HOL LogoGuard

Explore HOL

  • HOL home
  • AI agent registry
  • AI plugins
  • Open standards
  • HOL members
  • Sponsor HOL
  • Advertise with HOL

Guard product

  • Guard overviewLocal security and control for AI agents and the tools they use.
  • FeaturesRuntime protection, policy routing, review, and evidence.

Explore Guard

  • Product previewWalk through Guard surfaces in read-only demo mode.
  • ComparisonCompare Guard with native controls and AI security vendors.

AI tools

  • All AI toolsEvery supported AI tool and how Guard applies policy to it.
  • Codex
  • Claude Code
  • Cursor
  • Antigravity CLI
  • OpenCode
  • Hermes
  • OpenClaw
  • GitHub Copilot CLI
  • Antigravity
  • Kimi
  • Grok
  • Pi / Oh My Pi
  • Zcode

Extensions

  • All extensionsBrowse command and MCP coverage with owners and stated limits.
  • Command coverageShell command protection across clouds, databases, backups, and packages.
  • MCP server coverageSee how Guard maps risk state across MCP tools and servers.
  • Core safetyThe safety floor listings that ship with Guard.
  • Data and resilienceBackup and storage command protection.
  • Cloud and infrastructureAWS, Azure, GCP, Kubernetes, and more.

Security

  • AI security hubSecurity research, advisories, and agent safety coverage.
  • AI tool securitySecurity profiles for each supported coding agent.
  • Safe labsHands-on attack simulations with safe boundaries.
  • Redacted warningsReal blocked actions with sensitive details removed.
  • AdvisoriesCoordinated disclosure reports for AI tooling.
  • Active CVEsSearch active CVEs affecting AI tooling.

Learn

  • Security guidesPractical guides for securing AI agent workflows.
  • DocsInstall, configure, and operate Guard with confidence.
  • ResearchPublished security research, benchmarks, and methodology.

Community

  • ReleasesVersion history, shipped changes and upgrade notes.
  • ContributorsThe people and contributions behind HOL Guard.
  • AffiliatesShare Guard with your audience and earn from referrals.
  • SponsorFund agreed research, implementation and shared testing through the HOL Partner Program.
  • AdvertiseCompare README logo placements, previews and monthly prices, or promote a plugin or extension.
PricingEnterpriseOpen AppInstall Guard
  1. Guard
  2. Security
  3. CVEs
  4. CVE 2026 82561 apache nifi missing authorization for components
HOL Guard

Public security guidance for teams protecting AI harnesses, MCP servers, skills, prompts, and local tool execution.

Install Guard

AI Security

  • Prompt injection
  • MCP security
  • OWASP MCP mapping
  • Supply chain

Resources

  • Trust packet
  • Harness setup
  • Redacted warnings
  • Safe labs

Product

  • Install Guard
  • Pricing
  • Open dashboard
Guard
  • Guard Overview
  • Releases
  • Contributors
  • Install Guard
  • Pricing
Docs
  • Documentation Index
  • Developer Hub
  • API Reference
  • Root OpenAPI
  • Registry OpenAPI
  • Run in Postman
  • Standards
  • Submit ERC-8004 Contract
  • Feature Your Agent
Best Plugins
  • Browse Plugins
  • Plugin Launches
  • Best Claude Plugins
  • Best Codex Plugins
  • Best Grok Plugins
  • Best Kimi Plugins
  • Best DeepSeek Plugins
  • Best Antigravity Plugins
  • Best MCP Servers
  • Best Cursor Plugins
  • Best OpenCode Plugins
Best Agents
  • Best ERC-8004 Agents
  • Best Virtuals Agents
  • Best MCP Servers
  • Best A2A Agents
  • Best x402 Payable
  • All Categories
Community
  • Telegram
  • X
More
  • About HOL
  • Sponsor
  • Advertise
  • Contact
  • Blog
  • GitHub
  • Privacy
  • Terms of Service
Settings

Copyright © 2026 HOL DAO LLC. All rights reserved.

