HOL LogoGuard

Explore HOL

  • HOL home
  • AI agent registry
  • AI plugins
  • Open standards
  • HOL members
  • Sponsor HOL
  • Advertise with HOL

Guard product

  • Guard overviewLocal security and control for AI agents and the tools they use.
  • FeaturesRuntime protection, policy routing, review, and evidence.

Explore Guard

  • Product previewWalk through Guard surfaces in read-only demo mode.
  • ComparisonCompare Guard with native controls and AI security vendors.

AI tools

  • All AI toolsEvery supported AI tool and how Guard applies policy to it.
  • Codex
  • Claude Code
  • Cursor
  • Antigravity CLI
  • OpenCode
  • Hermes
  • OpenClaw
  • GitHub Copilot CLI
  • Antigravity
  • Kimi
  • Grok
  • Pi / Oh My Pi
  • Zcode

Extensions

  • All extensionsBrowse command and MCP coverage with owners and stated limits.
  • Command coverageShell command protection across clouds, databases, backups, and packages.
  • MCP server coverageSee how Guard maps risk state across MCP tools and servers.
  • Core safetyThe safety floor listings that ship with Guard.
  • Data and resilienceBackup and storage command protection.
  • Cloud and infrastructureAWS, Azure, GCP, Kubernetes, and more.

Security

  • AI security hubSecurity research, advisories, and agent safety coverage.
  • AI tool securitySecurity profiles for each supported coding agent.
  • Safe labsHands-on attack simulations with safe boundaries.
  • Redacted warningsReal blocked actions with sensitive details removed.
  • AdvisoriesCoordinated disclosure reports for AI tooling.
  • Active CVEsSearch active CVEs affecting AI tooling.

Learn

  • Security guidesPractical guides for securing AI agent workflows.
  • DocsInstall, configure, and operate Guard with confidence.
  • ResearchPublished security research, benchmarks, and methodology.

Community

  • ReleasesVersion history, shipped changes and upgrade notes.
  • ContributorsThe people and contributions behind HOL Guard.
  • AffiliatesShare Guard with your audience and earn from referrals.
  • SponsorFund agreed research, implementation and shared testing through the HOL Partner Program.
  • AdvertiseCompare README logo placements, previews and monthly prices, or promote a plugin or extension.
PricingEnterpriseOpen AppInstall Guard
  1. Guard
  2. Security
  3. CVEs
  4. CVE 2026 46289 libscatterlist fix length calculations in
HOL Guard

Public security guidance for teams protecting AI harnesses, MCP servers, skills, prompts, and local tool execution.

Install Guard

AI Security

  • Prompt injection
  • MCP security
  • OWASP MCP mapping
  • Supply chain

Resources

  • Trust packet
  • Harness setup
  • Redacted warnings
  • Safe labs

Product

  • Install Guard
  • Pricing
  • Open dashboard
Guard
  • Guard Overview
  • Releases
  • Contributors
  • Install Guard
  • Pricing
Docs
  • Documentation Index
  • Developer Hub
  • API Reference
  • Root OpenAPI
  • Registry OpenAPI
  • Run in Postman
  • Standards
  • Submit ERC-8004 Contract
  • Feature Your Agent
Best Plugins
  • Browse Plugins
  • Plugin Launches
  • Best Claude Plugins
  • Best Codex Plugins
  • Best Grok Plugins
  • Best Kimi Plugins
  • Best DeepSeek Plugins
  • Best Antigravity Plugins
  • Best MCP Servers
  • Best Cursor Plugins
  • Best OpenCode Plugins
Best Agents
  • Best ERC-8004 Agents
  • Best Virtuals Agents
  • Best MCP Servers
  • Best A2A Agents
  • Best x402 Payable
  • All Categories
Community
  • Telegram
  • X
More
  • About HOL
  • Sponsor
  • Advertise
  • Affiliate program
  • Contact
  • Blog
  • GitHub
  • Privacy
  • Terms of Service
Settings

Copyright © 2026 HOL DAO LLC. All rights reserved.

Back to active CVEs
Critical · CVSS 9.8CVE-2026-46289

lib/scatterlist: fix length calculations in extract_kvec_to_sgCVE-2026-46289

Answer in brief

CVE-2026-46289 records a Critical severity (CVSS 9.8) vulnerability in lib/scatterlist: fix length calculations in extract_kvec_to_sg. The current sources do not mark it as known exploited. The current feed maps Linux/Linux (generic), Linux/Linux (generic). Check affected ranges and fixed versions before updating.

