HOL LogoGuard

Explore HOL

  • HOL home
  • AI agent registry
  • AI plugins
  • Open standards
  • HOL members
  • Sponsor HOL
  • Advertise with HOL

Guard product

  • Guard overviewLocal security and control for AI agents and the tools they use.
  • FeaturesRuntime protection, policy routing, review, and evidence.

Explore Guard

  • Product previewWalk through Guard surfaces in read-only demo mode.
  • ComparisonCompare Guard with native controls and AI security vendors.

AI tools

  • All AI toolsEvery supported AI tool and how Guard applies policy to it.
  • Codex
  • Claude Code
  • Cursor
  • Antigravity CLI
  • OpenCode
  • Hermes
  • OpenClaw
  • GitHub Copilot CLI
  • Antigravity
  • Kimi
  • Grok
  • Pi / Oh My Pi
  • Zcode

Extensions

  • All extensionsBrowse command and MCP coverage with owners and stated limits.
  • Command coverageShell command protection across clouds, databases, backups, and packages.
  • MCP server coverageSee how Guard maps risk state across MCP tools and servers.
  • Core safetyThe safety floor listings that ship with Guard.
  • Data and resilienceBackup and storage command protection.
  • Cloud and infrastructureAWS, Azure, GCP, Kubernetes, and more.

Security

  • AI security hubSecurity research, advisories, and agent safety coverage.
  • AI tool securitySecurity profiles for each supported coding agent.
  • Safe labsHands-on attack simulations with safe boundaries.
  • Redacted warningsReal blocked actions with sensitive details removed.
  • AdvisoriesCoordinated disclosure reports for AI tooling.
  • Active CVEsSearch active CVEs affecting AI tooling.

Learn

  • Security guidesPractical guides for securing AI agent workflows.
  • DocsInstall, configure, and operate Guard with confidence.
  • ResearchPublished security research, benchmarks, and methodology.

Community

  • ReleasesVersion history, shipped changes and upgrade notes.
  • ContributorsThe people and contributions behind HOL Guard.
  • AffiliatesShare Guard with your audience and earn from referrals.
  • SponsorFund agreed research, implementation and shared testing through the HOL Partner Program.
  • AdvertiseCompare README logo placements, previews and monthly prices, or promote a plugin or extension.
PricingEnterpriseOpen AppInstall Guard
  1. Guard
  2. Security
  3. CVEs
  4. CVE 2026 89689 nfsd dont free session slots that are still in use
HOL Guard

Public security guidance for teams protecting AI harnesses, MCP servers, skills, prompts, and local tool execution.

Install Guard

AI Security

  • Prompt injection
  • MCP security
  • OWASP MCP mapping
  • Supply chain

Resources

  • Trust packet
  • Harness setup
  • Redacted warnings
  • Safe labs

Product

  • Install Guard
  • Pricing
  • Open dashboard
Guard
  • Guard Overview
  • Releases
  • Contributors
  • Install Guard
  • Pricing
Docs
  • Documentation Index
  • Developer Hub
  • API Reference
  • Root OpenAPI
  • Registry OpenAPI
  • Run in Postman
  • Standards
  • Submit ERC-8004 Contract
  • Feature Your Agent
Best Plugins
  • Browse Plugins
  • Plugin Launches
  • Best Claude Plugins
  • Best Codex Plugins
  • Best Grok Plugins
  • Best Kimi Plugins
  • Best DeepSeek Plugins
  • Best Antigravity Plugins
  • Best MCP Servers
  • Best Cursor Plugins
  • Best OpenCode Plugins
Best Agents
  • Best ERC-8004 Agents
  • Best Virtuals Agents
  • Best MCP Servers
  • Best A2A Agents
  • Best x402 Payable
  • All Categories
Community
  • Telegram
  • X
More
  • About HOL
  • Sponsor
  • Advertise
  • Contact
  • Blog
  • GitHub
  • Privacy
  • Terms of Service
Settings

Copyright © 2026 HOL DAO LLC. All rights reserved.

Back to active CVEs
Critical · CVSS 9.8CVE-2026-89689

nfsd: don't free session slots that are still in useCVE-2026-89689

Answer in brief

CVE-2026-89689 records a Critical severity (CVSS 9.8) vulnerability in nfsd: don't free session slots that are still in use. The current sources do not mark it as known exploited. The current feed maps Linux/Linux (generic), Linux/Linux (generic). Check affected ranges and fixed versions before updating.

