Answer in brief
CVE-2026-86769 records a Medium severity (CVSS 4.3) vulnerability in Snipe-IT before 8.7.0 Audit Log Misattribution via Consumables Checkout. The current sources do not mark it as known exploited. The current feed maps grokability/snipe-it (generic). Check affected ranges and fixed versions before updating.
Analysis pending evidence review
HOL Guard separates source facts from reviewed analysis. See the methodology.
CVSS is 4.3. The current sources do not mark it as known exploited. Treat this as a source-backed prioritization signal, not a statement about your environment.
Analysis status
Analysis pending evidence review
Factual feed record only; HOL analysis is not approved for indexing. Read the methodology.
The current feed maps grokability/snipe-it (generic). Check affected ranges and fixed versions before updating.
| Product | Affected versions | Fixed versions |
|---|---|---|
| cpe:2.3:a:snipeitapp:snipe-it:*:*:*:*:*:*:*:* | Not reported | Not reported |
| Package | Affected range | Fixed version |
|---|---|---|
| grokability/snipe-itgeneric | >=8.6.3 <8.7.0 | 8.7.0 |
Published upstream
Sep 9, 2026
Evidence: source:cvelist:source_dates:source-dates:recordSource modified
Sep 20, 2026
Evidence: source:cvelist:source_dates:source-dates:recordFirst seen by HOL
Sep 9, 2026
Snipe-IT versions before 8.7.0 contain an improper ownership management vulnerability in the consumables checkout API endpoint that records the checkout target user's id in the created_by column instead of the authenticated caller's id. Authenticated attackers with consumables.checkout permission can perform checkouts that result in misattributed audit trail entries in the consumables_users pivot table, obscuring which operator performed the action.
Quoted source text, attributed separately from HOL analysis.