HOL LogoGuard

Explore HOL

  • HOL home
  • AI agent registry
  • AI plugins
  • Open standards
  • HOL members

Guard product

  • Guard overviewLocal security and control for AI agents and the tools they use.
  • FeaturesRuntime protection, policy routing, review, and evidence.

Explore Guard

  • Product previewWalk through Guard surfaces in read-only demo mode.
  • ComparisonCompare Guard with native controls and AI security vendors.

AI tools

  • All AI toolsEvery supported AI tool and how Guard applies policy to it.
  • Codex
  • Claude Code
  • Cursor
  • Antigravity CLI
  • OpenCode
  • Hermes
  • OpenClaw
  • GitHub Copilot CLI
  • Antigravity
  • Kimi
  • Grok
  • Pi / Oh My Pi
  • Zcode

Extensions

  • All extensionsBrowse command and MCP coverage with owners and stated limits.
  • Command coverageShell command protection across clouds, databases, backups, and packages.
  • MCP server coverageSee how Guard maps risk state across MCP tools and servers.
  • Core safetyThe safety floor listings that ship with Guard.
  • Data and resilienceBackup and storage command protection.
  • Cloud and infrastructureAWS, Azure, GCP, Kubernetes, and more.

Security

  • AI security hubSecurity research, advisories, and agent safety coverage.
  • AI tool securitySecurity profiles for each supported coding agent.
  • Safe labsHands-on attack simulations with safe boundaries.
  • Redacted warningsReal blocked actions with sensitive details removed.
  • AdvisoriesCoordinated disclosure reports for AI tooling.
  • Active CVEsSearch active CVEs affecting AI tooling.

Learn

  • Security guidesPractical guides for securing AI agent workflows.
  • DocsInstall, configure, and operate Guard with confidence.
  • ResearchPublished security research, benchmarks, and methodology.

Community

  • ReleasesVersion history, shipped changes and upgrade notes.
  • ContributorsThe people and contributions behind HOL Guard.
  • AffiliatesShare Guard with your audience and earn from referrals.
  • SponsorKeep agent security open: sponsor a project, place a banner, or fund a security initiative.
PricingEnterpriseOpen AppInstall Guard
  1. Guard
  2. Security
  3. CVEs
  4. CVE 2026 98265 alsa usb audio clamp implicit feedback packet
HOL Guard

Public security guidance for teams protecting AI harnesses, MCP servers, skills, prompts, and local tool execution.

Install Guard

AI Security

  • Prompt injection
  • MCP security
  • OWASP MCP mapping
  • Supply chain

Resources

  • Trust packet
  • Harness setup
  • Redacted warnings
  • Safe labs

Product

  • Install Guard
  • Pricing
  • Open dashboard
Guard
  • Guard Overview
  • Releases
  • Contributors
  • Install Guard
  • Pricing
Docs
  • Documentation Index
  • Developer Hub
  • API Reference
  • Root OpenAPI
  • Registry OpenAPI
  • Run in Postman
  • Standards
  • Submit ERC-8004 Contract
  • Feature Your Agent
Best Plugins
  • Browse Plugins
  • Plugin Launches
  • Best Claude Plugins
  • Best Codex Plugins
  • Best Grok Plugins
  • Best Kimi Plugins
  • Best DeepSeek Plugins
  • Best Antigravity Plugins
  • Best MCP Servers
  • Best Cursor Plugins
  • Best OpenCode Plugins
Best Agents
  • Best ERC-8004 Agents
  • Best Virtuals Agents
  • Best MCP Servers
  • Best A2A Agents
  • Best x402 Payable
  • All Categories
Community
  • Telegram
  • X
More
  • About HOL
  • Contact
  • Blog
  • GitHub
  • Privacy
  • Terms of Service
Settings

Copyright © 2026 HOL DAO LLC. All rights reserved.

Back to active CVEs
Unknown severity · Source severity not reportedCVE-2026-98265

ALSA: usb-audio: Clamp implicit feedback packet count to URB capacityCVE-2026-98265

Answer in brief

CVE-2026-98265 records a Unknown severity vulnerability in ALSA: usb-audio: Clamp implicit feedback packet count to URB capacity. The current sources do not mark it as known exploited. The current feed maps Linux/Linux (generic), Linux/Linux (generic). Check affected ranges and fixed versions before updating.

Analysis pending evidence review

HOL Guard separates source facts from reviewed analysis. See the methodology.

Published Oct 6, 2026Updated Oct 6, 2026Source checked Oct 6, 2026First seen by HOL Oct 6, 2026Material review Oct 6, 2026
Upstream Advisory

Key facts

Risk
Unknown severitySource severity not reported
Exploitation
Not marked as known exploited
Affected software
2 mapped packages or products
Fix availability
Available

Why this deserves its current priority

A CVSS score is not reported in the current record. The current sources do not mark it as known exploited. Treat this as a source-backed prioritization signal, not a statement about your environment.

Analysis status

Analysis pending evidence review

Factual feed record only; HOL analysis is not approved for indexing. Read the methodology.

Affected scope and exposure questions

The current feed maps Linux/Linux (generic), Linux/Linux (generic). Check affected ranges and fixed versions before updating.

