HOL LogoGuard

Explore HOL

  • HOL home
  • AI agent registry
  • AI plugins
  • Open standards
  • HOL members

Guard product

  • Guard overviewLocal security and control for AI agents and the tools they use.
  • FeaturesRuntime protection, policy routing, review, and evidence.

Explore Guard

  • Product previewWalk through Guard surfaces in read-only demo mode.
  • ComparisonCompare Guard with native controls and AI security vendors.

AI tools

  • All AI toolsEvery supported AI tool and how Guard applies policy to it.
  • Codex
  • Claude Code
  • Cursor
  • Antigravity CLI
  • OpenCode
  • Hermes
  • OpenClaw
  • GitHub Copilot CLI
  • Antigravity
  • Kimi
  • Grok
  • Pi / Oh My Pi
  • Zcode

Extensions

  • All extensionsBrowse command and MCP coverage with owners and stated limits.
  • Command coverageShell command protection across clouds, databases, backups, and packages.
  • MCP server coverageSee how Guard maps risk state across MCP tools and servers.
  • Core safetyThe safety floor listings that ship with Guard.
  • Data and resilienceBackup and storage command protection.
  • Cloud and infrastructureAWS, Azure, GCP, Kubernetes, and more.

Security

  • AI security hubSecurity research, advisories, and agent safety coverage.
  • AI tool securitySecurity profiles for each supported coding agent.
  • Safe labsHands-on attack simulations with safe boundaries.
  • Redacted warningsReal blocked actions with sensitive details removed.
  • AdvisoriesCoordinated disclosure reports for AI tooling.
  • Active CVEsSearch active CVEs affecting AI tooling.

Learn

  • Security guidesPractical guides for securing AI agent workflows.
  • DocsInstall, configure, and operate Guard with confidence.
  • ResearchPublished security research, benchmarks, and methodology.

Community

  • ReleasesVersion history, shipped changes and upgrade notes.
  • ContributorsThe people and contributions behind HOL Guard.
  • AffiliatesShare Guard with your audience and earn from referrals.
  • SponsorKeep agent security open: sponsor a project, place a banner, or fund a security initiative.
PricingEnterpriseOpen AppInstall Guard
  1. Guard
  2. Security
  3. CVEs
  4. CVE 2026 80701 drmvmwgfx enforce cursor size limits for mob
HOL Guard

Public security guidance for teams protecting AI harnesses, MCP servers, skills, prompts, and local tool execution.

Install Guard

AI Security

  • Prompt injection
  • MCP security
  • OWASP MCP mapping
  • Supply chain

Resources

  • Trust packet
  • Harness setup
  • Redacted warnings
  • Safe labs

Product

  • Install Guard
  • Pricing
  • Open dashboard
Guard
  • Guard Overview
  • Releases
  • Contributors
  • Install Guard
  • Pricing
Docs
  • Documentation Index
  • Developer Hub
  • API Reference
  • Root OpenAPI
  • Registry OpenAPI
  • Run in Postman
  • Standards
  • Submit ERC-8004 Contract
  • Feature Your Agent
Best Plugins
  • Browse Plugins
  • Plugin Launches
  • Best Claude Plugins
  • Best Codex Plugins
  • Best Grok Plugins
  • Best Kimi Plugins
  • Best DeepSeek Plugins
  • Best Antigravity Plugins
  • Best MCP Servers
  • Best Cursor Plugins
  • Best OpenCode Plugins
Best Agents
  • Best ERC-8004 Agents
  • Best Virtuals Agents
  • Best MCP Servers
  • Best A2A Agents
  • Best x402 Payable
  • All Categories
Community
  • Telegram
  • X
More
  • About HOL
  • Contact
  • Blog
  • GitHub
  • Privacy
  • Terms of Service
Settings

Copyright © 2026 HOL DAO LLC. All rights reserved.

Back to active CVEs
Unknown severity · Source severity not reportedCVE-2026-80701

drm/vmwgfx: enforce cursor size limits for MOB cursorsCVE-2026-80701

Answer in brief

CVE-2026-80701 records a Unknown severity vulnerability in drm/vmwgfx: enforce cursor size limits for MOB cursors. The current sources do not mark it as known exploited. The current feed maps Linux/Linux (generic), Linux/Linux (generic). Check affected ranges and fixed versions before updating.

Analysis pending evidence review

HOL Guard separates source facts from reviewed analysis. See the methodology.

Published Aug 28, 2026Updated Aug 28, 2026Source checked Oct 12, 2026First seen by HOL Aug 28, 2026Material review Aug 28, 2026
Upstream Advisory

Key facts

Risk
Unknown severitySource severity not reported
Exploitation
Not marked as known exploited
Affected software
2 mapped packages or products
Fix availability
Available

Why this deserves its current priority

A CVSS score is not reported in the current record. The current sources do not mark it as known exploited. Treat this as a source-backed prioritization signal, not a statement about your environment.

