HOL LogoGuard

Explore HOL

  • HOL home
  • AI agent registry
  • AI plugins
  • Open standards
  • HOL members

Guard product

  • Guard overviewLocal security and control for AI agents and the tools they use.
  • FeaturesRuntime protection, policy routing, review, and evidence.

Explore Guard

  • Product previewWalk through Guard surfaces in read-only demo mode.
  • ComparisonCompare Guard with native controls and AI security vendors.

AI tools

  • All AI toolsEvery supported AI tool and how Guard applies policy to it.
  • Codex
  • Claude Code
  • Cursor
  • Antigravity CLI
  • OpenCode
  • Hermes
  • OpenClaw
  • GitHub Copilot CLI
  • Antigravity
  • Kimi
  • Grok
  • Pi / Oh My Pi
  • Zcode

Extensions

  • All extensionsBrowse command and MCP coverage with owners and stated limits.
  • Command coverageShell command protection across clouds, databases, backups, and packages.
  • MCP server coverageSee how Guard maps risk state across MCP tools and servers.
  • Core safetyThe safety floor listings that ship with Guard.
  • Data and resilienceBackup and storage command protection.
  • Cloud and infrastructureAWS, Azure, GCP, Kubernetes, and more.

Security

  • AI security hubSecurity research, advisories, and agent safety coverage.
  • AI tool securitySecurity profiles for each supported coding agent.
  • Safe labsHands-on attack simulations with safe boundaries.
  • Redacted warningsReal blocked actions with sensitive details removed.
  • AdvisoriesCoordinated disclosure reports for AI tooling.
  • Active CVEsSearch active CVEs affecting AI tooling.

Learn

  • Security guidesPractical guides for securing AI agent workflows.
  • DocsInstall, configure, and operate Guard with confidence.
  • ResearchPublished security research, benchmarks, and methodology.

Community

  • ReleasesVersion history, shipped changes and upgrade notes.
  • ContributorsThe people and contributions behind HOL Guard.
  • AffiliatesShare Guard with your audience and earn from referrals.
  • SponsorKeep agent security open: sponsor a project, place a banner, or fund a security initiative.
PricingEnterpriseOpen AppInstall Guard
  1. Guard
  2. Security
  3. CVEs
  4. CVE 2026 74620 netsched actgact actpolice range check the
HOL Guard

Public security guidance for teams protecting AI harnesses, MCP servers, skills, prompts, and local tool execution.

Install Guard

AI Security

  • Prompt injection
  • MCP security
  • OWASP MCP mapping
  • Supply chain

Resources

  • Trust packet
  • Harness setup
  • Redacted warnings
  • Safe labs

Product

  • Install Guard
  • Pricing
  • Open dashboard
Guard
  • Guard Overview
  • Releases
  • Contributors
  • Install Guard
  • Pricing
Docs
  • Documentation Index
  • Developer Hub
  • API Reference
  • Root OpenAPI
  • Registry OpenAPI
  • Run in Postman
  • Standards
  • Submit ERC-8004 Contract
  • Feature Your Agent
Best Plugins
  • Browse Plugins
  • Plugin Launches
  • Best Claude Plugins
  • Best Codex Plugins
  • Best Grok Plugins
  • Best Kimi Plugins
  • Best DeepSeek Plugins
  • Best Antigravity Plugins
  • Best MCP Servers
  • Best Cursor Plugins
  • Best OpenCode Plugins
Best Agents
  • Best ERC-8004 Agents
  • Best Virtuals Agents
  • Best MCP Servers
  • Best A2A Agents
  • Best x402 Payable
  • All Categories
Community
  • Telegram
  • X
More
  • About HOL
  • Contact
  • Blog
  • GitHub
  • Privacy
  • Terms of Service
Settings

Copyright Ā© 2026 HOL DAO LLC. All rights reserved.

Back to active CVEs
Unknown severity Ā· Source severity not reportedCVE-2026-74620

net/sched: act_gact, act_police: range check the fallback control actionCVE-2026-74620

Answer in brief

CVE-2026-74620 records a Unknown severity vulnerability in net/sched: act_gact, act_police: range check the fallback control action. The current sources do not mark it as known exploited. The current feed maps Linux/Linux (generic), Linux/Linux (generic), Linux/Linux (generic). Check affected ranges and fixed versions before updating.

