Answer in brief
CVE-2025-5791 records a High severity (CVSS 7.1) vulnerability in Users: `root` appended to group listings. The current sources do not mark it as known exploited. The current feed maps Red Hat/rhtpa/rhtpa-trustification-service-rhel9 (generic), Red Hat/rust-afterburn (generic), Red Hat/rust-ssh-key-dir (generic), rust-users (generic). Check affected ranges and fixed versions before updating.
Analysis pending evidence review
HOL Guard separates source facts from reviewed analysis. See the methodology.
CVSS is 7.1. The current sources do not mark it as known exploited. Treat this as a source-backed prioritization signal, not a statement about your environment.
Analysis status
Analysis pending evidence review
Factual feed record only; HOL analysis is not approved for indexing. Read the methodology.
The current feed maps Red Hat/rhtpa/rhtpa-trustification-service-rhel9 (generic), Red Hat/rust-afterburn (generic), Red Hat/rust-ssh-key-dir (generic), rust-users (generic). Check affected ranges and fixed versions before updating.
| Package | Affected range | Fixed version |
|---|---|---|
| Red Hat/rhtpa/rhtpa-trustification-service-rhel9generic | * | Not reported |
| Red Hat/rust-afterburngeneric | * | Not reported |
| Red Hat/rust-ssh-key-dirgeneric | * | Not reported |
| rust-usersgeneric | >=0.8.0 <0.11.1 | 0.11.1 |
Published upstream
Jun 6, 2025
Evidence: source:cvelist:source_dates:source-dates:recordSource modified
Nov 4, 2026
Evidence: source:cvelist:source_dates:source-dates:recordFirst seen by HOL
Nov 4, 2026
A flaw was found in the user's crate for Rust. This vulnerability allows privilege escalation via incorrect group listing when a user or process has fewer than exactly 1024 groups, leading to the erroneous inclusion of the root group in the access list.
Quoted source text, attributed separately from HOL analysis.