HOL LogoGuard

Explore HOL

  • HOL home
  • AI agent registry
  • AI plugins
  • Open standards
  • HOL members

Guard product

  • Guard overviewLocal security and control for AI agents and the tools they use.
  • FeaturesRuntime protection, policy routing, review, and evidence.

Explore Guard

  • Product previewWalk through Guard surfaces in read-only demo mode.
  • ComparisonCompare Guard with native controls and AI security vendors.

AI tools

  • All AI toolsEvery supported AI tool and how Guard applies policy to it.
  • Codex
  • Claude Code
  • Cursor
  • Antigravity CLI
  • OpenCode
  • Hermes
  • OpenClaw
  • GitHub Copilot CLI
  • Antigravity
  • Kimi
  • Grok
  • Pi / Oh My Pi
  • Zcode

Extensions

  • All extensionsBrowse command and MCP coverage with owners and stated limits.
  • Command coverageShell command protection across clouds, databases, backups, and packages.
  • MCP server coverageSee how Guard maps risk state across MCP tools and servers.
  • Core safetyThe safety floor listings that ship with Guard.
  • Data and resilienceBackup and storage command protection.
  • Cloud and infrastructureAWS, Azure, GCP, Kubernetes, and more.

Security

  • AI security hubSecurity research, advisories, and agent safety coverage.
  • AI tool securitySecurity profiles for each supported coding agent.
  • Safe labsHands-on attack simulations with safe boundaries.
  • Redacted warningsReal blocked actions with sensitive details removed.
  • AdvisoriesCoordinated disclosure reports for AI tooling.
  • Active CVEsSearch active CVEs affecting AI tooling.

Learn

  • Security guidesPractical guides for securing AI agent workflows.
  • DocsInstall, configure, and operate Guard with confidence.
  • ResearchPublished security research, benchmarks, and methodology.

Community

  • ReleasesVersion history, shipped changes and upgrade notes.
  • ContributorsThe people and contributions behind HOL Guard.
  • AffiliatesShare Guard with your audience and earn from referrals.
  • SponsorKeep agent security open: sponsor a project, place a banner, or fund a security initiative.
PricingEnterpriseOpen AppInstall Guard
  1. Guard
  2. Security
  3. CVEs
  4. CVE 2026 42557 jupyterlab command linker attributes in html
HOL Guard

Public security guidance for teams protecting AI harnesses, MCP servers, skills, prompts, and local tool execution.

Install Guard

AI Security

  • Prompt injection
  • MCP security
  • OWASP MCP mapping
  • Supply chain

Resources

  • Trust packet
  • Harness setup
  • Redacted warnings
  • Safe labs

Product

  • Install Guard
  • Pricing
  • Open dashboard
Guard
  • Guard Overview
  • Releases
  • Contributors
  • Install Guard
  • Pricing
Docs
  • Documentation Index
  • Developer Hub
  • API Reference
  • Root OpenAPI
  • Registry OpenAPI
  • Run in Postman
  • Standards
  • Submit ERC-8004 Contract
  • Feature Your Agent
Best Plugins
  • Browse Plugins
  • Plugin Launches
  • Best Claude Plugins
  • Best Codex Plugins
  • Best Grok Plugins
  • Best Kimi Plugins
  • Best DeepSeek Plugins
  • Best Antigravity Plugins
  • Best MCP Servers
  • Best Cursor Plugins
  • Best OpenCode Plugins
Best Agents
  • Best ERC-8004 Agents
  • Best Virtuals Agents
  • Best MCP Servers
  • Best A2A Agents
  • Best x402 Payable
  • All Categories
Community
  • Telegram
  • X
More
  • About HOL
  • Contact
  • Blog
  • GitHub
  • Privacy
  • Terms of Service
Settings

Copyright © 2026 HOL DAO LLC. All rights reserved.

Back to active CVEs
Critical · CVSS 9.6CVE-2026-42557GHSA-MQCG-5X36-VFCG

jupyterlab: Command linker attributes in HTML enable one-click command execution from untrusted contentCVE-2026-42557

Answer in brief

CVE-2026-42557 records a Critical severity (CVSS 9.6) vulnerability in jupyterlab: Command linker attributes in HTML enable one-click command execution from untrusted content. The current sources do not mark it as known exploited. The current feed maps jupyterlab/jupyterlab (generic), jupyter/notebook (generic), jupyterlab (pip), notebook (pip). Check affected ranges and fixed versions before updating.