Analysis pending evidence review

HOL Guard separates source facts from reviewed analysis. See the methodology.

Published Jun 8, 2026Updated Aug 5, 2026Source checked Nov 3, 2026First seen by HOL Jul 7, 2026Material review Aug 5, 2026
Upstream Advisory

Key facts

Risk
Critical · CVSS 9.8
Exploitation
Not marked as known exploited
Affected software
2 mapped packages or products
Fix availability
Available

Why this deserves its current priority

CVSS is 9.8. The current sources do not mark it as known exploited. Treat this as a source-backed prioritization signal, not a statement about your environment.

Analysis status

Analysis pending evidence review

Factual feed record only; HOL analysis is not approved for indexing. Read the methodology.

Affected scope and exposure questions

The current feed maps Linux/Linux (generic), Linux/Linux (generic). Check affected ranges and fixed versions before updating.

Mapped affected packages and fixed versions
PackageAffected rangeFixed version
Linux/Linuxgeneric>=0185846975339a5c348373aa450a977f5242366b <3f17500e86d730c76db638bb3ae52f9b5e496c76 || >=0185846975339a5c348373aa450a977f5242366b <e5e22fc9963469e678c4f4bb38d26adcec107f1e || >=0185846975339a5c348373aa450a977f5242366b <8fbba6829057979149d1b37d65690c037f3ddf4d || >=0185846975339a5c348373aa450a977f5242366b <9d38756d0a93b66163554219fa9c3365f40c4035 || >=0185846975339a5c348373aa450a977f5242366b <07b7d66e65d9cfe6b9c2c34aa22cfcaac37a5c453f17500e86d730c76db638bb3ae52f9b5e496c76, e5e22fc9963469e678c4f4bb38d26adcec107f1e, 8fbba6829057979149d1b37d65690c037f3ddf4d, 9d38756d0a93b66163554219fa9c3365f40c4035, 07b7d66e65d9cfe6b9c2c34aa22cfcaac37a5c45
Linux/Linuxgeneric6.3Not reported

Recommended response

  1. 1Check inventory. Check lockfiles and deployed manifests for Linux/Linux, Linux/Linux.
  2. 2Review the reported fix. Update Linux/Linux to 3f17500e86d730c76db638bb3ae52f9b5e496c76 if you use the affected versions. Test the change in a non-production environment first.

Evidence timeline and material changes

  1. Published upstream

    Jun 8, 2026

    Evidence: source:cvelist:source_dates:source-dates:record
  2. Source modified

    Aug 5, 2026

    Evidence: source:cvelist:source_dates:source-dates:record
  3. First seen by HOL

    Jul 7, 2026

Sources and claim methodology

  • Source referencegit.kernel.org
  • Source referencegit.kernel.org
  • Source referencegit.kernel.org
  • Source referencegit.kernel.org
  • Source referencegit.kernel.org
Upstream source description

In the Linux kernel, the following vulnerability has been resolved: lib/scatterlist: fix length calculations in extract_kvec_to_sg Patch series "Fix bugs in extract_iter_to_sg()", v3. Fix bugs in the kvec and user variants of extract_iter_to_sg. This series is growing due to useful remarks made by sashiko.dev. The main bugs are: - The length for an sglist entry when extracting from a kvec can exceed the number of bytes in the page. This is obviously not intended. - When extracting a user buffer the sglist is temporarily used as a scratch buffer for extracted page pointers. If the sglist already contains some elements this scratch buffer could overlap with existing entries in the sglist. The series adds test cases to the kunit_iov_iter test that demonstrate all of these bugs. Additionally, there is a memory leak fix for the test itself. The bugs were orignally introduced into kernel v6.3 where the function lived in fs/netfs/iterator.c. It was later moved to lib/scatterlist.c in v6.5. Thus the actual fix is only marked for backports to v6.5+. This patch (of 5): When extracting from a kvec to a scatterlist, do not cross page boundaries. The required length was already calculated but not used as intended. Adjust the copied length if the loop runs out of sglist entries without extracting everything. While there, return immediately from extract_iter_to_sg if there are no sglist entries at all. A subsequent commit will add kunit test cases that demonstrate that the patch is necessary.

Quoted source text, attributed separately from HOL analysis.

Record context

Vulnerability class
Vulnerability
EPSS
Not reported
CWE IDs
CWE-401
Source
CVE List V5
Source checked
Nov 3, 2026
References
5 linked sources
Open source record