >=f3f1c054c288bb6e503005e6d73611151ed20e91 <10e8a2dec9ff1b81de8e892b0850924038adbc6d || >=f3f1c054c288bb6e503005e6d73611151ed20e91 <a50b4aa3007e63a590d501341f304676ebc74b3b || >=f3f1c054c288bb6e503005e6d73611151ed20e91 <b9e9ed90b10c82a4e9d4d70a2890f06bfcdd3b785b6a49b87cc73153a3ea5ae3f64b980386059dca, 10e8a2dec9ff1b81de8e892b0850924038adbc6d, a50b4aa3007e63a590d501341f304676ebc74b3b, b9e9ed90b10c82a4e9d4d70a2890f06bfcdd3b78
Linux/Linuxgeneric4.13Not reported

Recommended response

  1. 1Check inventory. Check lockfiles and deployed manifests for Linux/Linux, Linux/Linux.
  2. 2Review the reported fix. Update Linux/Linux to 5b6a49b87cc73153a3ea5ae3f64b980386059dca if you use the affected versions. Test the change in a non-production environment first.

Evidence timeline and material changes

  1. Published upstream

    Dec 27, 2024

    Evidence: source:cvelist:source_dates:source-dates:record
  2. Source modified

    Oct 30, 2026

    Evidence: source:cvelist:source_dates:source-dates:record
  3. First seen by HOL

    Oct 30, 2026

Sources and claim methodology

  • Source referencegit.kernel.org
  • Source referencegit.kernel.org
  • Source referencegit.kernel.org
  • Source referencegit.kernel.org
Upstream source description

In the Linux kernel, the following vulnerability has been resolved: bpf: Call free_htab_elem() after htab_unlock_bucket() For htab of maps, when the map is removed from the htab, it may hold the last reference of the map. bpf_map_fd_put_ptr() will invoke bpf_map_free_id() to free the id of the removed map element. However, bpf_map_fd_put_ptr() is invoked while holding a bucket lock (raw_spin_lock_t), and bpf_map_free_id() attempts to acquire map_idr_lock (spinlock_t), triggering the following lockdep warning: ============================= [ BUG: Invalid wait context ] 6.11.0-rc4+ #49 Not tainted ----------------------------- test_maps/4881 is trying to lock: ffffffff84884578 (map_idr_lock){+...}-{3:3}, at: bpf_map_free_id.part.0+0x21/0x70 other info that might help us debug this: context-{5:5} 2 locks held by test_maps/4881: #0: ffffffff846caf60 (rcu_read_lock){....}-{1:3}, at: bpf_fd_htab_map_update_elem+0xf9/0x270 #1: ffff888149ced148 (&htab->lockdep_key#2){....}-{2:2}, at: htab_map_update_elem+0x178/0xa80 stack backtrace: CPU: 0 UID: 0 PID: 4881 Comm: test_maps Not tainted 6.11.0-rc4+ #49 Hardware name: QEMU Standard PC (i440FX + PIIX, 1996), ... Call Trace: <TASK> dump_stack_lvl+0x6e/0xb0 dump_stack+0x10/0x20 __lock_acquire+0x73e/0x36c0 lock_acquire+0x182/0x450 _raw_spin_lock_irqsave+0x43/0x70 bpf_map_free_id.part.0+0x21/0x70 bpf_map_put+0xcf/0x110 bpf_map_fd_put_ptr+0x9a/0xb0 free_htab_elem+0x69/0xe0 htab_map_update_elem+0x50f/0xa80 bpf_fd_htab_map_update_elem+0x131/0x270 htab_map_update_elem+0x50f/0xa80 bpf_fd_htab_map_update_elem+0x131/0x270 bpf_map_update_value+0x266/0x380 __sys_bpf+0x21bb/0x36b0 __x64_sys_bpf+0x45/0x60 x64_sys_call+0x1b2a/0x20d0 do_syscall_64+0x5d/0x100 entry_SYSCALL_64_after_hwframe+0x76/0x7e One way to fix the lockdep warning is using raw_spinlock_t for map_idr_lock as well. However, bpf_map_alloc_id() invokes idr_alloc_cyclic() after acquiring map_idr_lock, it will trigger a similar lockdep warning because the slab's lock (s->cpu_slab->lock) is still a spinlock. Instead of changing map_idr_lock's type, fix the issue by invoking htab_put_fd_value() after htab_unlock_bucket(). However, only deferring the invocation of htab_put_fd_value() is not enough, because the old map pointers in htab of maps can not be saved during batched deletion. Therefore, also defer the invocation of free_htab_elem(), so these to-be-freed elements could be linked together similar to lru map. There are four callers for ->map_fd_put_ptr: (1) alloc_htab_elem() (through htab_put_fd_value()) It invokes ->map_fd_put_ptr() under a raw_spinlock_t. The invocation of htab_put_fd_value() can not simply move after htab_unlock_bucket(), because the old element has already been stashed in htab->extra_elems. It may be reused immediately after htab_unlock_bucket() and the invocation of htab_put_fd_value() after htab_unlock_bucket() may release the newly-added element incorrectly. Therefore, saving the map pointer of the old element for htab of maps before unlocking the bucket and releasing the map_ptr after unlock. Beside the map pointer in the old element, should do the same thing for the special fields in the old element as well. (2) free_htab_elem() (through htab_put_fd_value()) Its caller includes __htab_map_lookup_and_delete_elem(), htab_map_delete_elem() and __htab_map_lookup_and_delete_batch(). For htab_map_delete_elem(), simply invoke free_htab_elem() after htab_unlock_bucket(). For __htab_map_lookup_and_delete_batch(), just like lru map, linking the to-be-freed element into node_to_free list and invoking free_htab_elem() for these element after unlock. It is safe to reuse batch_flink as the link for node_to_free, because these elements have been removed from the hash llist. Because htab of maps doesn't support lookup_and_delete operation, __htab_map_lookup_and_delete_elem() doesn't have the problem, so kept it as ---truncated---

Quoted source text, attributed separately from HOL analysis.

Record context

Vulnerability class
Vulnerability
EPSS
Not reported
CWE IDs
NVD-CWE-noinfo
Source
CVE List V5
Source checked
Oct 30, 2026
References
4 linked sources
Open source record