Answer in brief
CVE-2026-89471 records a Unknown severity vulnerability in power: supply: cros_usbpd-charger: bound the EC-reported port count. The current sources do not mark it as known exploited. The current feed maps Linux/Linux (generic), Linux/Linux (generic). Check affected ranges and fixed versions before updating.
Analysis pending evidence review
HOL Guard separates source facts from reviewed analysis. See the methodology.
A CVSS score is not reported in the current record. The current sources do not mark it as known exploited. Treat this as a source-backed prioritization signal, not a statement about your environment.
Analysis status
Analysis pending evidence review
Factual feed record only; HOL analysis is not approved for indexing. Read the methodology.
The current feed maps Linux/Linux (generic), Linux/Linux (generic). Check affected ranges and fixed versions before updating.
| Package | Affected range | Fixed version |
|---|---|---|
| Linux/Linuxgeneric | >=f68b883e8fad23ed0ac4756d91594809d78678ed <fd29d08ee487f3bf50f2575aaa74f78a74b09b21 || >=f68b883e8fad23ed0ac4756d91594809d78678ed <78be8b7403ff7638162438b664a07d19da76059e || >=f68b883e8fad23ed0ac4756d91594809d78678ed <3d1e01443b221081258ff34ea0cdd0431e4ff62e || >=f68b883e8fad23ed0ac4756d91594809d78678ed <48355ce49359740f52e94d3623f6fc557ce341f0 | fd29d08ee487f3bf50f2575aaa74f78a74b09b21, 78be8b7403ff7638162438b664a07d19da76059e, 3d1e01443b221081258ff34ea0cdd0431e4ff62e, 48355ce49359740f52e94d3623f6fc557ce341f0 |
| Linux/Linuxgeneric | 4.19 | Not reported |
Published upstream
Sep 11, 2026
Evidence: source:cvelist:source_dates:source-dates:recordSource modified
Sep 11, 2026
Evidence: source:cvelist:source_dates:source-dates:recordFirst seen by HOL
Sep 11, 2026
In the Linux kernel, the following vulnerability has been resolved: power: supply: cros_usbpd-charger: bound the EC-reported port count cros_usbpd_charger_probe() reads two port counts from the EC and uses one of them, num_charger_ports, as the loop bound when populating a fixed-size array: struct port_data *ports[EC_USB_PD_MAX_PORTS]; /* 8 entries */ ... for (i = 0; i < charger->num_charger_ports; i++) charger->ports[charger->num_registered_psy++] = port; Both num_usbpd_ports (from EC_CMD_USB_PD_PORTS) and num_charger_ports (from EC_CMD_CHARGE_PORT_COUNT) are u8 values reported by the EC. The only validation is a sanity check that compares the two EC-reported values against each other: if (num_charger_ports < num_usbpd_ports || num_charger_ports > num_usbpd_ports + 1) return -EPROTO; It never checks either count against EC_USB_PD_MAX_PORTS, the size of the ports[] array. A malfunctioning, malicious or compromised EC that reports num_usbpd_ports == num_charger_ports == N for any N > 8 (for example both 255) passes this check, and the loop then writes N pointers into the 8-entry ports[] array embedded in the devm_kzalloc()'d charger_data, overflowing it by up to 255 - 8 = 247 entries (~1976 bytes): a slab out-of-bounds write. Reject a port count larger than the ports[] array can hold.
Quoted source text, attributed separately from HOL analysis.