Answer in brief
CVE-2026-40502 records a High severity (CVSS 8.7) vulnerability in OpenHarness Remote Administrative Command Injection via Gateway Handler. The current sources do not mark it as known exploited. The current feed maps HKUDS/OpenHarness (generic). Check affected ranges and fixed versions before updating.
Analysis pending evidence review
HOL Guard separates source facts from reviewed analysis. See the methodology.
CVSS is 8.7. The current sources do not mark it as known exploited. Treat this as a source-backed prioritization signal, not a statement about your environment.
Analysis status
Analysis pending evidence review
Factual feed record only; HOL analysis is not approved for indexing. Read the methodology.
The current feed maps HKUDS/OpenHarness (generic). Check affected ranges and fixed versions before updating.
| Product | Affected versions | Fixed versions |
|---|---|---|
| cpe:2.3:a:hkuds:openharness:*:*:*:*:*:*:*:* | Not reported | Not reported |
| Package | Affected range | Fixed version |
|---|---|---|
| HKUDS/OpenHarnessgeneric | >=0 <dd1d235450dd987b20bff01b7bfb02fe8620a0af | dd1d235450dd987b20bff01b7bfb02fe8620a0af |
Published upstream
Apr 16, 2026
Evidence: source:cvelist:source_dates:source-dates:recordSource modified
Nov 8, 2026
Evidence: source:cvelist:source_dates:source-dates:recordFirst seen by HOL
Oct 28, 2026
OpenHarness prior to commit dd1d235 contains a command injection vulnerability that allows remote gateway users with chat access to invoke sensitive administrative commands by exploiting insufficient distinction between local-only and remote-safe commands in the gateway handler. Attackers can execute administrative commands such as /permissions full_auto through remote chat sessions to change permission modes of a running OpenHarness instance without operator authorization.
Quoted source text, attributed separately from HOL analysis.