Answer in brief
CVE-2026-79960 records a Unknown severity vulnerability in Gitea deploy key pushes acting as the repository owner. The current sources do not mark it as known exploited. The current feed maps Gitea/Gitea (generic). Check affected ranges and fixed versions before updating.
Analysis pending evidence review
HOL Guard separates source facts from reviewed analysis. See the methodology.
A CVSS score is not reported in the current record. The current sources do not mark it as known exploited. Treat this as a source-backed prioritization signal, not a statement about your environment.
Analysis status
Analysis pending evidence review
Factual feed record only; HOL analysis is not approved for indexing. Read the methodology.
The current feed maps Gitea/Gitea (generic). Check affected ranges and fixed versions before updating.
| Package | Affected range | Fixed version |
|---|---|---|
| Gitea/Giteageneric | >=0 <=1.27.3 | Not reported |
Published upstream
Oct 6, 2026
Evidence: source:cvelist:source_dates:source-dates:recordSource modified
Oct 6, 2026
Evidence: source:cvelist:source_dates:source-dates:recordFirst seen by HOL
Oct 6, 2026
When a push was authenticated with a deploy key, Gitea recorded the repository owner as the pusher, so permission checks in the push hook pipeline evaluated the owner instead of the deploy key. A holder of a writable deploy key could create protected tags without being on the tag allow list and change repository visibility through push options, for example making a private repository public. Pull requests created through the AGit flow with a deploy key were also attributed to the owner.
Quoted source text, attributed separately from HOL analysis.