Answer in brief
CVE-2025-11414 records a Medium severity (CVSS 4.8) vulnerability in GNU Binutils Linker elflink.c get_link_hash_entry out-of-bounds. The current sources do not mark it as known exploited. The current feed maps GNU/Binutils (generic), Siemens/SIMATIC S7-1500 CPU 1518-4 PN/DP MFP (generic), Siemens/SIMATIC S7-1500 CPU 1518F-4 PN/DP MFP (generic), Siemens/SIPLUS S7-1500 CPU 1518-4 PN/DP MFP (generic). Check affected ranges and fixed versions before updating.
Analysis pending evidence review
HOL Guard separates source facts from reviewed analysis. See the methodology.
CVSS is 4.8. The current sources do not mark it as known exploited. Treat this as a source-backed prioritization signal, not a statement about your environment.
Analysis status
Analysis pending evidence review
Factual feed record only; HOL analysis is not approved for indexing. Read the methodology.
The current feed maps GNU/Binutils (generic), Siemens/SIMATIC S7-1500 CPU 1518-4 PN/DP MFP (generic), Siemens/SIMATIC S7-1500 CPU 1518F-4 PN/DP MFP (generic), Siemens/SIPLUS S7-1500 CPU 1518-4 PN/DP MFP (generic). Check affected ranges and fixed versions before updating.
| Product | Affected versions | Fixed versions |
|---|---|---|
| cpe:2.3:a:gnu:binutils:2.45:*:*:*:*:*:*:* | Not reported | Not reported |
| Package | Affected range | Fixed version |
|---|---|---|
| GNU/Binutilsgeneric | 2.45 | Not reported |
| Siemens/SIMATIC S7-1500 CPU 1518-4 PN/DP MFPgeneric | >=V3.1.5 <* | * |
| Siemens/SIMATIC S7-1500 CPU 1518F-4 PN/DP MFPgeneric | >=V3.1.5 <* | * |
| Siemens/SIPLUS S7-1500 CPU 1518-4 PN/DP MFPgeneric | >=V3.1.5 <* | * |
Published upstream
Oct 7, 2025
Evidence: source:cvelist:source_dates:source-dates:recordSource modified
Oct 15, 2026
Evidence: source:cvelist:source_dates:source-dates:recordFirst seen by HOL
Aug 6, 2026
A vulnerability was determined in GNU Binutils 2.45. Affected by this vulnerability is the function get_link_hash_entry of the file bfd/elflink.c of the component Linker. This manipulation causes out-of-bounds read. The attack can only be executed locally. The exploit has been publicly disclosed and may be utilized. Upgrading to version 2.46 addresses this issue. Patch name: aeaaa9af6359c8e394ce9cf24911fec4f4d23703. It is advisable to upgrade the affected component.
Quoted source text, attributed separately from HOL analysis.