Answer in brief
CVE-2026-98578 records a Unknown severity vulnerability in nfc: st21nfca: validate ISO15693 inventory length. The current sources do not mark it as known exploited. The current feed maps Linux/Linux (generic), Linux/Linux (generic). Check affected ranges and fixed versions before updating.
Analysis pending evidence review
HOL Guard separates source facts from reviewed analysis. See the methodology.
A CVSS score is not reported in the current record. The current sources do not mark it as known exploited. Treat this as a source-backed prioritization signal, not a statement about your environment.
Analysis status
Analysis pending evidence review
Factual feed record only; HOL analysis is not approved for indexing. Read the methodology.
The current feed maps Linux/Linux (generic), Linux/Linux (generic). Check affected ranges and fixed versions before updating.
| Package | Affected range | Fixed version |
|---|---|---|
| Linux/Linuxgeneric | >=7974728094d35f38775417a26d8f30ea3602496a <e47b2a350bb0ff123434ec5484c6dc3333b0727c || >=7974728094d35f38775417a26d8f30ea3602496a <57d183764f3002f9625ee4deeeb20716c519534e || >=7974728094d35f38775417a26d8f30ea3602496a <3af2ea4035581a1607d9830779c187a0c7e225aa || >=7974728094d35f38775417a26d8f30ea3602496a <9fa21b0f78adb514e3bd96a505ddb752e9727ff3 || >=7974728094d35f38775417a26d8f30ea3602496a <6353dae51bc9b3cad13c9d890b53311a46c96b4e || >=7974728094d35f38775417a26d8f30ea3602496a <fdd95e819d828c975aaeb258a3fed5dd7fd136d0 || >=7974728094d35f38775417a26d8f30ea3602496a <a86987d03a4d39acdbe4533d83db4d656ea36c59 || >=7974728094d35f38775417a26d8f30ea3602496a <7f2ea5ed588c03d481f0301e6c3d4240132383fb | e47b2a350bb0ff123434ec5484c6dc3333b0727c, 57d183764f3002f9625ee4deeeb20716c519534e, 3af2ea4035581a1607d9830779c187a0c7e225aa, 9fa21b0f78adb514e3bd96a505ddb752e9727ff3, 6353dae51bc9b3cad13c9d890b53311a46c96b4e, fdd95e819d828c975aaeb258a3fed5dd7fd136d0, a86987d03a4d39acdbe4533d83db4d656ea36c59, 7f2ea5ed588c03d481f0301e6c3d4240132383fb |
| Linux/Linuxgeneric | 3.16 | Not reported |
Published upstream
Oct 18, 2026
Evidence: source:cvelist:source_dates:source-dates:recordSource modified
Oct 19, 2026
Evidence: source:cvelist:source_dates:source-dates:recordFirst seen by HOL
Oct 18, 2026
In the Linux kernel, the following vulnerability has been resolved: nfc: st21nfca: validate ISO15693 inventory length The ISO15693 inventory helper removes a two-byte prefix without checking that it exists, then accepts a one-byte remainder before reading data[1] as the DSFID. Require the prefix and at least two remaining bytes before copying the UID data and reading the DSFID.
Quoted source text, attributed separately from HOL analysis.