Answer in brief
CVE-2026-16938 records a Medium severity (CVSS 6.9) vulnerability in Power System Missing Authorization. The current sources do not mark it as known exploited. The current feed maps IBM/Power Systems Firmware (generic), IBM/Server Firmware (generic). Check affected ranges and fixed versions before updating.
Analysis pending evidence review
HOL Guard separates source facts from reviewed analysis. See the methodology.
CVSS is 6.9. The current sources do not mark it as known exploited. Treat this as a source-backed prioritization signal, not a statement about your environment.
Analysis status
Analysis pending evidence review
Factual feed record only; HOL analysis is not approved for indexing. Read the methodology.
The current feed maps IBM/Power Systems Firmware (generic), IBM/Server Firmware (generic). Check affected ranges and fixed versions before updating.
| Product | Affected versions | Fixed versions |
|---|---|---|
| cpe:2.3:h:ibm:power_system_e1080_\(9080-hex\):-:*:*:*:*:*:*:* | Not reported | Not reported |
| cpe:2.3:h:ibm:power_system_e1180_\(9080-heu\):-:*:*:*:*:*:*:* | Not reported | Not reported |
| cpe:2.3:h:ibm:power_system_e950_\(9040-mr9\):-:*:*:*:*:*:*:* | Not reported | Not reported |
| cpe:2.3:h:ibm:power_system_e980_\(9080-m9s\):-:*:*:*:*:*:*:* | Not reported | Not reported |
| cpe:2.3:h:ibm:power_system_h922_\(9223-22s\):-:*:*:*:*:*:*:* | Not reported | Not reported |
| cpe:2.3:h:ibm:power_system_h924_\(9223-42s\):-:*:*:*:*:*:*:* | Not reported | Not reported |
| cpe:2.3:h:ibm:power_system_s914_\(9009-41g\):-:*:*:*:*:*:*:* | Not reported | Not reported |
| cpe:2.3:h:ibm:power_system_s922_\(9009-22g\):-:*:*:*:*:*:*:* | Not reported | Not reported |
| cpe:2.3:h:ibm:power_system_s924_\(9009-42g\):-:*:*:*:*:*:*:* | Not reported | Not reported |
| cpe:2.3:o:ibm:power_system_e1080_\(9080-hex\)_firmware:*:*:*:*:*:*:*:* | Not reported | Not reported |
| cpe:2.3:o:ibm:power_system_e1180_\(9080-heu\)_firmware:*:*:*:*:*:*:*:* | Not reported | Not reported |
| cpe:2.3:o:ibm:power_system_e1180_\(9080-heu\)_firmware:fw1120.00:*:*:*:*:*:*:* | Not reported | Not reported |
| cpe:2.3:o:ibm:power_system_e950_\(9040-mr9\)_firmware:*:*:*:*:*:*:*:* | Not reported | Not reported |
| cpe:2.3:o:ibm:power_system_e980_\(9080-m9s\)_firmware:*:*:*:*:*:*:*:* | Not reported | Not reported |
| cpe:2.3:o:ibm:power_system_h922_\(9223-22s\)_firmware:*:*:*:*:*:*:*:* | Not reported | Not reported |
| cpe:2.3:o:ibm:power_system_h924_\(9223-42s\)_firmware:*:*:*:*:*:*:*:* | Not reported | Not reported |
| cpe:2.3:o:ibm:power_system_s914_\(9009-41g\)_firmware:*:*:*:*:*:*:*:* | Not reported | Not reported |
| cpe:2.3:o:ibm:power_system_s922_\(9009-22g\)_firmware:*:*:*:*:*:*:*:* | Not reported | Not reported |
| cpe:2.3:o:ibm:power_system_s924_\(9009-42g\)_firmware:*:*:*:*:*:*:*:* | Not reported | Not reported |
| Package | Affected range | Fixed version |
|---|---|---|
| IBM/Power Systems Firmwaregeneric | FW1120.00 || FW1110.00 || FW1060.00 || FW950.00 | Not reported |
| IBM/Server Firmwaregeneric | FW1120.00 || FW1110.00 || FW1060.00 || FW950.00 | Not reported |
Published upstream
Aug 19, 2026
Evidence: source:cvelist:source_dates:source-dates:recordSource modified
Aug 25, 2026
Evidence: source:cvelist:source_dates:source-dates:recordFirst seen by HOL
Aug 19, 2026
IBM Power Systems Firmware FW1120.00, FW1110.00 through FW1110.30, FW1060.00 through FW1060.80, and FW950.00 through FW950.H2 is affected by a vulnerability in access controls over privileged system configuration operations on the FSP. An attacker with authenticated administrator-level access to the FSP can place the managed system into a non-production operational mode, allowing certain system components to be disabled. This condition persists across FSP resets and requires explicit operator intervention — clearing the affected configuration — to restore normal operation. Successful exploitation results in an availability impact to the managed system.
Quoted source text, attributed separately from HOL analysis.