HOL LogoGuard

Explore HOL

  • HOL home
  • AI agent registry
  • AI plugins
  • Open standards
  • HOL members
  • Sponsor HOL
  • Advertise with HOL

Guard product

  • Guard overviewLocal security and control for AI agents and the tools they use.
  • FeaturesRuntime protection, policy routing, review, and evidence.

Explore Guard

  • Product previewWalk through Guard surfaces in read-only demo mode.
  • ComparisonCompare Guard with native controls and AI security vendors.

AI tools

  • All AI toolsEvery supported AI tool and how Guard applies policy to it.
  • Codex
  • Claude Code
  • Cursor
  • Antigravity CLI
  • OpenCode
  • Hermes
  • OpenClaw
  • GitHub Copilot CLI
  • Antigravity
  • Kimi
  • Grok
  • Pi / Oh My Pi
  • Zcode

Extensions

  • All extensionsBrowse command and MCP coverage with owners and stated limits.
  • Command coverageShell command protection across clouds, databases, backups, and packages.
  • MCP server coverageSee how Guard maps risk state across MCP tools and servers.
  • Core safetyThe safety floor listings that ship with Guard.
  • Data and resilienceBackup and storage command protection.
  • Cloud and infrastructureAWS, Azure, GCP, Kubernetes, and more.

Security

  • AI security hubSecurity research, advisories, and agent safety coverage.
  • AI tool securitySecurity profiles for each supported coding agent.
  • Safe labsHands-on attack simulations with safe boundaries.
  • Redacted warningsReal blocked actions with sensitive details removed.
  • AdvisoriesCoordinated disclosure reports for AI tooling.
  • Active CVEsSearch active CVEs affecting AI tooling.

Learn

  • Security guidesPractical guides for securing AI agent workflows.
  • DocsInstall, configure, and operate Guard with confidence.
  • ResearchPublished security research, benchmarks, and methodology.

Community

  • ReleasesVersion history, shipped changes and upgrade notes.
  • ContributorsThe people and contributions behind HOL Guard.
  • AffiliatesShare Guard with your audience and earn from referrals.
  • SponsorFund agreed research, implementation and shared testing through the HOL Partner Program.
  • AdvertiseCompare README logo placements, previews and monthly prices, or promote a plugin or extension.
PricingEnterpriseOpen AppInstall Guard
  1. Guard
  2. Security
  3. CVEs
  4. CVE 2025 37779 libioviter fix to increase non slab folio refcount
HOL Guard

Public security guidance for teams protecting AI harnesses, MCP servers, skills, prompts, and local tool execution.

Install Guard

AI Security

  • Prompt injection
  • MCP security
  • OWASP MCP mapping
  • Supply chain

Resources

  • Trust packet
  • Harness setup
  • Redacted warnings
  • Safe labs

Product

  • Install Guard
  • Pricing
  • Open dashboard
Guard
  • Guard Overview
  • Releases
  • Contributors
  • Install Guard
  • Pricing
Docs
  • Documentation Index
  • Developer Hub
  • API Reference
  • Root OpenAPI
  • Registry OpenAPI
  • Run in Postman
  • Standards
  • Submit ERC-8004 Contract
  • Feature Your Agent
Best Plugins
  • Browse Plugins
  • Plugin Launches
  • Best Claude Plugins
  • Best Codex Plugins
  • Best Grok Plugins
  • Best Kimi Plugins
  • Best DeepSeek Plugins
  • Best Antigravity Plugins
  • Best MCP Servers
  • Best Cursor Plugins
  • Best OpenCode Plugins
Best Agents
  • Best ERC-8004 Agents
  • Best Virtuals Agents
  • Best MCP Servers
  • Best A2A Agents
  • Best x402 Payable
  • All Categories
Community
  • Contribute to HOL
  • Telegram
  • X
More
  • About HOL
  • Sponsor
  • Advertise
  • Affiliate program
  • Contact
  • Blog
  • GitHub
  • Privacy
  • Terms of Service
Settings

Copyright © 2026 HOL DAO LLC. All rights reserved.

Back to active CVEs
High · CVSS 7.8CVE-2025-37779

lib/iov_iter: fix to increase non slab folio refcountCVE-2025-37779

Answer in brief

CVE-2025-37779 records a High severity (CVSS 7.8) vulnerability in lib/iov_iter: fix to increase non slab folio refcount. The current sources do not mark it as known exploited. The current feed maps Linux/Linux (generic), Linux/Linux (generic). Check affected ranges and fixed versions before updating.

Analysis pending evidence review

HOL Guard separates source facts from reviewed analysis. See the methodology.

