HOL LogoGuard

Explore HOL

  • HOL home
  • AI agent registry
  • AI plugins
  • Open standards
  • HOL members
  • Sponsor HOL
  • Advertise with HOL

Guard product

  • Guard overviewLocal security and control for AI agents and the tools they use.
  • FeaturesRuntime protection, policy routing, review, and evidence.

Explore Guard

  • Product previewWalk through Guard surfaces in read-only demo mode.
  • ComparisonCompare Guard with native controls and AI security vendors.

AI tools

  • All AI toolsEvery supported AI tool and how Guard applies policy to it.
  • Codex
  • Claude Code
  • Cursor
  • Antigravity CLI
  • OpenCode
  • Hermes
  • OpenClaw
  • GitHub Copilot CLI
  • Antigravity
  • Kimi
  • Grok
  • Pi / Oh My Pi
  • Zcode

Extensions

  • All extensionsBrowse command and MCP coverage with owners and stated limits.
  • Command coverageShell command protection across clouds, databases, backups, and packages.
  • MCP server coverageSee how Guard maps risk state across MCP tools and servers.
  • Core safetyThe safety floor listings that ship with Guard.
  • Data and resilienceBackup and storage command protection.
  • Cloud and infrastructureAWS, Azure, GCP, Kubernetes, and more.

Security

  • AI security hubSecurity research, advisories, and agent safety coverage.
  • AI tool securitySecurity profiles for each supported coding agent.
  • Safe labsHands-on attack simulations with safe boundaries.
  • Redacted warningsReal blocked actions with sensitive details removed.
  • AdvisoriesCoordinated disclosure reports for AI tooling.
  • Active CVEsSearch active CVEs affecting AI tooling.

Learn

  • Security guidesPractical guides for securing AI agent workflows.
  • DocsInstall, configure, and operate Guard with confidence.
  • ResearchPublished security research, benchmarks, and methodology.

Community

  • ReleasesVersion history, shipped changes and upgrade notes.
  • ContributorsThe people and contributions behind HOL Guard.
  • AffiliatesShare Guard with your audience and earn from referrals.
  • SponsorFund agreed research, implementation and shared testing through the HOL Partner Program.
  • AdvertiseCompare README logo placements, previews and monthly prices, or promote a plugin or extension.
PricingEnterpriseOpen AppInstall Guard
  1. Guard
  2. Security
  3. CVEs
  4. CVE 2026 85706 improper limitation of a pathname to a restricted
HOL Guard

Public security guidance for teams protecting AI harnesses, MCP servers, skills, prompts, and local tool execution.

Install Guard

AI Security

  • Prompt injection
  • MCP security
  • OWASP MCP mapping
  • Supply chain

Resources

  • Trust packet
  • Harness setup
  • Redacted warnings
  • Safe labs

Product

  • Install Guard
  • Pricing
  • Open dashboard
Guard
  • Guard Overview
  • Releases
  • Contributors
  • Install Guard
  • Pricing
Docs
  • Documentation Index
  • Developer Hub
  • API Reference
  • Root OpenAPI
  • Registry OpenAPI
  • Run in Postman
  • Standards
  • Submit ERC-8004 Contract
  • Feature Your Agent
Best Plugins
  • Browse Plugins
  • Plugin Launches
  • Best Claude Plugins
  • Best Codex Plugins
  • Best Grok Plugins
  • Best Kimi Plugins
  • Best DeepSeek Plugins
  • Best Antigravity Plugins
  • Best MCP Servers
  • Best Cursor Plugins
  • Best OpenCode Plugins
Best Agents
  • Best ERC-8004 Agents
  • Best Virtuals Agents
  • Best MCP Servers
  • Best A2A Agents
  • Best x402 Payable
  • All Categories
Community
  • Telegram
  • X
More
  • About HOL
  • Sponsor
  • Advertise
  • Contact
  • Blog
  • GitHub
  • Privacy
  • Terms of Service
Settings

Copyright © 2026 HOL DAO LLC. All rights reserved.

