Answer in brief
CVE-2025-38629 records a Unknown severity vulnerability in ALSA: usb: scarlett2: Fix missing NULL check. The current sources do not mark it as known exploited. The current feed maps Linux/Linux (generic), Linux/Linux (generic). Check affected ranges and fixed versions before updating.
Analysis pending evidence review
HOL Guard separates source facts from reviewed analysis. See the methodology.
A CVSS score is not reported in the current record. The current sources do not mark it as known exploited. Treat this as a source-backed prioritization signal, not a statement about your environment.
Analysis status
Analysis pending evidence review
Factual feed record only; HOL analysis is not approved for indexing. Read the methodology.
The current feed maps Linux/Linux (generic), Linux/Linux (generic). Check affected ranges and fixed versions before updating.
| Package | Affected range | Fixed version |
|---|---|---|
| Linux/Linuxgeneric | >=8eba063b5b2b498ddd01ea6f29fc9b12368c3d53 <d558db85920b124bac36f8a7ddc5de0aa7491bdd || >=8eba063b5b2b498ddd01ea6f29fc9b12368c3d53 <2c735fcaee81ad8056960659dc9dc460891e76b0 || >=8eba063b5b2b498ddd01ea6f29fc9b12368c3d53 <df485a4b2b3ee5b35c80f990beb554e38a8a5fb1 | d558db85920b124bac36f8a7ddc5de0aa7491bdd, 2c735fcaee81ad8056960659dc9dc460891e76b0, df485a4b2b3ee5b35c80f990beb554e38a8a5fb1 |
| Linux/Linuxgeneric | 6.13 | Not reported |
Published upstream
Aug 22, 2025
Evidence: source:cvelist:source_dates:source-dates:recordSource modified
Nov 5, 2026
Evidence: source:cvelist:source_dates:source-dates:recordFirst seen by HOL
Nov 5, 2026
In the Linux kernel, the following vulnerability has been resolved: ALSA: usb: scarlett2: Fix missing NULL check scarlett2_input_select_ctl_info() sets up the string arrays allocated via kasprintf(), but it misses NULL checks, which may lead to NULL dereference Oops. Let's add the proper NULL check.
Quoted source text, attributed separately from HOL analysis.