Analysis status

Analysis pending evidence review

Factual feed record only; HOL analysis is not approved for indexing. Read the methodology.

Affected scope and exposure questions

The current feed maps Linux/Linux (generic), Linux/Linux (generic). Check affected ranges and fixed versions before updating.

Mapped affected packages and fixed versions
PackageAffected rangeFixed version
Linux/Linuxgeneric>=965544150d1cadf0e8f5bb6c13c19697e46e1429 <1eb4f796695be39e0b5c4383350033ced9ade703 || >=965544150d1cadf0e8f5bb6c13c19697e46e1429 <9109b7935b9c058b75348610ef8437c52f9020e3 || >=965544150d1cadf0e8f5bb6c13c19697e46e1429 <d5ed8749168ad13c0dbaa8300f68d854b60769661eb4f796695be39e0b5c4383350033ced9ade703, 9109b7935b9c058b75348610ef8437c52f9020e3, d5ed8749168ad13c0dbaa8300f68d854b6076966
Linux/Linuxgeneric6.16Not reported

Recommended response

  1. 1Check inventory. Check lockfiles and deployed manifests for Linux/Linux, Linux/Linux.
  2. 2Review the reported fix. Update Linux/Linux to 1eb4f796695be39e0b5c4383350033ced9ade703 if you use the affected versions. Test the change in a non-production environment first.

Evidence timeline and material changes

  1. Published upstream

    Aug 28, 2026

    Evidence: source:cvelist:source_dates:source-dates:record
  2. Source modified

    Aug 28, 2026

    Evidence: source:cvelist:source_dates:source-dates:record
  3. First seen by HOL

    Aug 28, 2026

Sources and claim methodology

  • Source referencegit.kernel.org
  • Source referencegit.kernel.org
  • Source referencegit.kernel.org
Upstream source description

In the Linux kernel, the following vulnerability has been resolved: drm/vmwgfx: enforce cursor size limits for MOB cursors vmw_cursor_plane_atomic_check() bounds cursor width and height only on the legacy update path; the SVGA_CAP2_CURSOR_MOB path -- the default on modern hosts -- accepts any size. When the requested size exceeds SVGA_REG_CURSOR_MAX_DIMENSION or SVGA_REG_MOB_MAX_SIZE, vmw_cursor_mob_get() returns -EINVAL and leaves vps->cursor.mob NULL. Its return value is then discarded in vmw_cursor_plane_prepare_fb(), so the subsequent vmw_cursor_update_mob() calls vmw_bo_map_and_cache(NULL) and oopses inside vmw_bo_map_and_cache_size() on the tbo.base.size load. Reachable from any DRM master via DRM_IOCTL_MODE_CURSOR2 with a sufficiently large width or height (e.g. cursor_max_dim + 1). Reject oversized cursors in atomic_check for both MOB-backed cursor update types. The MOB byte-size limit only applies to the SVGA_CAP2_CURSOR_MOB path (vmw_cursor_mob_size() returns 0 for GB_ONLY); compute the required MOB size in 64-bit to avoid overflow when very large dimensions are requested. In prepare_fb only call vmw_cursor_mob_get()/_map() for VMW_CURSOR_UPDATE_MOB -- the GB_ONLY path uses bo->map.virtual directly and would otherwise be silently downgraded to NONE on hosts without SVGA_CAP2_CURSOR_MOB (where vmw_cursor_mob_get() always returns -EINVAL). Degrade the update to NONE if vmw_cursor_mob_get() or vmw_cursor_mob_map() fails so the update path does not run with a NULL backing MOB.

Quoted source text, attributed separately from HOL analysis.

Related CVEs

  • WordPress Salevo plugin <= 1.3.0 - Broken Access Control vulnerabilitySame generic ecosystem
  • hex_core decompresses registry and Erlang term API responses without size limitsSame generic ecosystem
  • WordPress Booktics plugin <= 1.0.28 - Broken Access Control vulnerabilitySame generic ecosystem
  • WordPress Quiz And Survey Master plugin <= 11.2.7 - Cross Site Scripting (XSS) vulnerabilitySame generic ecosystem
  • WordPress Broadcast Live Video plugin <= 7.3.6 - Broken Access Control vulnerabilitySame generic ecosystem
  • WordPress Paid Videochat Turnkey Site plugin <= 7.5.13 - Broken Access Control vulnerabilitySame generic ecosystem

Record context

Vulnerability class
Vulnerability
EPSS
Not reported
CWE IDs
Not reported
Source
CVE List V5
Source checked
Oct 12, 2026
References
3 linked sources
Open source record