Answer in brief
CVE-2026-89470 records a Unknown severity vulnerability in power: supply: cros_usbpd: Limit port counts to EC_USB_PD_MAX_PORTS. The current sources do not mark it as known exploited. The current feed maps Linux/Linux (generic), Linux/Linux (generic). Check affected ranges and fixed versions before updating.
Analysis pending evidence review
HOL Guard separates source facts from reviewed analysis. See the methodology.
A CVSS score is not reported in the current record. The current sources do not mark it as known exploited. Treat this as a source-backed prioritization signal, not a statement about your environment.
Analysis status
Analysis pending evidence review
Factual feed record only; HOL analysis is not approved for indexing. Read the methodology.
The current feed maps Linux/Linux (generic), Linux/Linux (generic). Check affected ranges and fixed versions before updating.
| Package | Affected range | Fixed version |
|---|---|---|
| Linux/Linuxgeneric | >=3af15cfacd1eef7f223802d49a88cae23c509183 <fd5f289cca04ad869b34fc9ccb647670bfdb60ac || >=3af15cfacd1eef7f223802d49a88cae23c509183 <4b1f2be1e1b74a50386ba718de3d62bfcf5ee701 || >=3af15cfacd1eef7f223802d49a88cae23c509183 <304a29ac55ba3ee6eceaf7d83d09cd9709f3bf60 || >=3af15cfacd1eef7f223802d49a88cae23c509183 <657cd3a42e937276262c0a8ae6b01a87004309de | fd5f289cca04ad869b34fc9ccb647670bfdb60ac, 4b1f2be1e1b74a50386ba718de3d62bfcf5ee701, 304a29ac55ba3ee6eceaf7d83d09cd9709f3bf60, 657cd3a42e937276262c0a8ae6b01a87004309de |
| Linux/Linuxgeneric | 4.20 | Not reported |
Published upstream
Sep 11, 2026
Evidence: source:cvelist:source_dates:source-dates:recordSource modified
Sep 11, 2026
Evidence: source:cvelist:source_dates:source-dates:recordFirst seen by HOL
Sep 11, 2026
In the Linux kernel, the following vulnerability has been resolved: power: supply: cros_usbpd: Limit port counts to EC_USB_PD_MAX_PORTS Currently the cros_usbpd-charger driver probe iterates based on raw charger port count returned by the embedded controller. The only check is against the number of USB PD ports which the embedded controller also defines. A malicious embedded controller could return an inaccurate port count (up to 255) resulting in an out of bounds write and subsequent memory corruption. Update helper functions in cros_usbpd-charger to limit port counts to EC_USB_PD_MAX_PORTS.
Quoted source text, attributed separately from HOL analysis.