Answer in brief
CVE-2026-78231 records a Unknown severity vulnerability in Gitea blind SSRF through OpenID assertion verification. The current sources do not mark it as known exploited. The current feed maps Gitea/Gitea (generic). Check affected ranges and fixed versions before updating.
Analysis pending evidence review
HOL Guard separates source facts from reviewed analysis. See the methodology.
A CVSS score is not reported in the current record. The current sources do not mark it as known exploited. Treat this as a source-backed prioritization signal, not a statement about your environment.
Analysis status
Analysis pending evidence review
Factual feed record only; HOL analysis is not approved for indexing. Read the methodology.
The current feed maps Gitea/Gitea (generic). Check affected ranges and fixed versions before updating.
| Package | Affected range | Fixed version |
|---|---|---|
| Gitea/Giteageneric | >=0 <=1.26.4 | Not reported |
Published upstream
Oct 14, 2026
Evidence: source:cvelist:source_dates:source-dates:recordSource modified
Oct 14, 2026
Evidence: source:cvelist:source_dates:source-dates:recordFirst seen by HOL
Oct 14, 2026
When OpenID sign-in is enabled, Gitea processes unauthenticated assertion parameters and sends an HTTP POST request to the caller-supplied OpenID provider endpoint during verification. An attacker controls the destination and much of the form body, allowing interaction with internal HTTP services reachable from the Gitea server. The response is not returned to the attacker, so the issue is blind SSRF; its impact depends on the services and network addresses the server can reach.
Quoted source text, attributed separately from HOL analysis.