HOL LogoGuard

Explore HOL

  • HOL home
  • AI agent registry
  • AI plugins
  • Open standards
  • HOL members
  • Sponsor HOL
  • Advertise with HOL

Guard product

  • Guard overviewLocal security and control for AI agents and the tools they use.
  • FeaturesRuntime protection, policy routing, review, and evidence.

Explore Guard

  • Product previewWalk through Guard surfaces in read-only demo mode.
  • ComparisonCompare Guard with native controls and AI security vendors.

AI tools

  • All AI toolsEvery supported AI tool and how Guard applies policy to it.
  • Codex
  • Claude Code
  • Cursor
  • Antigravity CLI
  • OpenCode
  • Hermes
  • OpenClaw
  • GitHub Copilot CLI
  • Antigravity
  • Kimi
  • Grok
  • Pi / Oh My Pi
  • Zcode

Extensions

  • All extensionsBrowse command and MCP coverage with owners and stated limits.
  • Command coverageShell command protection across clouds, databases, backups, and packages.
  • MCP server coverageSee how Guard maps risk state across MCP tools and servers.
  • Core safetyThe safety floor listings that ship with Guard.
  • Data and resilienceBackup and storage command protection.
  • Cloud and infrastructureAWS, Azure, GCP, Kubernetes, and more.

Security

  • AI security hubSecurity research, advisories, and agent safety coverage.
  • AI tool securitySecurity profiles for each supported coding agent.
  • Safe labsHands-on attack simulations with safe boundaries.
  • Redacted warningsReal blocked actions with sensitive details removed.
  • AdvisoriesCoordinated disclosure reports for AI tooling.
  • Active CVEsSearch active CVEs affecting AI tooling.

Learn

  • Security guidesPractical guides for securing AI agent workflows.
  • DocsInstall, configure, and operate Guard with confidence.
  • ResearchPublished security research, benchmarks, and methodology.

Community

  • ReleasesVersion history, shipped changes and upgrade notes.
  • ContributorsThe people and contributions behind HOL Guard.
  • AffiliatesShare Guard with your audience and earn from referrals.
  • SponsorFund agreed research, implementation and shared testing through the HOL Partner Program.
  • AdvertiseCompare README logo placements, previews and monthly prices, or promote a plugin or extension.
PricingEnterpriseOpen AppInstall Guard
  1. Guard
  2. Security
  3. CVEs
  4. CVE 2026 81011 platformx86 hp bioscfg pass validated element
HOL Guard

Public security guidance for teams protecting AI harnesses, MCP servers, skills, prompts, and local tool execution.

Install Guard

AI Security

  • Prompt injection
  • MCP security
  • OWASP MCP mapping
  • Supply chain

Resources

  • Trust packet
  • Harness setup
  • Redacted warnings
  • Safe labs

Product

  • Install Guard
  • Pricing
  • Open dashboard
Guard
  • Guard Overview
  • Releases
  • Contributors
  • Install Guard
  • Pricing
Docs
  • Documentation Index
  • Developer Hub
  • API Reference
  • Root OpenAPI
  • Registry OpenAPI
  • Run in Postman
  • Standards
  • Submit ERC-8004 Contract
  • Feature Your Agent
Best Plugins
  • Browse Plugins
  • Plugin Launches
  • Best Claude Plugins
  • Best Codex Plugins
  • Best Grok Plugins
  • Best Kimi Plugins
  • Best DeepSeek Plugins
  • Best Antigravity Plugins
  • Best MCP Servers
  • Best Cursor Plugins
  • Best OpenCode Plugins
Best Agents
  • Best ERC-8004 Agents
  • Best Virtuals Agents
  • Best MCP Servers
  • Best A2A Agents
  • Best x402 Payable
  • All Categories
Community
  • Telegram
  • X
More
  • About HOL
  • Sponsor
  • Advertise
  • Contact
  • Blog
  • GitHub
  • Privacy
  • Terms of Service
Settings

Copyright © 2026 HOL DAO LLC. All rights reserved.

Back to active CVEs
High · CVSS 7.1CVE-2026-81011

platform/x86: hp-bioscfg: pass validated element count to package parsersCVE-2026-81011

Answer in brief

CVE-2026-81011 records a High severity (CVSS 7.1) vulnerability in platform/x86: hp-bioscfg: pass validated element count to package parsers. The current sources do not mark it as known exploited. The current feed maps Linux/Linux (generic), Linux/Linux (generic), Linux/Linux (generic), Linux/Linux (generic). Check affected ranges and fixed versions before updating.

Analysis pending evidence review

HOL Guard separates source facts from reviewed analysis. See the methodology.

Published Sep 11, 2026Updated Oct 19, 2026Source checked Oct 27, 2026First seen by HOL Sep 11, 2026Material review Oct 19, 2026
Upstream Advisory

Key facts

Risk
High · CVSS 7.1
Exploitation
Not marked as known exploited
Affected software
4 mapped packages or products
Fix availability
Available

Why this deserves its current priority

CVSS is 7.1. The current sources do not mark it as known exploited. Treat this as a source-backed prioritization signal, not a statement about your environment.

Analysis status

Analysis pending evidence review

Factual feed record only; HOL analysis is not approved for indexing. Read the methodology.

Affected scope and exposure questions

The current feed maps Linux/Linux (generic), Linux/Linux (generic), Linux/Linux (generic), Linux/Linux (generic). Check affected ranges and fixed versions before updating.