Back to active CVEs
Critical · CVSS 10.0Known ExploitedCVE-2026-85706

Improper Limitation of a Pathname to a Restricted Directory ('Path Traversal') in GitLabCVE-2026-85706

Answer in brief

CVE-2026-85706 records a Critical severity (CVSS 10.0) vulnerability in Improper Limitation of a Pathname to a Restricted Directory ('Path Traversal') in GitLab. The current sources mark it as known exploited. The current feed maps GitLab/GitLab (generic), GitLab/GitLab (generic). Check affected ranges and fixed versions before updating.

Analysis pending evidence review

HOL Guard separates source facts from reviewed analysis. See the methodology.

Published Sep 12, 2026Updated Sep 24, 2026Source checked Oct 27, 2026First seen by HOL Sep 11, 2026Material review Sep 24, 2026
Upstream Advisory

Key facts

Risk
Critical · CVSS 10.0
Exploitation
Known exploited
Affected software
4 mapped packages or products
Fix availability
Available

Why this deserves its current priority

CVSS is 10.0. Known-exploitation status makes exposure review time-sensitive. Treat this as a source-backed prioritization signal, not a statement about your environment.

Analysis status

Analysis pending evidence review

Factual feed record only; HOL analysis is not approved for indexing. Read the methodology.

Affected scope and exposure questions

The current feed maps GitLab/GitLab (generic), GitLab/GitLab (generic). Check affected ranges and fixed versions before updating.

Affected products and reported versions
ProductAffected versionsFixed versions
cpe:2.3:a:gitlab:gitlab:*:*:*:*:community:*:*:*Not reportedNot reported
cpe:2.3:a:gitlab:gitlab:*:*:*:*:enterprise:*:*:*Not reportedNot reported
Mapped affected packages and fixed versions
PackageAffected rangeFixed version
GitLab/GitLabgeneric>=18.7 <19.1.8 || >=19.2 <19.2.6 || >=19.3 <19.3.219.1.8, 19.2.6, 19.3.2
GitLab/GitLabgeneric>=18.7 <18.11.12 || >=19.0 <19.0.9 || >=19.1 <19.1.8 || >=19.2 <19.2.6 || >=19.3 <19.3.218.11.12, 19.0.9, 19.1.8, 19.2.6, 19.3.2

Recommended response

  1. 1Check inventory. Check lockfiles and deployed manifests for GitLab/GitLab, GitLab/GitLab.
  2. 2Review the reported fix. Source-reported solution: Upgrade to versions 18.11.12, 19.0.9, 19.1.8, 19.2.6, 19.3.2 or above.

Evidence timeline and material changes

  1. Published upstream

    Sep 12, 2026

    Evidence: source:cvelist:source_dates:source-dates:record
  2. Source modified

    Sep 24, 2026

    Evidence: source:cvelist:source_dates:source-dates:record
  3. First seen by HOL

    Sep 11, 2026

  4. Added to CISA KEV

    Sep 11, 2026

    Evidence: source:kev:kev:kev:record

Sources and claim methodology

  • Source referencegitlab.com
  • Source referencehackerone.com
  • CISA Known Exploited Vulnerabilities catalogcisa.gov
Upstream source description

GitLab has remediated an issue in GitLab CE/EE affecting all versions from 18.7 before 18.11.12, 19.0 before 19.0.9, 19.1 before 19.1.8, 19.2 before 19.2.6, and 19.3 before 19.3.2 that, under certain conditions, an unauthenticated user could have read arbitrary files from the GitLab server due to improper path confinement and missing authentication enforcement in the repository commits API.

Quoted source text, attributed separately from HOL analysis.

Related CVEs

  • FileBrowser Quantum: Symlink following escapes user scope allowing arbitrary file read outside the served directoryAlso CWE-22

Record context

Vulnerability class
Path Traversal
EPSS
Not reported
CWE IDs
CWE-22
Source
CVE List V5
Source checked
Oct 27, 2026
References
3 linked sources
Open source record