Answer in brief
CVE-2026-17042 records a High severity (CVSS 7.3) vulnerability in Power System Out-of-bounds Read. The current sources do not mark it as known exploited. The current feed maps IBM/Power Systems Firmware (generic). Check affected ranges and fixed versions before updating.
Analysis pending evidence review
HOL Guard separates source facts from reviewed analysis. See the methodology.
CVSS is 7.3. The current sources do not mark it as known exploited. Treat this as a source-backed prioritization signal, not a statement about your environment.
Analysis status
Analysis pending evidence review
Factual feed record only; HOL analysis is not approved for indexing. Read the methodology.
The current feed maps IBM/Power Systems Firmware (generic). Check affected ranges and fixed versions before updating.
| Product | Affected versions | Fixed versions |
|---|---|---|
| cpe:2.3:h:ibm:power_hardware_management_console_\(7063-cr2\):-:*:*:*:*:*:*:* | Not reported | Not reported |
| cpe:2.3:h:ibm:power_system_ac922_\(8335-gth\):-:*:*:*:*:*:*:* | Not reported | Not reported |
| cpe:2.3:h:ibm:power_system_ac922_\(8335-gtx\):-:*:*:*:*:*:*:* | Not reported | Not reported |
| cpe:2.3:h:ibm:power_system_e950_\(9040-mr9\):-:*:*:*:*:*:*:* | Not reported | Not reported |
| cpe:2.3:h:ibm:power_system_e980_\(9080-m9s\):-:*:*:*:*:*:*:* | Not reported | Not reported |
| cpe:2.3:h:ibm:power_system_h922_\(9223-22s\):-:*:*:*:*:*:*:* | Not reported | Not reported |
| cpe:2.3:h:ibm:power_system_h924_\(9223-42s\):-:*:*:*:*:*:*:* | Not reported | Not reported |
| cpe:2.3:h:ibm:power_system_s914_\(9009-41g\):-:*:*:*:*:*:*:* | Not reported | Not reported |
| cpe:2.3:h:ibm:power_system_s922_\(9009-22g\):-:*:*:*:*:*:*:* | Not reported | Not reported |
| cpe:2.3:h:ibm:power_system_s924_\(9009-42g\):-:*:*:*:*:*:*:* | Not reported | Not reported |
| cpe:2.3:o:ibm:power_hardware_management_console_\(7063-cr2\)_firmware:*:*:*:*:*:*:*:* | Not reported | Not reported |
| cpe:2.3:o:ibm:power_system_ac922_\(8335-gth\)_firmware:*:*:*:*:*:*:*:* | Not reported | Not reported |
| cpe:2.3:o:ibm:power_system_ac922_\(8335-gtx\)_firmware:*:*:*:*:*:*:*:* | Not reported | Not reported |
| cpe:2.3:o:ibm:power_system_e950_\(9040-mr9\)_firmware:*:*:*:*:*:*:*:* | Not reported | Not reported |
| cpe:2.3:o:ibm:power_system_e980_\(9080-m9s\)_firmware:*:*:*:*:*:*:*:* | Not reported | Not reported |
| cpe:2.3:o:ibm:power_system_h922_\(9223-22s\)_firmware:*:*:*:*:*:*:*:* | Not reported | Not reported |
| cpe:2.3:o:ibm:power_system_h924_\(9223-42s\)_firmware:*:*:*:*:*:*:*:* | Not reported | Not reported |
| cpe:2.3:o:ibm:power_system_s914_\(9009-41g\)_firmware:*:*:*:*:*:*:*:* | Not reported | Not reported |
| cpe:2.3:o:ibm:power_system_s922_\(9009-22g\)_firmware:*:*:*:*:*:*:*:* | Not reported | Not reported |
| cpe:2.3:o:ibm:power_system_s924_\(9009-42g\)_firmware:*:*:*:*:*:*:*:* | Not reported | Not reported |
| Package | Affected range | Fixed version |
|---|---|---|
| IBM/Power Systems Firmwaregeneric | FW950.00 || OP940.00 || OP940.00 | Not reported |
Published upstream
Aug 19, 2026
Evidence: source:cvelist:source_dates:source-dates:recordSource modified
Aug 25, 2026
Evidence: source:cvelist:source_dates:source-dates:recordFirst seen by HOL
Aug 19, 2026
IBM Power Systems Firmware FW950.00 through FW950.H2, OP940.00 through OP940.a1 (Power9), and OP940.00 - OP940.81 (Power HMC) is affected by a vulnerability in host firmware NVRAM parsing. An attacker with root access to a guest partition on an OpenPOWER system can write a specially crafted NVRAM image, causing the host firmware boot stage to crash with possible memory corruption. This condition persists until operator intervention — clearing NVRAM via the service processor — to restore normal operation. This vulnerability only affects OpenPOWER systems; systems running PowerVM are not affected. Successful exploitation results in an integrity and availability impact to the managed system.
Quoted source text, attributed separately from HOL analysis.