Answer in brief
CVE-2026-81688 records a High severity (CVSS 8.7) vulnerability in openssl_encrypt before 1.4.9 Plaintext Confirmation Oracle via SHA-256. The current sources do not mark it as known exploited. The current feed maps jahlives/openssl_encrypt (generic). Check affected ranges and fixed versions before updating.
Analysis pending evidence review
HOL Guard separates source facts from reviewed analysis. See the methodology.
CVSS is 8.7. The current sources do not mark it as known exploited. Treat this as a source-backed prioritization signal, not a statement about your environment.
Analysis status
Analysis pending evidence review
Factual feed record only; HOL analysis is not approved for indexing. Read the methodology.
The current feed maps jahlives/openssl_encrypt (generic). Check affected ranges and fixed versions before updating.
| Product | Affected versions | Fixed versions |
|---|---|---|
| cpe:2.3:a:jahlives:openssl_encrypt:*:*:*:*:*:python:*:* | Not reported | Not reported |
| Package | Affected range | Fixed version |
|---|---|---|
| jahlives/openssl_encryptgeneric | >=0 <1.4.9 | 1.4.9 |
Published upstream
Aug 27, 2026
Evidence: source:cvelist:source_dates:source-dates:recordSource modified
Oct 1, 2026
Evidence: source:cvelist:source_dates:source-dates:recordFirst seen by HOL
Aug 27, 2026
openssl_encrypt versions before 1.4.9 store an unkeyed SHA-256 hash of the plaintext in the cleartext file header metadata. Attackers can read this hash without the password to confirm guessed plaintexts offline or fingerprint identical plaintexts across separately-encrypted files.
Quoted source text, attributed separately from HOL analysis.