HOL LogoGuard

Explore HOL

  • HOL home
  • AI agent registry
  • AI plugins
  • Open standards
  • HOL members
  • Sponsor HOL
  • Advertise with HOL

Guard product

  • Guard overviewLocal security and control for AI agents and the tools they use.
  • FeaturesRuntime protection, policy routing, review, and evidence.

Explore Guard

  • Product previewWalk through Guard surfaces in read-only demo mode.
  • ComparisonCompare Guard with native controls and AI security vendors.

AI tools

  • All AI toolsEvery supported AI tool and how Guard applies policy to it.
  • Codex
  • Claude Code
  • Cursor
  • Antigravity CLI
  • OpenCode
  • Hermes
  • OpenClaw
  • GitHub Copilot CLI
  • Antigravity
  • Kimi
  • Grok
  • Pi / Oh My Pi
  • Zcode

Extensions

  • All extensionsBrowse command and MCP coverage with owners and stated limits.
  • Command coverageShell command protection across clouds, databases, backups, and packages.
  • MCP server coverageSee how Guard maps risk state across MCP tools and servers.
  • Core safetyThe safety floor listings that ship with Guard.
  • Data and resilienceBackup and storage command protection.
  • Cloud and infrastructureAWS, Azure, GCP, Kubernetes, and more.

Security

  • AI security hubSecurity research, advisories, and agent safety coverage.
  • AI tool securitySecurity profiles for each supported coding agent.
  • Safe labsHands-on attack simulations with safe boundaries.
  • Redacted warningsReal blocked actions with sensitive details removed.
  • AdvisoriesCoordinated disclosure reports for AI tooling.
  • Active CVEsSearch active CVEs affecting AI tooling.

Learn

  • Security guidesPractical guides for securing AI agent workflows.
  • DocsInstall, configure, and operate Guard with confidence.
  • ResearchPublished security research, benchmarks, and methodology.

Community

  • ReleasesVersion history, shipped changes and upgrade notes.
  • ContributorsThe people and contributions behind HOL Guard.
  • AffiliatesShare Guard with your audience and earn from referrals.
  • SponsorFund agreed research, implementation and shared testing through the HOL Partner Program.
  • AdvertiseCompare README logo placements, previews and monthly prices, or promote a plugin or extension.
PricingEnterpriseOpen AppInstall Guard
  1. Guard
  2. Security
  3. CVEs
  4. CVE 2026 53240 xfrm iptfs fix use after free on firstskb in
HOL Guard

Public security guidance for teams protecting AI harnesses, MCP servers, skills, prompts, and local tool execution.

Install Guard

AI Security

  • Prompt injection
  • MCP security
  • OWASP MCP mapping
  • Supply chain

Resources

  • Trust packet
  • Harness setup
  • Redacted warnings
  • Safe labs

Product

  • Install Guard
  • Pricing
  • Open dashboard
Guard
  • Guard Overview
  • Releases
  • Contributors
  • Install Guard
  • Pricing
Docs
  • Documentation Index
  • Developer Hub
  • API Reference
  • Root OpenAPI
  • Registry OpenAPI
  • Run in Postman
  • Standards
  • Submit ERC-8004 Contract
  • Feature Your Agent
Best Plugins
  • Browse Plugins
  • Plugin Launches
  • Best Claude Plugins
  • Best Codex Plugins
  • Best Grok Plugins
  • Best Kimi Plugins
  • Best DeepSeek Plugins
  • Best Antigravity Plugins
  • Best MCP Servers
  • Best Cursor Plugins
  • Best OpenCode Plugins
Best Agents
  • Best ERC-8004 Agents
  • Best Virtuals Agents
  • Best MCP Servers
  • Best A2A Agents
  • Best x402 Payable
  • All Categories
Community
  • Contribute to HOL
  • Telegram
  • X
More
  • About HOL
  • Sponsor
  • Advertise
  • Affiliate program
  • Contact
  • Blog
  • GitHub
  • Privacy
  • Terms of Service
Settings

Copyright © 2026 HOL DAO LLC. All rights reserved.