Published May 1, 2025Updated Aug 5, 2026Source checked Nov 4, 2026First seen by HOL Aug 5, 2026Material review Aug 5, 2026
Upstream Advisory

Key facts

Risk
High · CVSS 7.8
Exploitation
Not marked as known exploited
Affected software
2 mapped packages or products
Fix availability
Available

Why this deserves its current priority

CVSS is 7.8. The current sources do not mark it as known exploited. Treat this as a source-backed prioritization signal, not a statement about your environment.

Analysis status

Analysis pending evidence review

Factual feed record only; HOL analysis is not approved for indexing. Read the methodology.

Affected scope and exposure questions

The current feed maps Linux/Linux (generic), Linux/Linux (generic). Check affected ranges and fixed versions before updating.

Mapped affected packages and fixed versions
PackageAffected rangeFixed version
Linux/Linuxgeneric>=b9c0e49abfca06f1a109acea834bcfc934f33f76 <d833f21162c4d536d729628f8cf1ee8d4110f2b7 || >=b9c0e49abfca06f1a109acea834bcfc934f33f76 <770c8d55c42868239c748a3ebc57c9e37755f842d833f21162c4d536d729628f8cf1ee8d4110f2b7, 770c8d55c42868239c748a3ebc57c9e37755f842
Linux/Linuxgeneric6.14Not reported

Recommended response

  1. 1Check inventory. Check lockfiles and deployed manifests for Linux/Linux, Linux/Linux.
  2. 2Review the reported fix. Update Linux/Linux to d833f21162c4d536d729628f8cf1ee8d4110f2b7 if you use the affected versions. Test the change in a non-production environment first.

Evidence timeline and material changes

  1. Published upstream

    May 1, 2025

    Evidence: source:cvelist:source_dates:source-dates:record
  2. Source modified

    Aug 5, 2026

    Evidence: source:cvelist:source_dates:source-dates:record
  3. First seen by HOL

    Aug 5, 2026

Sources and claim methodology

  • Source referencegit.kernel.org
  • Source referencegit.kernel.org
Upstream source description

In the Linux kernel, the following vulnerability has been resolved: lib/iov_iter: fix to increase non slab folio refcount When testing EROFS file-backed mount over v9fs on qemu, I encountered a folio UAF issue. The page sanity check reports the following call trace. The root cause is that pages in bvec are coalesced across a folio bounary. The refcount of all non-slab folios should be increased to ensure p9_releas_pages can put them correctly. BUG: Bad page state in process md5sum pfn:18300 page: refcount:0 mapcount:0 mapping:00000000d5ad8e4e index:0x60 pfn:0x18300 head: order:0 mapcount:0 entire_mapcount:0 nr_pages_mapped:0 pincount:0 aops:z_erofs_aops ino:30b0f dentry name(?):"GoogleExtServicesCn.apk" flags: 0x100000000000041(locked|head|node=0|zone=1) raw: 0100000000000041 dead000000000100 dead000000000122 ffff888014b13bd0 raw: 0000000000000060 0000000000000020 00000000ffffffff 0000000000000000 head: 0100000000000041 dead000000000100 dead000000000122 ffff888014b13bd0 head: 0000000000000060 0000000000000020 00000000ffffffff 0000000000000000 head: 0100000000000000 0000000000000000 ffffffffffffffff 0000000000000000 head: 0000000000000010 0000000000000000 00000000ffffffff 0000000000000000 page dumped because: PAGE_FLAGS_CHECK_AT_FREE flag(s) set Call Trace: dump_stack_lvl+0x53/0x70 bad_page+0xd4/0x220 __free_pages_ok+0x76d/0xf30 __folio_put+0x230/0x320 p9_release_pages+0x179/0x1f0 p9_virtio_zc_request+0xa2a/0x1230 p9_client_zc_rpc.constprop.0+0x247/0x700 p9_client_read_once+0x34d/0x810 p9_client_read+0xf3/0x150 v9fs_issue_read+0x111/0x360 netfs_unbuffered_read_iter_locked+0x927/0x1390 netfs_unbuffered_read_iter+0xa2/0xe0 vfs_iocb_iter_read+0x2c7/0x460 erofs_fileio_rq_submit+0x46b/0x5b0 z_erofs_runqueue+0x1203/0x21e0 z_erofs_readahead+0x579/0x8b0 read_pages+0x19f/0xa70 page_cache_ra_order+0x4ad/0xb80 filemap_readahead.isra.0+0xe7/0x150 filemap_get_pages+0x7aa/0x1890 filemap_read+0x320/0xc80 vfs_read+0x6c6/0xa30 ksys_read+0xf9/0x1c0 do_syscall_64+0x9e/0x1a0 entry_SYSCALL_64_after_hwframe+0x71/0x79

Quoted source text, attributed separately from HOL analysis.

Record context

Vulnerability class
Vulnerability
EPSS
Not reported
CWE IDs
Not reported
Source
CVE List V5
Source checked
Nov 4, 2026
References
2 linked sources
Open source record