Answer in brief
CVE-2026-86082 records a High severity (CVSS 0.0) vulnerability in n8n: Domain-Restriction Bypass via Unguarded Model-Search Endpoint in OpenAI Chat Model Node. The current sources do not mark it as known exploited. The current feed maps n8n-io/n8n (generic), n8n (npm), n8n (npm), n8n (npm) and additional mapped packages. Check affected ranges and fixed versions before updating.
Analysis pending evidence review
HOL Guard separates source facts from reviewed analysis. See the methodology.
CVSS is 0.0. The current sources do not mark it as known exploited. Treat this as a source-backed prioritization signal, not a statement about your environment.
Analysis status
Analysis pending evidence review
Factual feed record only; HOL analysis is not approved for indexing. Read the methodology.
The current feed maps n8n-io/n8n (generic), n8n (npm), n8n (npm), n8n (npm) and additional mapped packages. Check affected ranges and fixed versions before updating.
| Product | Affected versions | Fixed versions |
|---|---|---|
| cpe:2.3:a:n8n:n8n:*:*:*:*:*:node.js:*:* | Not reported | Not reported |
| Package | Affected range | Fixed version |
|---|---|---|
| n8n-io/n8ngeneric | >= 2.38.0, < 2.38.2 || >= 2.0.0, < 2.37.7 || < 1.123.76 | Not reported |
| n8nnpm | <1.123.76 | 1.123.76 |
| n8nnpm | >=2.38.0,<2.38.2 | 2.38.2 |
| n8nnpm | >=2.0.0,<2.37.7 | 2.37.7 |
| n8nnpm | >=0 <1.123.76 | 1.123.76 |
| n8nnpm | >=2.38.0 <2.38.2 | 2.38.2 |
| n8nnpm | >=2.0.0 <2.37.7 | 2.37.7 |
Published upstream
Sep 8, 2026
Evidence: source:cvelist:source_dates:source-dates:recordSource modified
Sep 14, 2026
Evidence: source:cvelist:source_dates:source-dates:recordFirst seen by HOL
Sep 8, 2026
n8n is an open source workflow automation platform. Prior to 1.123.76, 2.37.7, and 2.38.2, the OpenAI Chat Model node enforced credential allowed-domain restrictions for normal calls but not for the model-search dropdown. A workflow editor could set options.baseURL to an arbitrary host and make the searchModels path send the openAiApi credential there. The affected implementation is packages/@n8n/nodes-langchain/nodes/llms/LMChatOpenAi/methods/loadModels.ts, which omitted assertOpenAiCredentialAllowsUrl. This issue is fixed in versions 1.123.76, 2.37.7 and 2.38.2.
Quoted source text, attributed separately from HOL analysis.