Answer in brief
CVE-2026-31543 records a Unknown severity vulnerability in crash_dump: don't log dm-crypt key bytes in read_key_from_user_keying. The current sources do not mark it as known exploited. The current feed maps Linux/Linux (generic), Linux/Linux (generic). Check affected ranges and fixed versions before updating.
Analysis pending evidence review
HOL Guard separates source facts from reviewed analysis. See the methodology.
A CVSS score is not reported in the current record. The current sources do not mark it as known exploited. Treat this as a source-backed prioritization signal, not a statement about your environment.
Analysis status
Analysis pending evidence review
Factual feed record only; HOL analysis is not approved for indexing. Read the methodology.
The current feed maps Linux/Linux (generic), Linux/Linux (generic). Check affected ranges and fixed versions before updating.
| Package | Affected range | Fixed version |
|---|---|---|
| Linux/Linuxgeneric | >=479e58549b0fa7e80f1e0b9e69e0a2a8e6711132 <4897bd307ba8757c31a3325ba6730961be606016 || >=479e58549b0fa7e80f1e0b9e69e0a2a8e6711132 <ed8d91f469845d62d44c565a55d2ab1767969357 || >=479e58549b0fa7e80f1e0b9e69e0a2a8e6711132 <36f46b0e36892eba08978eef7502ff3c94ddba77 | 4897bd307ba8757c31a3325ba6730961be606016, ed8d91f469845d62d44c565a55d2ab1767969357, 36f46b0e36892eba08978eef7502ff3c94ddba77 |
| Linux/Linuxgeneric | 6.16 | Not reported |
Published upstream
Apr 24, 2026
Evidence: source:cvelist:source_dates:source-dates:recordSource modified
Nov 5, 2026
Evidence: source:cvelist:source_dates:source-dates:recordFirst seen by HOL
Nov 5, 2026
In the Linux kernel, the following vulnerability has been resolved: crash_dump: don't log dm-crypt key bytes in read_key_from_user_keying When debug logging is enabled, read_key_from_user_keying() logs the first 8 bytes of the key payload and partially exposes the dm-crypt key. Stop logging any key bytes.
Quoted source text, attributed separately from HOL analysis.