Mapped affected packages and fixed versions
PackageAffected rangeFixed version
Linux/Linuxgeneric>=32a1f64f8ff6e2c5391f5964baec697bce25b83c <ad279ba0dc1781229f5b52f58d38d56960400e06 || >=e949fd266cfa1dcca7caa3faa698578c4ffd26d6 <79c55a7b5d71cf2a6bbd4bd7698e1b10b70f813a || >=cf044e44190234a41a788de1cdbb6c21f4a52e1e <ab77e3f453c5f2499c08d6e8e218501d25bab39e || >=cf044e44190234a41a788de1cdbb6c21f4a52e1e <76a986c980bb502c7688d605ac7a67fd257a9a1b || df75696e70c88b22ed1d8c9d515993a858c58fd0 || 3a74f6b46c01d9a816378cd83c327a59f61475ec || c26bde6301f20d9aafbfb7c2459a88c6a6ec178f || f6fbdf797e016fbf968dd54301026b182175985a || >=6.12.75 <6.12.112 || >=6.18.16 <6.18.54 || >=5.15.202 <5.16 || >=6.1.165 <6.2 || >=6.6.128 <6.7 || >=6.19.6 <6.20ad279ba0dc1781229f5b52f58d38d56960400e06, 79c55a7b5d71cf2a6bbd4bd7698e1b10b70f813a, ab77e3f453c5f2499c08d6e8e218501d25bab39e, 76a986c980bb502c7688d605ac7a67fd257a9a1b, 6.12.112, 6.18.54, 5.16, 6.2, 6.7, 6.20
Linux/Linuxgeneric7.0Not reported

Recommended response

  1. 1Check inventory. Check lockfiles and deployed manifests for Linux/Linux, Linux/Linux.
  2. 2Review the reported fix. Update Linux/Linux to ad279ba0dc1781229f5b52f58d38d56960400e06 if you use the affected versions. Test the change in a non-production environment first.

Evidence timeline and material changes

  1. Published upstream

    Oct 6, 2026

    Evidence: source:cvelist:source_dates:source-dates:record
  2. Source modified

    Oct 6, 2026

    Evidence: source:cvelist:source_dates:source-dates:record
  3. First seen by HOL

    Oct 6, 2026

Sources and claim methodology

  • Source referencegit.kernel.org
  • Source referencegit.kernel.org
  • Source referencegit.kernel.org
  • Source referencegit.kernel.org
Upstream source description

In the Linux kernel, the following vulnerability has been resolved: ALSA: usb-audio: Clamp implicit feedback packet count to URB capacity data_ep_set_params() allocates each data URB for exactly u->packets isochronous frames, so urb->iso_frame_desc[] has u->packets slots and ctx->packets is the driver's only record of that limit. For an implicit feedback sink, snd_usb_queue_pending_output_urbs() overwrites it with the sync source's packet count, which is calculated independently from the capture endpoint's parameters. When that count is larger, prepare_playback_urb() and prepare_silent_urb() can write iso_frame_desc[] past the allocation; their existing bounds limit payload bytes, not the descriptor index. The reproducer uses a high-speed UAC2 device declaring bInterval 1 for implicit feedback capture (8 packets) and bInterval 4 for playback (1 packet). On the first capture completion after the stream starts, it accesses seven descriptors spanning 112 bytes beyond the one-packet URB: BUG: KASAN: slab-out-of-bounds in prepare_playback_urb (sound/usb/pcm.c:1560) Write of size 4 at addr ffff88801e696ad0 by task vhci_rx/178 prepare_playback_urb (sound/usb/pcm.c:1560) prepare_outbound_urb (sound/usb/endpoint.c:340) snd_usb_queue_pending_output_urbs (sound/usb/endpoint.c:501) snd_complete_urb (sound/usb/endpoint.c:1834) __usb_hcd_giveback_urb (drivers/usb/core/hcd.c:1657) usb_hcd_giveback_urb (drivers/usb/core/hcd.c:1741) vhci_rx_loop (drivers/usb/usbip/vhci_rx.c:107) kthread (kernel/kthread.c:436) The buggy address belongs to the object at ffff88801e696a00 which belongs to the cache kmalloc-256 of size 256 The buggy address is located 0 bytes to the right of allocated 208-byte region [ffff88801e696a00, ffff88801e696ad0) Record the allocated packet count per endpoint and clamp both the adopted count and the packet-size copy to it. Fold the Format Type II delimiter into urb_packs before the allocation loop so the recorded limit matches every URB.

Quoted source text, attributed separately from HOL analysis.

Related CVEs

  • wifi: cfg80211: get the wiphy out of a dying network namespaceSame linux/linux package
  • wifi: mac80211: unlist vifs when their netdev is unregisteredSame linux/linux package
  • wifi: mac80211: only operate on TDLS peers in the TDLS codeSame linux/linux package
  • wifi: mac80211: reset the LED state when ifup failsSame linux/linux package
  • wifi: mac80211: reset state when starting AP failsSame linux/linux package
  • wifi: mac80211: abort chanswitch when leaving a meshSame linux/linux package

Record context

Vulnerability class
Vulnerability
EPSS
Not reported
CWE IDs
Not reported
Source
CVE List V5
Source checked
Oct 6, 2026
References
4 linked sources
Open source record