Answer in brief
CVE-2026-73278 records a Unknown severity vulnerability in Gitea WebAuthn bypass during OAuth and OIDC sign-in. The current sources do not mark it as known exploited. The current feed maps Gitea/Gitea (generic). Check affected ranges and fixed versions before updating.
Analysis pending evidence review
HOL Guard separates source facts from reviewed analysis. See the methodology.
A CVSS score is not reported in the current record. The current sources do not mark it as known exploited. Treat this as a source-backed prioritization signal, not a statement about your environment.
Analysis status
Analysis pending evidence review
Factual feed record only; HOL analysis is not approved for indexing. Read the methodology.
The current feed maps Gitea/Gitea (generic). Check affected ranges and fixed versions before updating.
| Package | Affected range | Fixed version |
|---|---|---|
| Gitea/Giteageneric | >=1.16.0 <=1.27.1 | Not reported |
Published upstream
Oct 6, 2026
Evidence: source:cvelist:source_dates:source-dates:recordSource modified
Oct 6, 2026
Evidence: source:cvelist:source_dates:source-dates:recordFirst seen by HOL
Oct 6, 2026
Gitea's OAuth2 and OpenID Connect sign-in paths do not require a WebAuthn challenge when WebAuthn is the account's only configured second factor. A party able to authenticate through the affected external identity flow can obtain a full session without the passkey verification enforced during password login. One affected path can also persist an external identity link, extending the compromise beyond the initial session; accounts with TOTP configured are outside the reported WebAuthn-only scenario.
Quoted source text, attributed separately from HOL analysis.