HOL LogoGuard

Explore HOL

  • HOL home
  • AI agent registry
  • AI plugins
  • Open standards
  • HOL members
  • Sponsor HOL
  • Advertise with HOL

Guard product

  • Guard overviewLocal security and control for AI agents and the tools they use.
  • FeaturesRuntime protection, policy routing, review, and evidence.

Explore Guard

  • Product previewWalk through Guard surfaces in read-only demo mode.
  • ComparisonCompare Guard with native controls and AI security vendors.

AI tools

  • All AI toolsEvery supported AI tool and how Guard applies policy to it.
  • Codex
  • Claude Code
  • Cursor
  • Antigravity CLI
  • OpenCode
  • Hermes
  • OpenClaw
  • GitHub Copilot CLI
  • Antigravity
  • Kimi
  • Grok
  • Pi / Oh My Pi
  • Zcode

Extensions

  • All extensionsBrowse command and MCP coverage with owners and stated limits.
  • Command coverageShell command protection across clouds, databases, backups, and packages.
  • MCP server coverageSee how Guard maps risk state across MCP tools and servers.
  • Core safetyThe safety floor listings that ship with Guard.
  • Data and resilienceBackup and storage command protection.
  • Cloud and infrastructureAWS, Azure, GCP, Kubernetes, and more.

Security

  • AI security hubSecurity research, advisories, and agent safety coverage.
  • AI tool securitySecurity profiles for each supported coding agent.
  • Safe labsHands-on attack simulations with safe boundaries.
  • Redacted warningsReal blocked actions with sensitive details removed.
  • AdvisoriesCoordinated disclosure reports for AI tooling.
  • Active CVEsSearch active CVEs affecting AI tooling.

Learn

  • Security guidesPractical guides for securing AI agent workflows.
  • DocsInstall, configure, and operate Guard with confidence.
  • ResearchPublished security research, benchmarks, and methodology.

Community

  • ReleasesVersion history, shipped changes and upgrade notes.
  • ContributorsThe people and contributions behind HOL Guard.
  • AffiliatesShare Guard with your audience and earn from referrals.
  • SponsorFund agreed research, implementation and shared testing through the HOL Partner Program.
  • AdvertiseCompare README logo placements, previews and monthly prices, or promote a plugin or extension.
PricingEnterpriseOpen AppInstall Guard
  1. Guard
  2. Security
  3. CVEs
  4. CVE 2026 31617 usb gadget fncm validate minimum blocklen in
HOL Guard

Public security guidance for teams protecting AI harnesses, MCP servers, skills, prompts, and local tool execution.

Install Guard

AI Security

  • Prompt injection
  • MCP security
  • OWASP MCP mapping
  • Supply chain

Resources

  • Trust packet
  • Harness setup
  • Redacted warnings
  • Safe labs

Product

  • Install Guard
  • Pricing
  • Open dashboard
Guard
  • Guard Overview
  • Releases
  • Contributors
  • Install Guard
  • Pricing
Docs
  • Documentation Index
  • Developer Hub
  • API Reference
  • Root OpenAPI
  • Registry OpenAPI
  • Run in Postman
  • Standards
  • Submit ERC-8004 Contract
  • Feature Your Agent
Best Plugins
  • Browse Plugins
  • Plugin Launches
  • Best Claude Plugins
  • Best Codex Plugins
  • Best Grok Plugins
  • Best Kimi Plugins
  • Best DeepSeek Plugins
  • Best Antigravity Plugins
  • Best MCP Servers
  • Best Cursor Plugins
  • Best OpenCode Plugins
Best Agents
  • Best ERC-8004 Agents
  • Best Virtuals Agents
  • Best MCP Servers
  • Best A2A Agents
  • Best x402 Payable
  • All Categories
Community
  • Telegram
  • X
More
  • About HOL
  • Sponsor
  • Advertise
  • Affiliate program
  • Contact
  • Blog
  • GitHub
  • Privacy
  • Terms of Service
Settings

Copyright ยฉ 2026 HOL DAO LLC. All rights reserved.

Back to active CVEs
Medium ยท CVSS 5.5CVE-2026-31617

usb: gadget: f_ncm: validate minimum block_len in ncm_unwrap_ntb()CVE-2026-31617

Answer in brief

CVE-2026-31617 records a Medium severity (CVSS 5.5) vulnerability in usb: gadget: f_ncm: validate minimum block_len in ncm_unwrap_ntb(). The current sources do not mark it as known exploited. The current feed maps Red Hat/kernel (generic), Linux/Linux (generic), Linux/Linux (generic), Siemens/SIMATIC S7-1500 TM MFP - GNU/Linux subsystem (generic). Check affected ranges and fixed versions before updating.

Analysis pending evidence review

HOL Guard separates source facts from reviewed analysis. See the methodology.

Published Apr 24, 2026Updated Oct 15, 2026Source checked Nov 3, 2026First seen by HOL Jul 15, 2026Material review Oct 15, 2026
Upstream Advisory

Key facts

Risk
Medium ยท CVSS 5.5
Exploitation
Not marked as known exploited
Affected software
5 mapped packages or products
Fix availability
Available

Why this deserves its current priority

CVSS is 5.5. The current sources do not mark it as known exploited. Treat this as a source-backed prioritization signal, not a statement about your environment.

Analysis status

Analysis pending evidence review

Factual feed record only; HOL analysis is not approved for indexing. Read the methodology.

Affected scope and exposure questions

The current feed maps Red Hat/kernel (generic), Linux/Linux (generic), Linux/Linux (generic), Siemens/SIMATIC S7-1500 TM MFP - GNU/Linux subsystem (generic). Check affected ranges and fixed versions before updating.