Analysis pending evidence review

HOL Guard separates source facts from reviewed analysis. See the methodology.

Published Sep 11, 2026Updated Oct 19, 2026Source checked Oct 26, 2026First seen by HOL Sep 11, 2026Material review Oct 19, 2026
Upstream Advisory

Key facts

Risk
Critical · CVSS 9.8
Exploitation
Not marked as known exploited
Affected software
2 mapped packages or products
Fix availability
Available

Why this deserves its current priority

CVSS is 9.8. The current sources do not mark it as known exploited. Treat this as a source-backed prioritization signal, not a statement about your environment.

Analysis status

Analysis pending evidence review

Factual feed record only; HOL analysis is not approved for indexing. Read the methodology.

Affected scope and exposure questions

The current feed maps Linux/Linux (generic), Linux/Linux (generic). Check affected ranges and fixed versions before updating.

Mapped affected packages and fixed versions
PackageAffected rangeFixed version
Linux/Linuxgeneric>=fc8738c68d0bbf5033dd98b4f63d277ecbd49fd7 <72d40b103bb03f0124d3a3c8f71a30cbafaf6afa || >=fc8738c68d0bbf5033dd98b4f63d277ecbd49fd7 <b449b134e7762ddf98653a4b1d3e76d2d212ea64 || >=fc8738c68d0bbf5033dd98b4f63d277ecbd49fd7 <f5d22e372f4ac3eb287037a488c29691d52a633072d40b103bb03f0124d3a3c8f71a30cbafaf6afa, b449b134e7762ddf98653a4b1d3e76d2d212ea64, f5d22e372f4ac3eb287037a488c29691d52a6330
Linux/Linuxgeneric6.14Not reported

Recommended response

  1. 1Check inventory. Check lockfiles and deployed manifests for Linux/Linux, Linux/Linux.
  2. 2Review the reported fix. Update Linux/Linux to 72d40b103bb03f0124d3a3c8f71a30cbafaf6afa if you use the affected versions. Test the change in a non-production environment first.

Evidence timeline and material changes

  1. Published upstream

    Sep 11, 2026

    Evidence: source:cvelist:source_dates:source-dates:record
  2. Source modified

    Oct 19, 2026

    Evidence: source:cvelist:source_dates:source-dates:record
  3. First seen by HOL

    Sep 11, 2026

Sources and claim methodology

  • Source referencegit.kernel.org
  • Source referencegit.kernel.org
  • Source referencegit.kernel.org
Upstream source description

In the Linux kernel, the following vulnerability has been resolved: nfsd: don't free session slots that are still in use nfsd4_sequence() can free the very slot it is currently processing. When the session shrinker has reduced se_target_maxslots below se_fchannel.maxreqs, the shrink path checks three conditions before calling free_session_slots(): 1. se_target_maxslots < maxreqs (shrink was advertised) 2. slot->sl_generation == se_slot_gen (slot is up-to-date) 3. seq->maxslots <= se_target_maxslots (client acknowledges) However, seq->slotid is never checked against se_target_maxslots. A client using a slot in the range [se_target_maxslots, maxreqs) can satisfy all three conditions: its slot has the current generation (set by a prior SEQUENCE), and it sends sa_highest_slotid <= se_target_maxslots to acknowledge the reduction. free_session_slots() then kfrees every slot at index >= se_target_maxslots, including the caller's own slot. The function continues to write sl_seqid, sl_flags, sl_generation, and stores the dangling pointer in cstate->slot. Later, nfsd4_store_cache_entry() copies up to maxresp_cached bytes of the compound reply into the freed sl_data[] array, corrupting whatever slab object now occupies that address. Additionally, a concurrent thread processing SEQUENCE on a different high-numbered slot can have its slot freed out from under it. NFSD4_SLOT_INUSE is set under nn->client_lock before the lock is released, so any concurrent thread past SEQUENCE will have its slot marked. However, free_session_slots() does not check NFSD4_SLOT_INUSE before freeing. Fix both problems by: 1. Checking that the current request's slotid is below the shrink boundary. 2. Scanning slots in the to-be-freed range for NFSD4_SLOT_INUSE and deferring the shrink if any are active.

Quoted source text, attributed separately from HOL analysis.

Record context

Vulnerability class
Vulnerability
EPSS
Not reported
CWE IDs
Not reported
Source
CVE List V5
Source checked
Oct 26, 2026
References
3 linked sources
Open source record