Analysis pending evidence review

HOL Guard separates source facts from reviewed analysis. See the methodology.

Published Aug 22, 2026Updated Aug 23, 2026Source checked Oct 7, 2026First seen by HOL Aug 22, 2026Material review Aug 23, 2026
Upstream Advisory

Key facts

Risk
Unknown severitySource severity not reported
Exploitation
Not marked as known exploited
Affected software
3 mapped packages or products
Fix availability
Available

Why this deserves its current priority

A CVSS score is not reported in the current record. The current sources do not mark it as known exploited. Treat this as a source-backed prioritization signal, not a statement about your environment.

Analysis status

Analysis pending evidence review

Factual feed record only; HOL analysis is not approved for indexing. Read the methodology.

Affected scope and exposure questions

The current feed maps Linux/Linux (generic), Linux/Linux (generic), Linux/Linux (generic). Check affected ranges and fixed versions before updating.

Mapped affected packages and fixed versions
PackageAffected rangeFixed version
Linux/Linuxgeneric5.3Not reported
Linux/Linuxgeneric>=720f22fed81bc6fd1765db7014651b6718887bea <efa58aeb6a99028b1fbc3ab2f31ba3a881211ad4 || >=720f22fed81bc6fd1765db7014651b6718887bea <725efc2ab4a40affc4e285a2dc4896d103948a6c || >=720f22fed81bc6fd1765db7014651b6718887bea <6bcb8839aa2d686964a4154650afc4db91e1c514 || >=720f22fed81bc6fd1765db7014651b6718887bea <5344e01179baa37547ab29fd7b8614f83faa190c || >=720f22fed81bc6fd1765db7014651b6718887bea <92f00f1d4d204a428b38e26fce3baee144b6955d || >=720f22fed81bc6fd1765db7014651b6718887bea <2e8df8c9190335475a3b64a159d3efd8cdd1cb73 || >=720f22fed81bc6fd1765db7014651b6718887bea <883b56ae58fe657d8497806c7059646e9ba6dbd0efa58aeb6a99028b1fbc3ab2f31ba3a881211ad4, 725efc2ab4a40affc4e285a2dc4896d103948a6c, 6bcb8839aa2d686964a4154650afc4db91e1c514, 5344e01179baa37547ab29fd7b8614f83faa190c, 92f00f1d4d204a428b38e26fce3baee144b6955d, 2e8df8c9190335475a3b64a159d3efd8cdd1cb73, 883b56ae58fe657d8497806c7059646e9ba6dbd0
Linux/Linuxgeneric>=720f22fed81bc6fd1765db7014651b6718887bea <5f038affdacaffedf6a85a06cf59ec0a852d36a7 || >=720f22fed81bc6fd1765db7014651b6718887bea <efa58aeb6a99028b1fbc3ab2f31ba3a881211ad4 || >=720f22fed81bc6fd1765db7014651b6718887bea <725efc2ab4a40affc4e285a2dc4896d103948a6c || >=720f22fed81bc6fd1765db7014651b6718887bea <6bcb8839aa2d686964a4154650afc4db91e1c514 || >=720f22fed81bc6fd1765db7014651b6718887bea <5344e01179baa37547ab29fd7b8614f83faa190c || >=720f22fed81bc6fd1765db7014651b6718887bea <92f00f1d4d204a428b38e26fce3baee144b6955d || >=720f22fed81bc6fd1765db7014651b6718887bea <2e8df8c9190335475a3b64a159d3efd8cdd1cb73 || >=720f22fed81bc6fd1765db7014651b6718887bea <883b56ae58fe657d8497806c7059646e9ba6dbd05f038affdacaffedf6a85a06cf59ec0a852d36a7, efa58aeb6a99028b1fbc3ab2f31ba3a881211ad4, 725efc2ab4a40affc4e285a2dc4896d103948a6c, 6bcb8839aa2d686964a4154650afc4db91e1c514, 5344e01179baa37547ab29fd7b8614f83faa190c, 92f00f1d4d204a428b38e26fce3baee144b6955d, 2e8df8c9190335475a3b64a159d3efd8cdd1cb73, 883b56ae58fe657d8497806c7059646e9ba6dbd0

Recommended response

  1. 1Check inventory. Check lockfiles and deployed manifests for Linux/Linux, Linux/Linux, Linux/Linux.
  2. 2Review the reported fix. Update Linux/Linux to efa58aeb6a99028b1fbc3ab2f31ba3a881211ad4; Linux/Linux to 5f038affdacaffedf6a85a06cf59ec0a852d36a7 if you use the affected versions. Test the change in a non-production environment first.

