HOL LogoGuard

Explore HOL

  • HOL home
  • AI agent registry
  • AI plugins
  • Open standards
  • HOL members

Guard product

  • Guard overviewLocal security and control for AI agents and the tools they use.
  • FeaturesRuntime protection, policy routing, review, and evidence.

Explore Guard

  • Product previewWalk through Guard surfaces in read-only demo mode.
  • ComparisonCompare Guard with native controls and AI security vendors.

AI tools

  • All AI toolsEvery supported AI tool and how Guard applies policy to it.
  • Codex
  • Claude Code
  • Cursor
  • Antigravity CLI
  • OpenCode
  • Hermes
  • OpenClaw
  • GitHub Copilot CLI
  • Antigravity
  • Kimi
  • Grok
  • Pi / Oh My Pi
  • Zcode

Extensions

  • All extensionsBrowse command and MCP coverage with owners and stated limits.
  • Command coverageShell command protection across clouds, databases, backups, and packages.
  • MCP server coverageSee how Guard maps risk state across MCP tools and servers.
  • Core safetyThe safety floor listings that ship with Guard.
  • Data and resilienceBackup and storage command protection.
  • Cloud and infrastructureAWS, Azure, GCP, Kubernetes, and more.

Security

  • AI security hubSecurity research, advisories, and agent safety coverage.
  • AI tool securitySecurity profiles for each supported coding agent.
  • Safe labsHands-on attack simulations with safe boundaries.
  • Redacted warningsReal blocked actions with sensitive details removed.
  • AdvisoriesCoordinated disclosure reports for AI tooling.
  • Active CVEsSearch active CVEs affecting AI tooling.

Learn

  • Security guidesPractical guides for securing AI agent workflows.
  • DocsInstall, configure, and operate Guard with confidence.
  • ResearchPublished security research, benchmarks, and methodology.

Community

  • ReleasesVersion history, shipped changes and upgrade notes.
  • ContributorsThe people and contributions behind HOL Guard.
  • AffiliatesShare Guard with your audience and earn from referrals.
  • SponsorKeep agent security open: sponsor a project, place a banner, or fund a security initiative.
PricingEnterpriseOpen AppInstall Guard
  1. Guard
  2. Security
  3. CVEs
  4. CVE 2026 74640 alsa fcp fix oob write in fcpmeterctlget
HOL Guard

Public security guidance for teams protecting AI harnesses, MCP servers, skills, prompts, and local tool execution.

Install Guard

AI Security

  • Prompt injection
  • MCP security
  • OWASP MCP mapping
  • Supply chain

Resources

  • Trust packet
  • Harness setup
  • Redacted warnings
  • Safe labs

Product

  • Install Guard
  • Pricing
  • Open dashboard
Guard
  • Guard Overview
  • Releases
  • Contributors
  • Install Guard
  • Pricing
Docs
  • Documentation Index
  • Developer Hub
  • API Reference
  • Root OpenAPI
  • Registry OpenAPI
  • Run in Postman
  • Standards
  • Submit ERC-8004 Contract
  • Feature Your Agent
Best Plugins
  • Browse Plugins
  • Plugin Launches
  • Best Claude Plugins
  • Best Codex Plugins
  • Best Grok Plugins
  • Best Kimi Plugins
  • Best DeepSeek Plugins
  • Best Antigravity Plugins
  • Best MCP Servers
  • Best Cursor Plugins
  • Best OpenCode Plugins
Best Agents
  • Best ERC-8004 Agents
  • Best Virtuals Agents
  • Best MCP Servers
  • Best A2A Agents
  • Best x402 Payable
  • All Categories
Community
  • Telegram
  • X
More
  • About HOL
  • Contact
  • Blog
  • GitHub
  • Privacy
  • Terms of Service
Settings

Copyright ยฉ 2026 HOL DAO LLC. All rights reserved.

Back to active CVEs
High ยท CVSS 7.8CVE-2026-74640

ALSA: FCP: fix OOB write in fcp_meter_ctl_get()CVE-2026-74640

Answer in brief

CVE-2026-74640 records a High severity (CVSS 7.8) vulnerability in ALSA: FCP: fix OOB write in fcp_meter_ctl_get(). The current sources do not mark it as known exploited. The current feed maps Linux/Linux (generic), Linux/Linux (generic). Check affected ranges and fixed versions before updating.

Analysis pending evidence review

HOL Guard separates source facts from reviewed analysis. See the methodology.

Published Aug 22, 2026Updated Aug 25, 2026Source checked Oct 6, 2026First seen by HOL Aug 22, 2026Material review Aug 25, 2026
Upstream Advisory

Key facts

Risk
High ยท CVSS 7.8
Exploitation
Not marked as known exploited
Affected software
2 mapped packages or products
Fix availability
Available

Why this deserves its current priority

CVSS is 7.8. The current sources do not mark it as known exploited. Treat this as a source-backed prioritization signal, not a statement about your environment.

Analysis status

Analysis pending evidence review

Factual feed record only; HOL analysis is not approved for indexing. Read the methodology.