Mapped affected packages and fixed versions
PackageAffected rangeFixed version
Linux/Linuxgeneric>=1da177e4c3f41524e886b7f1b8a0c1fc7321cac2 <436017808c7cbcdb5e49b2142090d4391e3de9a6 || >=1da177e4c3f41524e886b7f1b8a0c1fc7321cac2 <a38127df99ae8b1851560b35b837c9952416143a || >=1da177e4c3f41524e886b7f1b8a0c1fc7321cac2 <400cbc3ccc88a5ad37cd85056224635ce9eba018 || >=1da177e4c3f41524e886b7f1b8a0c1fc7321cac2 <e0ddfd77c0c320b7d12b6c9169303b140b798775 || >=0 <6.12.109 || >=0 <6.18.50 || >=0 <7.2.4436017808c7cbcdb5e49b2142090d4391e3de9a6, a38127df99ae8b1851560b35b837c9952416143a, 400cbc3ccc88a5ad37cd85056224635ce9eba018, e0ddfd77c0c320b7d12b6c9169303b140b798775, 6.12.109, 6.18.50, 7.2.4
Linux/Linuxgeneric>=a34fc329b1895fc8a6eb12099adc47009421ba6a <436017808c7cbcdb5e49b2142090d4391e3de9a6 || >=a34fc329b1895fc8a6eb12099adc47009421ba6a <a38127df99ae8b1851560b35b837c9952416143a || >=a34fc329b1895fc8a6eb12099adc47009421ba6a <400cbc3ccc88a5ad37cd85056224635ce9eba018 || >=a34fc329b1895fc8a6eb12099adc47009421ba6a <e0ddfd77c0c320b7d12b6c9169303b140b798775436017808c7cbcdb5e49b2142090d4391e3de9a6, a38127df99ae8b1851560b35b837c9952416143a, 400cbc3ccc88a5ad37cd85056224635ce9eba018, e0ddfd77c0c320b7d12b6c9169303b140b798775
Linux/Linuxgeneric6.6Not reported
Linux/Linuxgeneric>=a34fc329b1895fc8a6eb12099adc47009421ba6a <467e53f231f77a1677191b8cdabdaf1448439d55 || >=a34fc329b1895fc8a6eb12099adc47009421ba6a <436017808c7cbcdb5e49b2142090d4391e3de9a6 || >=a34fc329b1895fc8a6eb12099adc47009421ba6a <a38127df99ae8b1851560b35b837c9952416143a || >=a34fc329b1895fc8a6eb12099adc47009421ba6a <400cbc3ccc88a5ad37cd85056224635ce9eba018 || >=a34fc329b1895fc8a6eb12099adc47009421ba6a <e0ddfd77c0c320b7d12b6c9169303b140b798775467e53f231f77a1677191b8cdabdaf1448439d55, 436017808c7cbcdb5e49b2142090d4391e3de9a6, a38127df99ae8b1851560b35b837c9952416143a, 400cbc3ccc88a5ad37cd85056224635ce9eba018, e0ddfd77c0c320b7d12b6c9169303b140b798775

Recommended response

  1. 1Check inventory. Check lockfiles and deployed manifests for Linux/Linux, Linux/Linux, Linux/Linux.
  2. 2Review the reported fix. Update Linux/Linux to 436017808c7cbcdb5e49b2142090d4391e3de9a6; Linux/Linux to 436017808c7cbcdb5e49b2142090d4391e3de9a6; Linux/Linux to 467e53f231f77a1677191b8cdabdaf1448439d55 if you use the affected versions. Test the change in a non-production environment first.

Evidence timeline and material changes

  1. Published upstream

    Sep 11, 2026

    Evidence: source:cvelist:source_dates:source-dates:record
  2. Source modified

    Oct 19, 2026

    Evidence: source:cvelist:source_dates:source-dates:record
  3. First seen by HOL

    Sep 11, 2026

Sources and claim methodology

  • Source referencegit.kernel.org
  • Source referencegit.kernel.org
  • Source referencegit.kernel.org
  • Source referencegit.kernel.org
  • Source referencegit.kernel.org
Upstream source description

In the Linux kernel, the following vulnerability has been resolved: platform/x86: hp-bioscfg: pass validated element count to package parsers The per-type package parsers are handed the wrong element count. hp_init_bios_package_attribute() validates obj->package.count and then calls one of the five hp_populate_*_package_data() wrappers (string, integer, enumeration, ordered list, password). Each wrapper forwards a count to its hp_populate_*_elements_from_package() parser, but instead of forwarding the validated obj->package.count it derives the count from elements[0]. elements[0] is the NAME field and is always an ACPI_TYPE_STRING, so reading ->package.count from it in fact reads ->string.length through the union acpi_object. The parsers thus bound themselves against the length of the name string rather than against the real number of elements in the package. This is safe today because hp_init_bios_package_attribute() refuses any package that has fewer than the type's element count, so a parser only ever runs on a full package and never reads past it regardless of the bogus bound. An upcoming change relaxes that check to accept shorter packages. Once a parser can receive fewer elements than its per-type count, a bound taken from the name length no longer reflects the array size, and the "elem < count" loop conditions and "elem + n >= count" sub-loop guards read past the end of elements[] - an out-of-bounds heap read. Forward the validated obj->package.count to every *_package_data() wrapper so the parsers bound themselves against the real package size. This does not change behaviour for the packages that enumerate correctly today and is a prerequisite for accepting shorter packages safely.

Quoted source text, attributed separately from HOL analysis.

Record context

Vulnerability class
Vulnerability
EPSS
Not reported
CWE IDs
Not reported
Source
CVE List V5
Source checked
Oct 27, 2026
References
5 linked sources
Open source record