Answer in brief
CVE-2026-90396 records a Unknown severity vulnerability in block: fix dio leak on metadata mapping error. The current sources do not mark it as known exploited. The current feed maps Linux/Linux (generic), Linux/Linux (generic). Check affected ranges and fixed versions before updating.
Analysis pending evidence review
HOL Guard separates source facts from reviewed analysis. See the methodology.
A CVSS score is not reported in the current record. The current sources do not mark it as known exploited. Treat this as a source-backed prioritization signal, not a statement about your environment.
Analysis status
Analysis pending evidence review
Factual feed record only; HOL analysis is not approved for indexing. Read the methodology.
The current feed maps Linux/Linux (generic), Linux/Linux (generic). Check affected ranges and fixed versions before updating.
| Package | Affected range | Fixed version |
|---|---|---|
| Linux/Linuxgeneric | >=2729a60bbfb9215997f25372ebe9b7964f038296 <d29c5a88d5703afb6286038e86e1b88daa4962a9 || >=2729a60bbfb9215997f25372ebe9b7964f038296 <cbbaf0c870dde06cf4b887a77a94e3094179ca9f || >=2729a60bbfb9215997f25372ebe9b7964f038296 <702a2a9f3dfe066a7481698c858371112f3cb697 || 17ecefc9fdd8c554e0d03e5a990daef19f930add || >=6.16.8 <6.17 | d29c5a88d5703afb6286038e86e1b88daa4962a9, cbbaf0c870dde06cf4b887a77a94e3094179ca9f, 702a2a9f3dfe066a7481698c858371112f3cb697, 6.17 |
| Linux/Linuxgeneric | 6.17 | Not reported |
Published upstream
Sep 17, 2026
Evidence: source:cvelist:source_dates:source-dates:recordSource modified
Sep 17, 2026
Evidence: source:cvelist:source_dates:source-dates:recordFirst seen by HOL
Sep 17, 2026
In the Linux kernel, the following vulnerability has been resolved: block: fix dio leak on metadata mapping error A failed integrity mapping holds a dio reference, so we need to go through the full bio ending in case there were previously submitted bio's in the sequence.
Quoted source text, attributed separately from HOL analysis.