Answer in brief
CVE-2026-31777 records a Unknown severity vulnerability in ALSA: ctxfi: Check the error for index mapping. The current sources do not mark it as known exploited. The current feed maps Linux/Linux (generic), Linux/Linux (generic). Check affected ranges and fixed versions before updating.
Analysis pending evidence review
HOL Guard separates source facts from reviewed analysis. See the methodology.
A CVSS score is not reported in the current record. The current sources do not mark it as known exploited. Treat this as a source-backed prioritization signal, not a statement about your environment.
Analysis status
Analysis pending evidence review
Factual feed record only; HOL analysis is not approved for indexing. Read the methodology.
The current feed maps Linux/Linux (generic), Linux/Linux (generic). Check affected ranges and fixed versions before updating.
| Package | Affected range | Fixed version |
|---|---|---|
| Linux/Linuxgeneric | >=8cc72361481f00253f1e468ade5795427386d593 <971854e7b6ddda78669d3d0cf6566c7b8aca1fdb || >=8cc72361481f00253f1e468ade5795427386d593 <d4d3b8cbb70a2de247cbfe99bdb232aef9ed59bc || >=8cc72361481f00253f1e468ade5795427386d593 <277c6960d4ddb94d16198afd70c92c3d4593d131 | 971854e7b6ddda78669d3d0cf6566c7b8aca1fdb, d4d3b8cbb70a2de247cbfe99bdb232aef9ed59bc, 277c6960d4ddb94d16198afd70c92c3d4593d131 |
| Linux/Linuxgeneric | 2.6.31 | Not reported |
Published upstream
May 1, 2026
Evidence: source:cvelist:source_dates:source-dates:recordSource modified
Oct 15, 2026
Evidence: source:cvelist:source_dates:source-dates:recordFirst seen by HOL
Oct 15, 2026
In the Linux kernel, the following vulnerability has been resolved: ALSA: ctxfi: Check the error for index mapping The ctxfi driver blindly assumed a proper value returned from daio_device_index(), but it's not always true. Add a proper error check to deal with the error from the function.
Quoted source text, attributed separately from HOL analysis.