HOL LogoGuard

Explore HOL

  • HOL home
  • AI agent registry
  • AI plugins
  • Open standards
  • HOL members
  • Sponsor HOL
  • Advertise with HOL

Guard product

  • Guard overviewLocal security and control for AI agents and the tools they use.
  • FeaturesRuntime protection, policy routing, review, and evidence.

Explore Guard

  • Product previewWalk through Guard surfaces in read-only demo mode.
  • ComparisonCompare Guard with native controls and AI security vendors.

AI tools

  • All AI toolsEvery supported AI tool and how Guard applies policy to it.
  • Codex
  • Claude Code
  • Cursor
  • Antigravity CLI
  • OpenCode
  • Hermes
  • OpenClaw
  • GitHub Copilot CLI
  • Antigravity
  • Kimi
  • Grok
  • Pi / Oh My Pi
  • Zcode

Extensions

  • All extensionsBrowse command and MCP coverage with owners and stated limits.
  • Command coverageShell command protection across clouds, databases, backups, and packages.
  • MCP server coverageSee how Guard maps risk state across MCP tools and servers.
  • Core safetyThe safety floor listings that ship with Guard.
  • Data and resilienceBackup and storage command protection.
  • Cloud and infrastructureAWS, Azure, GCP, Kubernetes, and more.

Security

  • AI security hubSecurity research, advisories, and agent safety coverage.
  • AI tool securitySecurity profiles for each supported coding agent.
  • Safe labsHands-on attack simulations with safe boundaries.
  • Redacted warningsReal blocked actions with sensitive details removed.
  • AdvisoriesCoordinated disclosure reports for AI tooling.
  • Active CVEsSearch active CVEs affecting AI tooling.

Learn

  • Security guidesPractical guides for securing AI agent workflows.
  • DocsInstall, configure, and operate Guard with confidence.
  • ResearchPublished security research, benchmarks, and methodology.

Community

  • ReleasesVersion history, shipped changes and upgrade notes.
  • ContributorsThe people and contributions behind HOL Guard.
  • AffiliatesShare Guard with your audience and earn from referrals.
  • SponsorFund agreed research, implementation and shared testing through the HOL Partner Program.
  • AdvertiseCompare README logo placements, previews and monthly prices, or promote a plugin or extension.
PricingEnterpriseOpen AppInstall Guard
  1. Guard
  2. Security
  3. CVEs
  4. CVE 2025 37889 asoc ops consistently treat platformmax as
HOL Guard

Public security guidance for teams protecting AI harnesses, MCP servers, skills, prompts, and local tool execution.

Install Guard

AI Security

  • Prompt injection
  • MCP security
  • OWASP MCP mapping
  • Supply chain

Resources

  • Trust packet
  • Harness setup
  • Redacted warnings
  • Safe labs

Product

  • Install Guard
  • Pricing
  • Open dashboard
Guard
  • Guard Overview
  • Releases
  • Contributors
  • Install Guard
  • Pricing
Docs
  • Documentation Index
  • Developer Hub
  • API Reference
  • Root OpenAPI
  • Registry OpenAPI
  • Run in Postman
  • Standards
  • Submit ERC-8004 Contract
  • Feature Your Agent
Best Plugins
  • Browse Plugins
  • Plugin Launches
  • Best Claude Plugins
  • Best Codex Plugins
  • Best Grok Plugins
  • Best Kimi Plugins
  • Best DeepSeek Plugins
  • Best Antigravity Plugins
  • Best MCP Servers
  • Best Cursor Plugins
  • Best OpenCode Plugins
Best Agents
  • Best ERC-8004 Agents
  • Best Virtuals Agents
  • Best MCP Servers
  • Best A2A Agents
  • Best x402 Payable
  • All Categories
Community
  • Contribute to HOL
  • Telegram
  • X
More
  • About HOL
  • Sponsor
  • Advertise
  • Affiliate program
  • Contact
  • Blog
  • GitHub
  • Privacy
  • Terms of Service
Settings

Copyright © 2026 HOL DAO LLC. All rights reserved.

Back to active CVEs
Medium · CVSS 5.5CVE-2025-37889

ASoC: ops: Consistently treat platform_max as control valueCVE-2025-37889

Answer in brief

CVE-2025-37889 records a Medium severity (CVSS 5.5) vulnerability in ASoC: ops: Consistently treat platform_max as control value. The current sources do not mark it as known exploited. The current feed maps Linux/Linux (generic), Linux/Linux (generic). Check affected ranges and fixed versions before updating.

Analysis pending evidence review

HOL Guard separates source facts from reviewed analysis. See the methodology.

Published May 9, 2025Updated Nov 5, 2026Source checked Nov 5, 2026First seen by HOL Nov 5, 2026Material review Nov 5, 2026
Upstream Advisory

Record context

Vulnerability class
Vulnerability
EPSS
Not reported
CWE IDs
NVD-CWE-noinfo
Source
CVE List V5
Source checked
Nov 5, 2026
References
7 linked sources
Open source record

Key facts

Risk
Medium · CVSS 5.5
Exploitation
Not marked as known exploited
Affected software
15 mapped packages or products
Fix availability
Available

Why this deserves its current priority

CVSS is 5.5. The current sources do not mark it as known exploited. Treat this as a source-backed prioritization signal, not a statement about your environment.

Analysis status

Analysis pending evidence review

Factual feed record only; HOL analysis is not approved for indexing. Read the methodology.