Affected scope and exposure questions

The current feed maps Linux/Linux (generic), Linux/Linux (generic). Check affected ranges and fixed versions before updating.

Mapped affected packages and fixed versions
PackageAffected rangeFixed version
Linux/Linuxgeneric>=46757a3e7d50dac923888e7fbe68377736f13c70 <bb30e35c36ed00f24fa39aded811f64230a913b0 || >=46757a3e7d50dac923888e7fbe68377736f13c70 <bb61dc2ae59026f76db26e1909746908bc5b6f31 || >=46757a3e7d50dac923888e7fbe68377736f13c70 <620f1e52a46f604635efd0fb78138afd6a513b5dbb30e35c36ed00f24fa39aded811f64230a913b0, bb61dc2ae59026f76db26e1909746908bc5b6f31, 620f1e52a46f604635efd0fb78138afd6a513b5d
Linux/Linuxgeneric6.14Not reported

Recommended response

  1. 1Check inventory. Check lockfiles and deployed manifests for Linux/Linux, Linux/Linux.
  2. 2Review the reported fix. Update Linux/Linux to bb30e35c36ed00f24fa39aded811f64230a913b0 if you use the affected versions. Test the change in a non-production environment first.

Evidence timeline and material changes

  1. Published upstream

    Aug 22, 2026

    Evidence: source:cvelist:source_dates:source-dates:record
  2. Source modified

    Aug 25, 2026

    Evidence: source:cvelist:source_dates:source-dates:record
  3. First seen by HOL

    Aug 22, 2026

Sources and claim methodology

  • Source referencegit.kernel.org
  • Source referencegit.kernel.org
  • Source referencegit.kernel.org
Upstream source description

In the Linux kernel, the following vulnerability has been resolved: ALSA: FCP: fix OOB write in fcp_meter_ctl_get() fcp_ioctl_set_meter_map() bounds the user-supplied Level Meter map size by the driver's own limit of 255 if (map.map_size < 1 || map.map_size > 255 || map.meter_slots < 1 || map.meter_slots > 255) return -EINVAL; and passes it to fcp_add_new_ctl() as the control's channel count, where it is stored as elem->channels. Every control read writes into struct snd_ctl_elem_value, whose integer array is declared long value[128], so the limit is 128, not 255. fcp_meter_ctl_get() stores one 64-bit word per channel into that array with no bound of its own: for (i = 0; i < elem->channels; i++) { int idx = private->meter_level_map[i]; int value = idx < 0 ? 0 : le32_to_cpu(resp[idx]); ucontrol->value.integer.value[i] = value; } snd_ctl_elem_read_user() serves that object from memdup_user(_control, sizeof(*control)), 1224 bytes on LP64 out of kmalloc-2048. offsetof(struct snd_ctl_elem_value, value) is 72, so element i is written at byte 72 + 8 * i and element 144 already lands past the allocation. At map_size 255 the last store ends at byte 2112, 888 bytes past the object and 64 bytes into the adjacent slab object. The stored words come from the device and meter_level_map[] selects which word lands in which slot, so extent and contents are both controlled. The core does not catch this. snd_ctl_check_elem_info() is reached only from __snd_ctl_elem_info(), which snd_ctl_elem_read() calls under CONFIG_SND_CTL_DEBUG; without that option snd_ctl_skip_validation() is a compile-time true. __snd_ctl_add_replace() validates kcontrol->count and never inspects elem->channels. Installing an oversized map needs CAP_SYS_RAWIO, but the control outlives the hwdep descriptor that created it, so the out-of-bounds stores are issued by any process able to read controls on /dev/snd/controlC0. KASAN on 7.2.0-rc5 (arm64), triggered by an unprivileged control read: BUG: KASAN: slab-out-of-bounds in fcp_meter_ctl_get Write of size 8 at addr ffff000017af04c8 by task fcp_trigger/185 __asan_store8 fcp_meter_ctl_get snd_ctl_elem_read snd_ctl_ioctl Allocated by task 185: memdup_user snd_ctl_ioctl The buggy address is located 0 bytes to the right of allocated 1224-byte region [ffff000017af0000, ffff000017af04c8) Bound the map size by the ABI limit rather than by 255, and bound the store loop at the sink so it cannot run past the value array whatever elem->channels holds. Discovered by XBOW, triaged by Baul Lee <[email protected]>

Quoted source text, attributed separately from HOL analysis.

Related CVEs

  • SPIP Crayons Plugin < 3.5.0 Authorization Bypass RCESame generic ecosystem
  • Payload: Order confirmation validation issue in Payload EcommerceSame generic ecosystem
  • Payload: Field access control bypass on auth collectionsSame generic ecosystem
  • Payload relationship-query authorization bypassSame generic ecosystem
  • Payload: Token refresh and password reset responses may expose restricted user fieldsSame generic ecosystem
  • Payload: ReDoS in Multipart Content-Type ValidationSame generic ecosystem

Record context

Vulnerability class
Vulnerability
EPSS
Not reported
CWE IDs
Not reported
Source
CVE List V5
Source checked
Oct 6, 2026
References
3 linked sources
Open source record