Answer in brief
CVE-2026-81714 records a Critical severity (CVSS 9.3) vulnerability in openssl_encrypt before 1.4.9 Plugin Signing Trust Anchor Enrollment Bypass. The current sources do not mark it as known exploited. The current feed maps jahlives/openssl_encrypt (generic). Check affected ranges and fixed versions before updating.
Analysis pending evidence review
HOL Guard separates source facts from reviewed analysis. See the methodology.
CVSS is 9.3. The current sources do not mark it as known exploited. Treat this as a source-backed prioritization signal, not a statement about your environment.
Analysis status
Analysis pending evidence review
Factual feed record only; HOL analysis is not approved for indexing. Read the methodology.
The current feed maps jahlives/openssl_encrypt (generic). Check affected ranges and fixed versions before updating.
| Product | Affected versions | Fixed versions |
|---|---|---|
| cpe:2.3:a:jahlives:openssl_encrypt:*:*:*:*:*:python:*:* | Not reported | Not reported |
| Package | Affected range | Fixed version |
|---|---|---|
| jahlives/openssl_encryptgeneric | >=0 <1.4.9 | 1.4.9 |
Published upstream
Aug 27, 2026
Evidence: source:cvelist:source_dates:source-dates:recordSource modified
Oct 1, 2026
Evidence: source:cvelist:source_dates:source-dates:recordFirst seen by HOL
Aug 27, 2026
openssl_encrypt (pip: openssl-encrypt) versions <= 1.4.8 use suffix-tolerant fingerprint matching in enroll_trust_key when binding a plugin-signing trust anchor. An operator who confirms a short (forgeable, ~32-bit) GPG key id could unknowingly enroll an attacker's colliding key as a trusted anchor, which then vouches for malicious plugins under the ENFORCE signature policy. Version 1.4.9 fixes this by requiring the confirmed value to exactly match the full primary-key fingerprint (case-insensitive, whitespace-stripped).
Quoted source text, attributed separately from HOL analysis.