Evidence timeline and material changes

  1. Published upstream

    Aug 22, 2026

    Evidence: source:cvelist:source_dates:source-dates:record
  2. Source modified

    Aug 23, 2026

    Evidence: source:cvelist:source_dates:source-dates:record
  3. First seen by HOL

    Aug 22, 2026

Sources and claim methodology

  • Source referencegit.kernel.org
  • Source referencegit.kernel.org
  • Source referencegit.kernel.org
  • Source referencegit.kernel.org
  • Source referencegit.kernel.org
  • Source referencegit.kernel.org
  • Source referencegit.kernel.org
  • Source referencegit.kernel.org
Upstream source description

In the Linux kernel, the following vulnerability has been resolved: net/sched: act_gact, act_police: range check the fallback control action tcf_action_check_ctrlact() range checks the primary control action: if (!opcode) ret = action > TC_ACT_VALUE_MAX ? -EINVAL : 0; TC_ACT_VALUE_MAX is TC_ACT_TRAP, so kernel-internal verdicts above it cannot be set that way. But act_gact and act_police each carry a second, independent control action supplied by user space that never reaches that helper - TCA_GACT_PROB.paction and TCA_POLICE_RESULT. Both only reject TC_ACT_GOTO_CHAIN, so any other value is stored verbatim and returned verbatim from the action. In particular user space can store TC_ACT_CONSUMED, which is TC_ACT_VALUE_MAX + 1 and is deliberately not part of the UAPI value range. That verdict tells every caller the action took ownership of the skb, so nobody frees it: sch_handle_ingress(), sch_handle_egress() and tcf_qevent_handle() all deliberately skip the free for it. The result is one leaked sk_buff plus its data buffer per packet traversing the filter, unbounded, for all traffic on the chain including kernel-generated packets. Both are trivially deterministic. act_gact clamps tcfg_pval to >= 1, so with pval = 1 gact_determ() returns the fallback for every packet. act_police has no mandatory rate, so rate = 0 leaves tcfp_mtu = ~0 and tcf_police_mtu_check() always passes. TC_ACT_CONSUMED was added by commit 720f22fed81b ("net: sched: refactor reinsert action"), after both goto-chain guards were written: commit 9469f375ab09 ("net/sched: act_gact: disallow 'goto chain' on fallback control action") and commit c08f5ed5d625 ("net/sched: act_police: disallow 'goto chain' on fallback control action"). Neither guard was widened when the new verdict appeared. Factor the existing range test out of tcf_action_check_ctrlact() as tcf_action_valid() and apply it to both fallbacks. The helper cannot call tcf_action_check_ctrlact() directly because that also allocates a goto_chain, which is exactly what these two sites must not do. Reproduced on v7.2-rc6: kmemleak reports one leaked 232-byte skbuff_head_cache object plus its 704-byte data buffer per packet. With this patch both configurations are rejected with -EINVAL and kmemleak reports none.

Quoted source text, attributed separately from HOL analysis.

Related CVEs

  • Vault Vulnerable to Arbitrary Code Execution via Plugin Catalog Entries Restored From Raft SnapshotsSame generic ecosystem
  • Vault PKI ACME Issues Certificate With Unvalidated SANsSame generic ecosystem
  • Vault ACL Policy Cache Vulnerable to Cross-Namespace Policy ResolutionSame generic ecosystem
  • Cyrus-sasl: heap buffer overflow in cyrus-sasl add_to_challenge() allows malicious server to crash or compromise digest-md5 clientsSame generic ecosystem
  • Cluster-samples-operator: role reads all secrets in openshift-config, not just pull-secretSame generic ecosystem
  • AsyncHttpClient: Unbounded WebSocket permessage-deflate decompression enables a decompression-bomb denial of service when compression is enabledSame generic ecosystem

Record context

Vulnerability class
Vulnerability
EPSS
Not reported
CWE IDs
Not reported
Source
CVE List V5
Source checked
Oct 7, 2026
References
8 linked sources
Open source record