Back to active CVEs
Medium · CVSS 5.9CVE-2026-82561

Apache NiFi: Missing Authorization for Components Referenced in Flow Update MethodsCVE-2026-82561

Answer in brief

CVE-2026-82561 records a Medium severity (CVSS 5.9) vulnerability in Apache NiFi: Missing Authorization for Components Referenced in Flow Update Methods. The current sources do not mark it as known exploited. The current feed maps Apache Software Foundation/Apache NiFi (generic), Apache Software Foundation/org.apache.nifi:nifi-web-api (generic). Check affected ranges and fixed versions before updating.

Analysis pending evidence review

HOL Guard separates source facts from reviewed analysis. See the methodology.

Published Sep 16, 2026Updated Sep 21, 2026Source checked Oct 31, 2026First seen by HOL Sep 16, 2026Material review Sep 21, 2026
Upstream Advisory

Key facts

Risk
Medium · CVSS 5.9
Exploitation
Not marked as known exploited
Affected software
3 mapped packages or products
Fix availability
Not reported

Why this deserves its current priority

CVSS is 5.9. The current sources do not mark it as known exploited. Treat this as a source-backed prioritization signal, not a statement about your environment.

Analysis status

Analysis pending evidence review

Factual feed record only; HOL analysis is not approved for indexing. Read the methodology.

Affected scope and exposure questions

The current feed maps Apache Software Foundation/Apache NiFi (generic), Apache Software Foundation/org.apache.nifi:nifi-web-api (generic). Check affected ranges and fixed versions before updating.

Affected products and reported versions
ProductAffected versionsFixed versions
cpe:2.3:a:apache:nifi:*:*:*:*:*:*:*:*Not reportedNot reported
Mapped affected packages and fixed versions
PackageAffected rangeFixed version
Apache Software Foundation/Apache NiFigeneric1.5.0Not reported
Apache Software Foundation/org.apache.nifi:nifi-web-apigeneric>=1.5.0 <=2.11.0Not reported

Recommended response

  1. 1Check inventory. Check lockfiles and deployed manifests for Apache Software Foundation/Apache NiFi, Apache Software Foundation/org.apache.nifi:nifi-web-api.
  2. 2Review the reported fix. Monitor this advisory for an available fix and review any installs of the affected package.

Evidence timeline and material changes

  1. Published upstream

    Sep 16, 2026

    Evidence: source:cvelist:source_dates:source-dates:record
  2. Source modified

    Sep 21, 2026

    Evidence: source:cvelist:source_dates:source-dates:record
  3. First seen by HOL

    Sep 16, 2026

Sources and claim methodology

  • Source referencelists.apache.org
  • Source referenceopenwall.com
Upstream source description

Apache NiFi 1.5.0 through 2.11.0 provide REST API methods that replace the entire contents of a Process Group using a client-supplied flow definition, covering Process Group flow replacement together with versioned flow update and rebase operations. Framework authorization for these methods was limited to read and write privileges on the Process Group itself, unlike the corresponding asynchronous update request methods, which also authorize the components encapsulated in the Process Group along with referenced Controller Services, Parameter Contexts, and Parameter Providers. As a result of the missing authorization, an authenticated user with write access to a Process Group could supply a flow definition that modifies or removes components in descendant Process Groups protected by more restrictive access policies, and could bind components to Controller Services and Parameter Contexts without authorization for those referenced components. Existing verification checks limited the impact to stopped components, and the issue applies only to deployments that use component-level authorization policies, because the framework enforces write permissions as the security boundary. Upgrading to Apache NiFi 2.12.0 is the recommended mitigation, which applies consistent reference resolution and component authorization across Process Group replacement and versioned flow update methods

Quoted source text, attributed separately from HOL analysis.

Record context

Vulnerability class
Missing Auth
EPSS
Not reported
CWE IDs
CWE-862
Source
CVE List V5
Source checked
Oct 31, 2026
References
2 linked sources
Open source record