Answer in brief
CVE-2026-86111 records a Unknown severity vulnerability in BookWyrm through 0.9.1 Insecure Direct Object Reference in EditStatus Exposes Followers-Only and Direct Statuses. The current sources do not mark it as known exploited. The current feed maps bookwyrm-social/bookwyrm (generic). Check affected ranges and fixed versions before updating.
Analysis pending evidence review
HOL Guard separates source facts from reviewed analysis. See the methodology.
A CVSS score is not reported in the current record. The current sources do not mark it as known exploited. Treat this as a source-backed prioritization signal, not a statement about your environment.
Analysis status
Analysis pending evidence review
Factual feed record only; HOL analysis is not approved for indexing. Read the methodology.
The current feed maps bookwyrm-social/bookwyrm (generic). Check affected ranges and fixed versions before updating.
| Package | Affected range | Fixed version |
|---|---|---|
| bookwyrm-social/bookwyrmgeneric | 0 | Not reported |
Published upstream
Sep 5, 2026
Evidence: source:cvelist:source_dates:source-dates:recordSource modified
Sep 5, 2026
Evidence: source:cvelist:source_dates:source-dates:recordFirst seen by HOL
Sep 5, 2026
BookWyrm through 0.9.1 fails to validate user visibility permissions in the status edit endpoint, allowing authenticated attackers to read followers-only and direct-message reviews by enumerating sequential status IDs. Attackers can access the raw content of restricted statuses through the edit view, bypassing the privacy protections documented for these message types.
Quoted source text, attributed separately from HOL analysis.