Answer in brief
CVE-2026-16140 records a High severity (CVSS 8.8) vulnerability in OpenBMC IPMI Privilege Escalation via Retargeted RAKP 1. The current sources do not mark it as known exploited. The current feed maps OpenBMC/phosphor-net-ipmid (generic), OpenBMC/phosphor-net-ipmid (generic). Check affected ranges and fixed versions before updating.
Analysis pending evidence review
HOL Guard separates source facts from reviewed analysis. See the methodology.
CVSS is 8.8. The current sources do not mark it as known exploited. Treat this as a source-backed prioritization signal, not a statement about your environment.
Analysis status
Analysis pending evidence review
Factual feed record only; HOL analysis is not approved for indexing. Read the methodology.
The current feed maps OpenBMC/phosphor-net-ipmid (generic), OpenBMC/phosphor-net-ipmid (generic). Check affected ranges and fixed versions before updating.
| Package | Affected range | Fixed version |
|---|---|---|
| OpenBMC/phosphor-net-ipmidgeneric | >=0 <=ba6efc502e6b1fabb8ed1ca677ae5eedd64b6361 | Not reported |
| OpenBMC/phosphor-net-ipmidgeneric | 0 | Not reported |
Published upstream
Sep 15, 2026
Evidence: source:cvelist:source_dates:source-dates:recordSource modified
Sep 18, 2026
Evidence: source:cvelist:source_dates:source-dates:recordFirst seen by HOL
Sep 15, 2026
OpenBMC's IPMI implementation, phosphor-net-ipmid, is vulnerable to a logic flaw where the authorization context of an existing session can be replaced with a target account while still maintaining the original integrity and encryption keys. Several downstream vendors implement phosphor-net-ipmid as their IPMI stack, such as NVIDIA and H3C. This issue effectively allows for privilege escalation without re-authentication.
Quoted source text, attributed separately from HOL analysis.