Answer in brief
CVE-2026-86764 records a High severity (CVSS 6.5) vulnerability in Snipe-IT 8.6.4 before 8.7.0 Permission Bypass via assigned components. The current sources do not mark it as known exploited. The current feed maps grokability/snipe-it (generic). Check affected ranges and fixed versions before updating.
Analysis pending evidence review
HOL Guard separates source facts from reviewed analysis. See the methodology.
CVSS is 6.5. The current sources do not mark it as known exploited. Treat this as a source-backed prioritization signal, not a statement about your environment.
Analysis status
Analysis pending evidence review
Factual feed record only; HOL analysis is not approved for indexing. Read the methodology.
The current feed maps grokability/snipe-it (generic). Check affected ranges and fixed versions before updating.
| Product | Affected versions | Fixed versions |
|---|---|---|
| cpe:2.3:a:snipeitapp:snipe-it:*:*:*:*:*:*:*:* | Not reported | Not reported |
| Package | Affected range | Fixed version |
|---|---|---|
| grokability/snipe-itgeneric | >=8.6.4 <8.7.0 | 8.7.0 |
Published upstream
Sep 9, 2026
Evidence: source:cvelist:source_dates:source-dates:recordSource modified
Sep 20, 2026
Evidence: source:cvelist:source_dates:source-dates:recordFirst seen by HOL
Sep 9, 2026
Snipe-IT through 8.6.4 (fixed in 8.7.0) does not enforce the components.view permission on the authenticated endpoint GET /api/v1/hardware/<asset-id>/assigned/components. The endpoint authorizes only assets.view on the parent asset before returning linked component details; the components.view check is applied only to the response's available_actions.view flag and not to the returned data. As a result, an authenticated user holding only assets.view can enumerate component IDs, names, assigned quantities, and notes that are otherwise protected — the direct GET /api/v1/components/<id> endpoint correctly returns 403 Forbidden for such users.
Quoted source text, attributed separately from HOL analysis.