Affected products and reported versions
ProductAffected versionsFixed versions
cpe:2.3:o:linux:linux_kernel:*:*:*:*:*:*:*:*Not reportedNot reported
Mapped affected packages and fixed versions
PackageAffected rangeFixed version
Red Hat/kernelgeneric*Not reported
Linux/Linuxgeneric>=2b74b0a04d3e9f9f08ff026e5663dce88ff94e52 <068a7f2749fff6462a0a908ec415b885fe430f50 || >=2b74b0a04d3e9f9f08ff026e5663dce88ff94e52 <1425655c2870054c3ab4712e2b6dbdd331597ada || >=2b74b0a04d3e9f9f08ff026e5663dce88ff94e52 <8b3b7bd3c02f98634baaf36c7fc7ac915f6517ca || >=2b74b0a04d3e9f9f08ff026e5663dce88ff94e52 <0f156bb5334e588034ca68ac2ee92b23f66e56e7 || >=2b74b0a04d3e9f9f08ff026e5663dce88ff94e52 <8757a2593631443648218244b9788e193ae0fdc1 || >=2b74b0a04d3e9f9f08ff026e5663dce88ff94e52 <6762f8a95772265dd0c2ffe7f400493f3115b135 || >=2b74b0a04d3e9f9f08ff026e5663dce88ff94e52 <d58ba8f6546232f8414f396c189297dbee03f1a7 || >=2b74b0a04d3e9f9f08ff026e5663dce88ff94e52 <74908b0318d1df1188457040b8714ff4d4b68126 || >=2b74b0a04d3e9f9f08ff026e5663dce88ff94e52 <8f993d30b95dc9557a8a96ceca11abed674c8acb || f7e0611e207d8908c4f2858e244370529a76dbf7 || b88ad6e714284b33a47834f5f2a294c2b37c66aa || 471b23586387a32857778c511be60ab31c98dcfd || 4f529c4d1e436230d3af7c09a3239677a14d2b46 || ae6a5394d9fbe118bc95cfe376d6a9d91d7547e8 || >=4.9.235 <4.10 || >=4.14.196 <4.15 || >=4.19.143 <4.20 || >=5.4.62 <5.5 || >=5.8.6 <5.9068a7f2749fff6462a0a908ec415b885fe430f50, 1425655c2870054c3ab4712e2b6dbdd331597ada, 8b3b7bd3c02f98634baaf36c7fc7ac915f6517ca, 0f156bb5334e588034ca68ac2ee92b23f66e56e7, 8757a2593631443648218244b9788e193ae0fdc1, 6762f8a95772265dd0c2ffe7f400493f3115b135, d58ba8f6546232f8414f396c189297dbee03f1a7, 74908b0318d1df1188457040b8714ff4d4b68126, 8f993d30b95dc9557a8a96ceca11abed674c8acb, 4.10, 4.15, 4.20, 5.5, 5.9
Linux/Linuxgeneric5.9Not reported
Siemens/SIMATIC S7-1500 TM MFP - GNU/Linux subsystemgeneric>=0 <**

Recommended response

  1. 1Check inventory. Check lockfiles and deployed manifests for Red Hat/kernel, Linux/Linux, Linux/Linux.
  2. 2Review the reported fix. Update Linux/Linux to 068a7f2749fff6462a0a908ec415b885fe430f50; Siemens/SIMATIC S7-1500 TM MFP - GNU/Linux subsystem to * if you use the affected versions. Test the change in a non-production environment first.

Evidence timeline and material changes

  1. Published upstream

    Apr 24, 2026

    Evidence: source:cvelist:source_dates:source-dates:record
  2. Source modified

    Oct 15, 2026

    Evidence: source:cvelist:source_dates:source-dates:record
  3. First seen by HOL

    Jul 15, 2026

Sources and claim methodology

  • Source referenceaccess.redhat.com
  • Source referencebugzilla.redhat.com
  • Source referencecert-portal.siemens.com
  • Source referencegit.kernel.org
  • Source referencegit.kernel.org
  • Source referencegit.kernel.org
  • Source referencegit.kernel.org
  • Source referencegit.kernel.org
  • Source referencegit.kernel.org
  • Source referencegit.kernel.org
  • Source referencegit.kernel.org
  • Source referencegit.kernel.org
  • Source referencesecurity.access.redhat.com
Upstream source description

In the Linux kernel, the following vulnerability has been resolved: usb: gadget: f_ncm: validate minimum block_len in ncm_unwrap_ntb() The block_len read from the host-supplied NTB header is checked against ntb_max but has no lower bound. When block_len is smaller than opts->ndp_size, the bounds check of: ndp_index > (block_len - opts->ndp_size) will underflow producing a huge unsigned value that ndp_index can never exceed, defeating the check entirely. The same underflow occurs in the datagram index checks against block_len - opts->dpe_size. With those checks neutered, a malicious USB host can choose ndp_index and datagram offsets that point past the actual transfer, and the skb_put_data() copies adjacent kernel memory into the network skb. Fix this by rejecting block lengths that cannot hold at least the NTB header plus one NDP. This will make block_len - opts->ndp_size and block_len - opts->dpe_size both well-defined. Commit 8d2b1a1ec9f5 ("CDC-NCM: avoid overflow in sanity checking") fixed a related class of issues on the host side of NCM.

Quoted source text, attributed separately from HOL analysis.

Record context

Vulnerability class
Vulnerability
EPSS
Not reported
CWE IDs
NVD-CWE-noinfo, CWE-191
Source
CVE List V5
Source checked
Nov 3, 2026
References
13 linked sources
Open source record