Answer in brief
CVE-2026-77073 records a Medium severity (CVSS 5.3) vulnerability in n8n before 2.34.1 Cross-Project Credential Access via MCP. The current sources do not mark it as known exploited. The current feed maps n8n-io/n8n (generic), n8n-io/n8n (generic), n8n-io/n8n (generic), n8n-io/n8n (generic). Check affected ranges and fixed versions before updating.
Analysis pending evidence review
HOL Guard separates source facts from reviewed analysis. See the methodology.
CVSS is 5.3. The current sources do not mark it as known exploited. Treat this as a source-backed prioritization signal, not a statement about your environment.
Analysis status
Analysis pending evidence review
Factual feed record only; HOL analysis is not approved for indexing. Read the methodology.
The current feed maps n8n-io/n8n (generic), n8n-io/n8n (generic), n8n-io/n8n (generic), n8n-io/n8n (generic). Check affected ranges and fixed versions before updating.
| Product | Affected versions | Fixed versions |
|---|---|---|
| cpe:2.3:a:n8n:n8n:2.34.0:*:*:*:*:node.js:*:* | Not reported | Not reported |
| cpe:2.3:a:n8n:n8n:*:*:*:*:*:node.js:*:* | Not reported | Not reported |
| Package | Affected range | Fixed version |
|---|---|---|
| n8n-io/n8ngeneric | >=0 <2.34.1 | 2.34.1 |
| n8n-io/n8ngeneric | >=0 <2.33.4 | 2.33.4 |
| n8n-io/n8ngeneric | >=2.34.0 <2.34.1 | 2.34.1 |
| n8n-io/n8ngeneric | >=2.0.0 <2.33.4 | 2.33.4 |
Published upstream
Aug 20, 2026
Evidence: source:cvelist:source_dates:source-dates:recordSource modified
Sep 1, 2026
Evidence: source:cvelist:source_dates:source-dates:recordFirst seen by HOL
Aug 20, 2026
n8n versions before 2.34.1 contain a credential validation bypass in the MCP create_workflow_from_code tool when authentication type is set to an expression. Attackers with a valid MCP Bearer API key and knowledge of a target credential ID can persist unauthorized cross-project credential references on workflows in different projects.
Quoted source text, attributed separately from HOL analysis.