Analysis pending evidence review

HOL Guard separates source facts from reviewed analysis. See the methodology.

Published May 13, 2026Updated Aug 28, 2026Source checked Oct 12, 2026First seen by HOL Jun 11, 2026Material review Aug 28, 2026
Upstream Advisory

Key facts

Risk
Critical · CVSS 9.6
Exploitation
Not marked as known exploited
Affected software
6 mapped packages or products
Fix availability
Available

Why this deserves its current priority

CVSS is 9.6. The current sources do not mark it as known exploited. Treat this as a source-backed prioritization signal, not a statement about your environment.

Analysis status

Analysis pending evidence review

Factual feed record only; HOL analysis is not approved for indexing. Read the methodology.

Affected scope and exposure questions

The current feed maps jupyterlab/jupyterlab (generic), jupyter/notebook (generic), jupyterlab (pip), notebook (pip). Check affected ranges and fixed versions before updating.

Affected products and reported versions
ProductAffected versionsFixed versions
cpe:2.3:a:jupyter:jupyterlab:*:*:*:*:*:*:*:*Not reportedNot reported
cpe:2.3:a:jupyter:notebook:*:*:*:*:*:*:*:*Not reportedNot reported
Mapped affected packages and fixed versions
PackageAffected rangeFixed version
jupyterlab/jupyterlabgeneric< 4.5.7Not reported
jupyter/notebookgeneric>= 7.0.0, < 7.5.6Not reported
jupyterlabpip<=4.5.64.5.7
notebookpip>=7.0.0,<=7.5.57.5.6

Recommended response

  1. 1Check inventory. Check lockfiles and deployed manifests for jupyterlab/jupyterlab, jupyter/notebook, jupyterlab.
  2. 2Review the reported fix. Update jupyterlab to 4.5.7; notebook to 7.5.6 if you use the affected versions. Test the change in a non-production environment first.

Evidence timeline and material changes

  1. Published upstream

    May 13, 2026

    Evidence: source:cvelist:source_dates:source-dates:record
  2. Source modified

    Aug 28, 2026

    Evidence: source:cvelist:source_dates:source-dates:record
  3. First seen by HOL

    Jun 11, 2026

Sources and claim methodology

  • Source referenceaccess.redhat.com
  • Source referenceaccess.redhat.com
  • Source referenceaccess.redhat.com
  • Source referencebugzilla.redhat.com
  • GitHub security advisorygithub.com
  • Source referencesecurity.access.redhat.com
  • Source referencejupyterlab.readthedocs.io
  • NVD vulnerability recordnvd.nist.gov
  • GitHub security advisorygithub.com
Upstream source description

jupyterlab is an extensible environment for interactive and reproducible computing, based on the Jupyter Notebook Architecture. Prior to 4.5.7, JupyterLab's HTML sanitizer allowlists data-commandlinker-command and data-commandlinker-args on button elements, while CommandLinker listens for all click events on document.body and executes the named command without checking whether the element came from trusted JupyterLab UI. A notebook with a pre-saved HTML cell output containing a deceptive button can trigger arbitrary JupyterLab commands - including arbitrary code execution - on a single user click, without any code being submitted for execution by the user. This vulnerability is fixed in 4.5.7.

Quoted source text, attributed separately from HOL analysis.

Related CVEs

  • WordPress Quiz And Survey Master plugin <= 11.2.7 - Cross Site Scripting (XSS) vulnerabilityAlso CWE-79
  • WordPress Element Pack Elementor Addons plugin <= 8.8.8 - Cross Site Scripting (XSS) vulnerabilityAlso CWE-79
  • WordPress Premium Addons for Elementor plugin <= 4.11.110 - Cross Site Scripting (XSS) vulnerabilityAlso CWE-79
  • Netcore NR268 Web UI l7_call_board_user_set.cgi eval cross site scriptingAlso CWE-79
  • Cross-site scripting in Progress MarkLogic ServerAlso CWE-79
  • WordPress Salevo plugin <= 1.3.0 - Broken Access Control vulnerabilitySame generic ecosystem

Record context

Vulnerability class
XSS
EPSS
Not reported
CWE IDs
CWE-79
Source
CVE List V5
Source checked
Oct 12, 2026
References
9 linked sources
Open source record