Answer in brief
CVE-2026-61604 records a Critical severity (CVSS 9.3) vulnerability in ixo Blockchain x/bonds DID-resolved payer drain + x/entity ICA authorization bypass. The current sources do not mark it as known exploited. The current feed maps ixofoundation/ixo-blockchain (generic), github.com/ixofoundation/ixo-blockchain (go), github.com/ixofoundation/ixo-blockchain/v3 (go), github.com/ixofoundation/ixo-blockchain/v4 (go) and additional mapped packages. Check affected ranges and fixed versions before updating.
Analysis pending evidence review
HOL Guard separates source facts from reviewed analysis. See the methodology.
CVSS is 9.3. The current sources do not mark it as known exploited. Treat this as a source-backed prioritization signal, not a statement about your environment.
Analysis status
Analysis pending evidence review
Factual feed record only; HOL analysis is not approved for indexing. Read the methodology.
The current feed maps ixofoundation/ixo-blockchain (generic), github.com/ixofoundation/ixo-blockchain (go), github.com/ixofoundation/ixo-blockchain/v3 (go), github.com/ixofoundation/ixo-blockchain/v4 (go) and additional mapped packages. Check affected ranges and fixed versions before updating.
| Package | Affected range | Fixed version |
|---|---|---|
| ixofoundation/ixo-blockchaingeneric | <8.0.0 | 8.0.0 |
| github.com/ixofoundation/ixo-blockchaingo | <=1.6.0 | Not reported |
| github.com/ixofoundation/ixo-blockchain/v3go | <=3.0.0 | Not reported |
| github.com/ixofoundation/ixo-blockchain/v4go | <=4.0.0 | Not reported |
| github.com/ixofoundation/ixo-blockchain/v5go | <=5.0.0 | Not reported |
| github.com/ixofoundation/ixo-blockchain/v6go | <=6.0.1 | Not reported |
| github.com/ixofoundation/ixo-blockchain/v7go | <=7.0.0 | Not reported |
| github.com/ixofoundation/ixo-blockchain/v8go | <8.0.0 | 8.0.0 |
Published upstream
Sep 24, 2026
Evidence: source:cvelist:source_dates:source-dates:recordSource modified
Sep 24, 2026
Evidence: source:cvelist:source_dates:source-dates:recordFirst seen by HOL
Sep 25, 2026
The ixo Blockchain is a Layer 1 blockchain that runs on both Testnet and Mainnet. Prior to version 8.0.0, the x/bonds module moved funds from an address that was resolved from a DID verification method, without verifying that the resolved address belonged to the transaction signer. Affected handlers included MsgMakeOutcomePayment, MsgBuy, MsgSell, MsgSwap, and MsgWithdrawShare, as well as the batch order processor. Because any account may list an arbitrary blockchainAccountID as a verification method on a DID it controls (without the consent of that address's owner), an attacker could register victims' addresses as verification methods on their own DID and then move the victims' balances into a bond the attacker controlled — later withdrawing and bridging the proceeds off-chain. This was exploited on ixo mainnet (ixo-5) on 2026-06-20. The attack required no victim keys, signatures, or system compromise — any account holding a balance in a token a bond could use was at risk. This was fixed in v8.0.0, delivered via the on-chain v8 software-upgrade. The x/bonds module is disabled: every bonds message is rejected on all routes (top-level, authz, CosmWasm, and ICA), and the bonds batch EndBlocker is a no-op so no further reserve movements can occur. All node operators and validators must upgrade to v8.0.0. The flaw is in chain state-machine logic and can only be remediated by running the patched binary. There is no application-level workaround. The vulnerability is in consensus logic; remediation requires the network to run the patched (v8.0.0) binary. The bonds module remains disabled in v8.0.0 and will only be re-enabled in a future release once the signer-authorization model has been corrected.
Quoted source text, attributed separately from HOL analysis.