HOL LogoGuard

Explore HOL

  • HOL home
  • AI agent registry
  • AI plugins
  • Open standards
  • HOL members
  • Sponsor HOL
  • Advertise with HOL

Guard product

  • Guard overviewLocal security and control for AI agents and the tools they use.
  • FeaturesRuntime protection, policy routing, review, and evidence.

Explore Guard

  • Product previewWalk through Guard surfaces in read-only demo mode.
  • ComparisonCompare Guard with native controls and AI security vendors.

AI tools

  • All AI toolsEvery supported AI tool and how Guard applies policy to it.
  • Codex
  • Claude Code
  • Cursor
  • Antigravity CLI
  • OpenCode
  • Hermes
  • OpenClaw
  • GitHub Copilot CLI
  • Antigravity
  • Kimi
  • Grok
  • Pi / Oh My Pi
  • Zcode

Extensions

  • All extensionsBrowse command and MCP coverage with owners and stated limits.
  • Command coverageShell command protection across clouds, databases, backups, and packages.
  • MCP server coverageSee how Guard maps risk state across MCP tools and servers.
  • Core safetyThe safety floor listings that ship with Guard.
  • Data and resilienceBackup and storage command protection.
  • Cloud and infrastructureAWS, Azure, GCP, Kubernetes, and more.

Security

  • AI security hubSecurity research, advisories, and agent safety coverage.
  • AI tool securitySecurity profiles for each supported coding agent.
  • Safe labsHands-on attack simulations with safe boundaries.
  • Redacted warningsReal blocked actions with sensitive details removed.
  • AdvisoriesCoordinated disclosure reports for AI tooling.
  • Active CVEsSearch active CVEs affecting AI tooling.

Learn

  • Security guidesPractical guides for securing AI agent workflows.
  • DocsInstall, configure, and operate Guard with confidence.
  • ResearchPublished security research, benchmarks, and methodology.

Community

  • ReleasesVersion history, shipped changes and upgrade notes.
  • ContributorsThe people and contributions behind HOL Guard.
  • AffiliatesShare Guard with your audience and earn from referrals.
  • SponsorFund agreed research, implementation and shared testing through the HOL Partner Program.
  • AdvertiseCompare README logo placements, previews and monthly prices, or promote a plugin or extension.
PricingEnterpriseOpen AppInstall Guard
  1. Guard
  2. Security
  3. CVEs
  4. CVE 2026 89999 hid wacom validate report length in
HOL Guard

Public security guidance for teams protecting AI harnesses, MCP servers, skills, prompts, and local tool execution.

Install Guard

AI Security

  • Prompt injection
  • MCP security
  • OWASP MCP mapping
  • Supply chain

Resources

  • Trust packet
  • Harness setup
  • Redacted warnings
  • Safe labs

Product

  • Install Guard
  • Pricing
  • Open dashboard
Guard
  • Guard Overview
  • Releases
  • Contributors
  • Install Guard
  • Pricing
Docs
  • Documentation Index
  • Developer Hub
  • API Reference
  • Root OpenAPI
  • Registry OpenAPI
  • Run in Postman
  • Standards
  • Submit ERC-8004 Contract
  • Feature Your Agent
Best Plugins
  • Browse Plugins
  • Plugin Launches
  • Best Claude Plugins
  • Best Codex Plugins
  • Best Grok Plugins
  • Best Kimi Plugins
  • Best DeepSeek Plugins
  • Best Antigravity Plugins
  • Best MCP Servers
  • Best Cursor Plugins
  • Best OpenCode Plugins
Best Agents
  • Best ERC-8004 Agents
  • Best Virtuals Agents
  • Best MCP Servers
  • Best A2A Agents
  • Best x402 Payable
  • All Categories
Community
  • Telegram
  • X
More
  • About HOL
  • Sponsor
  • Advertise
  • Contact
  • Blog
  • GitHub
  • Privacy
  • Terms of Service
Settings

Copyright © 2026 HOL DAO LLC. All rights reserved.

Back to active CVEs
High · CVSS 8.1CVE-2026-89999

HID: wacom: validate report length in wacom_intuos_pro2_bt_irqCVE-2026-89999

Answer in brief

CVE-2026-89999 records a High severity (CVSS 8.1) vulnerability in HID: wacom: validate report length in wacom_intuos_pro2_bt_irq. The current sources do not mark it as known exploited. The current feed maps Linux/Linux (generic), Linux/Linux (generic). Check affected ranges and fixed versions before updating.

Analysis pending evidence review

HOL Guard separates source facts from reviewed analysis. See the methodology.

Published Sep 16, 2026Updated Oct 19, 2026Source checked Oct 31, 2026First seen by HOL Sep 16, 2026Material review Oct 19, 2026
Upstream Advisory

Record context

Vulnerability class
Vulnerability
EPSS
Not reported
CWE IDs
Not reported
Source
CVE List V5
Source checked
Oct 31, 2026
References
8 linked sources
Open source record

Key facts

Risk
High · CVSS 8.1
Exploitation
Not marked as known exploited
Affected software
2 mapped packages or products
Fix availability
Available

Why this deserves its current priority

CVSS is 8.1. The current sources do not mark it as known exploited. Treat this as a source-backed prioritization signal, not a statement about your environment.

Analysis status

Analysis pending evidence review

Factual feed record only; HOL analysis is not approved for indexing. Read the methodology.

Affected scope and exposure questions

The current feed maps Linux/Linux (generic), Linux/Linux (generic). Check affected ranges and fixed versions before updating.