Back to active CVEs
High · CVSS 8.8CVE-2026-53240

xfrm: iptfs: fix use-after-free on first_skb in __input_process_payloadCVE-2026-53240

Answer in brief

CVE-2026-53240 records a High severity (CVSS 8.8) vulnerability in xfrm: iptfs: fix use-after-free on first_skb in __input_process_payload. The current sources do not mark it as known exploited. The current feed maps Linux/Linux (generic), Linux/Linux (generic). Check affected ranges and fixed versions before updating.

Analysis pending evidence review

HOL Guard separates source facts from reviewed analysis. See the methodology.

Published Jun 25, 2026Updated Aug 5, 2026Source checked Nov 4, 2026First seen by HOL Jun 25, 2026Material review Aug 5, 2026
Upstream Advisory

Key facts

Risk
High · CVSS 8.8
Exploitation
Not marked as known exploited
Affected software
2 mapped packages or products
Fix availability
Available

Why this deserves its current priority

CVSS is 8.8. The current sources do not mark it as known exploited. Treat this as a source-backed prioritization signal, not a statement about your environment.

Analysis status

Analysis pending evidence review

Factual feed record only; HOL analysis is not approved for indexing. Read the methodology.

Affected scope and exposure questions

The current feed maps Linux/Linux (generic), Linux/Linux (generic). Check affected ranges and fixed versions before updating.

Mapped affected packages and fixed versions
PackageAffected rangeFixed version
Linux/Linuxgeneric>=3f3339885fb343b7b42d7c34717108ce07da24ae <8d9a79fbf5172d9c4c0146057af2360913265a11 || >=3f3339885fb343b7b42d7c34717108ce07da24ae <ff2ee35b6ce5fa8a8e24ea50b15733d5c8780198 || >=3f3339885fb343b7b42d7c34717108ce07da24ae <eb48730bb827d1550401a5d391903f9d90b493c88d9a79fbf5172d9c4c0146057af2360913265a11, ff2ee35b6ce5fa8a8e24ea50b15733d5c8780198, eb48730bb827d1550401a5d391903f9d90b493c8
Linux/Linuxgeneric6.14Not reported

Recommended response

  1. 1Check inventory. Check lockfiles and deployed manifests for Linux/Linux, Linux/Linux.
  2. 2Review the reported fix. Update Linux/Linux to 8d9a79fbf5172d9c4c0146057af2360913265a11 if you use the affected versions. Test the change in a non-production environment first.

Evidence timeline and material changes

  1. Published upstream

    Jun 25, 2026

    Evidence: source:cvelist:source_dates:source-dates:record
  2. Source modified

    Aug 5, 2026

    Evidence: source:cvelist:source_dates:source-dates:record
  3. First seen by HOL

    Jun 25, 2026

Sources and claim methodology

  • Source referencegit.kernel.org
  • Source referencegit.kernel.org
  • Source referencegit.kernel.org
Upstream source description

In the Linux kernel, the following vulnerability has been resolved: xfrm: iptfs: fix use-after-free on first_skb in __input_process_payload __input_process_payload() stores first_skb into xtfs->ra_newskb under drop_lock when starting partial reassembly, then unlocks and breaks out of the processing loop. The post-loop check reads xtfs->ra_newskb without the lock to decide whether first_skb is still owned: if (first_skb && first_iplen && !defer && first_skb != xtfs->ra_newskb) Between spin_unlock and this read, a concurrent CPU running iptfs_reassem_cont() (or the drop_timer hrtimer) can complete reassembly, NULL xtfs->ra_newskb, and free the skb. The check then evaluates first_skb != NULL as true, and pskb_trim/ip_summed/consume_skb operate on the freed skb — a use-after-free in skbuff_head_cache. Replace the unlocked read with a local bool that records whether first_skb was handed to the reassembly state in the current call. The flag is set after the existing spin_unlock, before the break, using the pointer equality that is stable at that point (first_skb == skb iff first_skb was stored in ra_newskb).

Quoted source text, attributed separately from HOL analysis.

Record context

Vulnerability class
Memory Corruption
EPSS
Not reported
CWE IDs
CWE-416
Source
CVE List V5
Source checked
Nov 4, 2026
References
3 linked sources
Open source record