Affected scope and exposure questions

The current feed maps Linux/Linux (generic), Linux/Linux (generic). Check affected ranges and fixed versions before updating.

Affected products and reported versions
ProductAffected versionsFixed versions
cpe:2.3:o:debian:debian_linux:11.0:*:*:*:*:*:*:*Not reportedNot reported
cpe:2.3:o:linux:linux_kernel:*:*:*:*:*:*:*:*Not reportedNot reported
cpe:2.3:o:linux:linux_kernel:6.14:rc1:*:*:*:*:*:*Not reportedNot reported
cpe:2.3:o:linux:linux_kernel:6.14:rc2:*:*:*:*:*:*Not reportedNot reported
cpe:2.3:o:linux:linux_kernel:6.14:rc3:*:*:*:*:*:*Not reportedNot reported
cpe:2.3:o:linux:linux_kernel:6.14:rc4:*:*:*:*:*:*Not reportedNot reported
cpe:2.3:o:linux:linux_kernel:6.14:rc5:*:*:*:*:*:*Not reportedNot reported
cpe:2.3:o:linux:linux_kernel:6.14:rc6:*:*:*:*:*:*Not reportedNot reported
cpe:2.3:o:linux:linux_kernel:6.7:-:*:*:*:*:*:*Not reportedNot reported
cpe:2.3:o:linux:linux_kernel:6.7:rc5:*:*:*:*:*:*Not reportedNot reported
cpe:2.3:o:linux:linux_kernel:6.7:rc6:*:*:*:*:*:*Not reportedNot reported
cpe:2.3:o:linux:linux_kernel:6.7:rc7:*:*:*:*:*:*Not reportedNot reported
cpe:2.3:o:linux:linux_kernel:6.7:rc8:*:*:*:*:*:*Not reportedNot reported
Mapped affected packages and fixed versions
PackageAffected rangeFixed version
Linux/Linuxgeneric>=c11fc224e58e7972ffd05b8f25e9b1d6a0b8d562 <c402f184a053c8e7ca325e50f04bbbc1e4fee019 || >=a50562146d6c7650029a115c96ef9aaa7648c344 <694110bc2407a61f02a770cbb5f39b51e4ec77c6 || >=395e52b7a1ad01e1b51adb09854a0aa5347428de <544055329560d4b64fe204fc6be325ebc24c72ca || >=fb9ad24485087e0f00d84bee7a5914640b2b9024 <a46a9371f8b9a0eeff53a21e11ed3b65f52d9cf6 || >=fb9ad24485087e0f00d84bee7a5914640b2b9024 <296c8295ae34045da0214882628d49c1c060dd8a || >=fb9ad24485087e0f00d84bee7a5914640b2b9024 <0eba2a7e858907a746ba69cd002eb9eb4dbd7bf3 || >=5.15.148 <5.15.180 || >=6.1.74 <6.1.132 || >=6.6.7 <6.6.84c402f184a053c8e7ca325e50f04bbbc1e4fee019, 694110bc2407a61f02a770cbb5f39b51e4ec77c6, 544055329560d4b64fe204fc6be325ebc24c72ca, a46a9371f8b9a0eeff53a21e11ed3b65f52d9cf6, 296c8295ae34045da0214882628d49c1c060dd8a, 0eba2a7e858907a746ba69cd002eb9eb4dbd7bf3, 5.15.180, 6.1.132, 6.6.84
Linux/Linuxgeneric6.7Not reported

Recommended response

  1. 1Check inventory. Check lockfiles and deployed manifests for Linux/Linux, Linux/Linux.
  2. 2Review the reported fix. Update Linux/Linux to c402f184a053c8e7ca325e50f04bbbc1e4fee019 if you use the affected versions. Test the change in a non-production environment first.

Evidence timeline and material changes

  1. Published upstream

    May 9, 2025

    Evidence: source:cvelist:source_dates:source-dates:record
  2. Source modified

    Nov 5, 2026

    Evidence: source:cvelist:source_dates:source-dates:record
  3. First seen by HOL

    Nov 5, 2026

Sources and claim methodology

  • Source referencegit.kernel.org
  • Source referencegit.kernel.org
  • Source referencegit.kernel.org
  • Source referencegit.kernel.org
  • Source referencegit.kernel.org
  • Source referencegit.kernel.org
  • Source referencelists.debian.org
Upstream source description

In the Linux kernel, the following vulnerability has been resolved: ASoC: ops: Consistently treat platform_max as control value This reverts commit 9bdd10d57a88 ("ASoC: ops: Shift tested values in snd_soc_put_volsw() by +min"), and makes some additional related updates. There are two ways the platform_max could be interpreted; the maximum register value, or the maximum value the control can be set to. The patch moved from treating the value as a control value to a register one. When the patch was applied it was technically correct as snd_soc_limit_volume() also used the register interpretation. However, even then most of the other usages treated platform_max as a control value, and snd_soc_limit_volume() has since been updated to also do so in commit fb9ad24485087 ("ASoC: ops: add correct range check for limiting volume"). That patch however, missed updating snd_soc_put_volsw() back to the control interpretation, and fixing snd_soc_info_volsw_range(). The control interpretation makes more sense as limiting is typically done from the machine driver, so it is appropriate to use the customer facing representation rather than the internal codec representation. Update all the code to consistently use this interpretation of platform_max. Finally, also add some comments to the soc_mixer_control struct to hopefully avoid further patches switching between the two approaches.

Quoted source text, attributed separately from HOL analysis.