Mapped affected packages and fixed versions
PackageAffected rangeFixed version
Linux/Linuxgeneric>=4922cd26f03c1c71bf7dd6cbdb638e7e36a4a50b <d2844f3fcd058113acbe0aa110ab13ef28b98d9f || >=4922cd26f03c1c71bf7dd6cbdb638e7e36a4a50b <1bfc0547b81d5861443420d19b5ed2fd533cd17f || >=4922cd26f03c1c71bf7dd6cbdb638e7e36a4a50b <84781a1f3c5dc6650480be9329e6e8528939eaa0 || >=4922cd26f03c1c71bf7dd6cbdb638e7e36a4a50b <96dd0af7597aba2d80cc97e2f66e8b72d30ba125 || >=4922cd26f03c1c71bf7dd6cbdb638e7e36a4a50b <114af803e409a68e52516810ecd24df4d8ce0c68 || >=4922cd26f03c1c71bf7dd6cbdb638e7e36a4a50b <74ec08f7b81c2726578039ca6dea0fec136c38ea || >=4922cd26f03c1c71bf7dd6cbdb638e7e36a4a50b <0cdc6cb242dd8d2731956fdf3390de094482a4b2 || >=4922cd26f03c1c71bf7dd6cbdb638e7e36a4a50b <a8e04f3f894ccb52cfcd7e60125a9f35da4a616dd2844f3fcd058113acbe0aa110ab13ef28b98d9f, 1bfc0547b81d5861443420d19b5ed2fd533cd17f, 84781a1f3c5dc6650480be9329e6e8528939eaa0, 96dd0af7597aba2d80cc97e2f66e8b72d30ba125, 114af803e409a68e52516810ecd24df4d8ce0c68, 74ec08f7b81c2726578039ca6dea0fec136c38ea, 0cdc6cb242dd8d2731956fdf3390de094482a4b2, a8e04f3f894ccb52cfcd7e60125a9f35da4a616d
Linux/Linuxgeneric4.11Not reported

Recommended response

  1. 1Check inventory. Check lockfiles and deployed manifests for Linux/Linux, Linux/Linux.
  2. 2Review the reported fix. Update Linux/Linux to d2844f3fcd058113acbe0aa110ab13ef28b98d9f if you use the affected versions. Test the change in a non-production environment first.

Evidence timeline and material changes

  1. Published upstream

    Sep 16, 2026

    Evidence: source:cvelist:source_dates:source-dates:record
  2. Source modified

    Oct 19, 2026

    Evidence: source:cvelist:source_dates:source-dates:record
  3. First seen by HOL

    Sep 16, 2026

Sources and claim methodology

  • Source referencegit.kernel.org
  • Source referencegit.kernel.org
  • Source referencegit.kernel.org
  • Source referencegit.kernel.org
  • Source referencegit.kernel.org
  • Source referencegit.kernel.org
  • Source referencegit.kernel.org
  • Source referencegit.kernel.org
Upstream source description

In the Linux kernel, the following vulnerability has been resolved: HID: wacom: validate report length in wacom_intuos_pro2_bt_irq wacom_intuos_pro2_bt_irq() receives the wire report length in `len` but never consults it before parsing. After the report-id gate it unconditionally calls wacom_intuos_pro2_bt_pen() and then, selected by features.type, a fixed chain of sub-parsers, none of which receive `len`: wacom_intuos_pro2_bt_pen(wacom); if (type == INTUOSP2_BT || type == INTUOSP2S_BT) { wacom_intuos_pro2_bt_touch(wacom); wacom_intuos_pro2_bt_pad(wacom); wacom_intuos_pro2_bt_battery(wacom); } else { wacom_intuos_gen3_bt_pad(wacom); wacom_intuos_gen3_bt_battery(wacom); } Each sub-parser dereferences wacom->data at fixed offsets. The furthest byte touched on each branch is: INTUOSP2_BT / INTUOSP2S_BT: wacom_intuos_pro2_bt_pad() reads data[285] (the touchring byte), so the report must be at least 286 bytes; INTUOSHT3_BT ("gen3"): wacom_intuos_gen3_bt_battery() reads data[45], so the report must be at least 46 bytes. features.type is selected from the VID/PID id_table entry and wacom_setup_device_quirks() force-registers the pen/pad/touch inputs for that type independent of the report descriptor, so a malicious or malfunctioning paired/spoofed Bluetooth peripheral can advertise that VID/PID and send an undersized report that still satisfies the data[0] == 0x80/0x81 gate. The driver then reads past the received report and forwards the bytes to userspace via evdev (MSC_SERIAL / ABS_MISC / ABS_WHEEL on the pen and pad input nodes), an out-of-bounds read with a concrete userspace read-back channel, and a true out-of-bounds read on transports whose backing buffer is sized to the (small) report descriptor rather than a fixed-size staging buffer. This is the same class of bug commit 2f1763f62909 ("HID: wacom: fix out-of-bounds read in wacom_intuos_bt_irq") already hardened in the sibling wacom_intuos_bt_irq(), which guards each report id against its minimum length before parsing. Guard wacom_intuos_pro2_bt_irq() the same way: before parsing, reject reports shorter than the furthest offset the selected branch actually dereferences, warn, and bail out. Because the whole pen/touch/pad/ battery chain runs unconditionally per branch, a single up-front check against the maximum offset (286 bytes for INTUOSP2_BT/INTUOSP2S_BT, 46 bytes for the gen3 branch) bounds every sub-parser. Returning 0 on a short report also skips those calls for the same malformed report, which is the safe, conservative behavior.

Quoted source text, attributed separately from HOL analysis.