Answer in brief
CVE-2026-80796 records a Unknown severity vulnerability in nfc: nci: add data_len bound checks to activation parameter extractors. The current sources do not mark it as known exploited. The current feed maps Linux/Linux (generic), Linux/Linux (generic). Check affected ranges and fixed versions before updating.
Analysis pending evidence review
HOL Guard separates source facts from reviewed analysis. See the methodology.
A CVSS score is not reported in the current record. The current sources do not mark it as known exploited. Treat this as a source-backed prioritization signal, not a statement about your environment.
Analysis status
Analysis pending evidence review
Factual feed record only; HOL analysis is not approved for indexing. Read the methodology.
The current feed maps Linux/Linux (generic), Linux/Linux (generic). Check affected ranges and fixed versions before updating.
| Package | Affected range | Fixed version |
|---|---|---|
| Linux/Linuxgeneric | >=e8c0dacd9836dc2dcb28d236c9cc3cfaa9965a20 <1168484fe2b3828bf24a46f3c42a8719fade679b || >=e8c0dacd9836dc2dcb28d236c9cc3cfaa9965a20 <be311c0cfeadfbe815ea22d2914a98d06e3fab0e || >=e8c0dacd9836dc2dcb28d236c9cc3cfaa9965a20 <04e51353cb9fa321caaeeed8331d4cd041fbaca7 || >=e8c0dacd9836dc2dcb28d236c9cc3cfaa9965a20 <e25b44bd8b8cc666b49a3fe0ef547e64d5b1e300 || >=e8c0dacd9836dc2dcb28d236c9cc3cfaa9965a20 <9b01f5af0dc59263b59391b148bc78d83c0354a9 || >=e8c0dacd9836dc2dcb28d236c9cc3cfaa9965a20 <9620a91f8d643b680f417a435db399a04d1e06d8 || >=e8c0dacd9836dc2dcb28d236c9cc3cfaa9965a20 <cf9d44be50b9074a5abdc301b4a3ba3e283591df || >=e8c0dacd9836dc2dcb28d236c9cc3cfaa9965a20 <f5c534b53f8c424a8e7633c9b585475c4bf4ee18 || >=e8c0dacd9836dc2dcb28d236c9cc3cfaa9965a20 <0428fa2c22e2ba0cff766d3b80d461e149102045 | 1168484fe2b3828bf24a46f3c42a8719fade679b, be311c0cfeadfbe815ea22d2914a98d06e3fab0e, 04e51353cb9fa321caaeeed8331d4cd041fbaca7, e25b44bd8b8cc666b49a3fe0ef547e64d5b1e300, 9b01f5af0dc59263b59391b148bc78d83c0354a9, 9620a91f8d643b680f417a435db399a04d1e06d8, cf9d44be50b9074a5abdc301b4a3ba3e283591df, f5c534b53f8c424a8e7633c9b585475c4bf4ee18, 0428fa2c22e2ba0cff766d3b80d461e149102045 |
| Linux/Linuxgeneric | 3.3 | Not reported |
Published upstream
Sep 4, 2026
Evidence: source:cvelist:source_dates:source-dates:recordSource modified
Sep 4, 2026
Evidence: source:cvelist:source_dates:source-dates:recordFirst seen by HOL
Sep 4, 2026
In the Linux kernel, the following vulnerability has been resolved: nfc: nci: add data_len bound checks to activation parameter extractors nci_extract_activation_params_iso_dep() and nci_extract_activation_params_nfc_dep() read an inner length byte from the NCI RF_INTF_ACTIVATED_NTF payload and use it to memcpy() into fixed kernel buffers, but neither function receives the caller-validated activation_params_len. A crafted NCI notification with activation_params_len=1 and an inner length byte of up to 20 (NFC-A) or 50 (NFC-B) causes memcpy() to read that many bytes past the one valid byte in the activation params region -- a slab out-of-bounds read of kernel memory adjacent to the NCI skb. The sibling nci_extract_rf_params_*() family was given equivalent protection by commit 571dcbeb8e63 ("net: nfc: nci: Fix parameter validation for packet data"), but the two activation parameter extractors were not updated at that time. Add a data_len parameter to both functions, guard against an empty region before consuming the inner length byte, decrement the remaining count after consuming it, and clamp the copy length to what is actually available. Update both call sites to pass ntf.activation_params_len, which is already validated against the skb at ntf.c:801.
Quoted source text, attributed separately from HOL analysis.