Answer in brief
CVE-2026-98583 records a Unknown severity vulnerability in nfc: nfcmrvl: validate helper command length before pull. The current sources do not mark it as known exploited. The current feed maps Linux/Linux (generic), Linux/Linux (generic). Check affected ranges and fixed versions before updating.
Analysis pending evidence review
HOL Guard separates source facts from reviewed analysis. See the methodology.
A CVSS score is not reported in the current record. The current sources do not mark it as known exploited. Treat this as a source-backed prioritization signal, not a statement about your environment.
Analysis status
Analysis pending evidence review
Factual feed record only; HOL analysis is not approved for indexing. Read the methodology.
The current feed maps Linux/Linux (generic), Linux/Linux (generic). Check affected ranges and fixed versions before updating.
| Package | Affected range | Fixed version |
|---|---|---|
| Linux/Linuxgeneric | >=3194c6870158e305dac2af52f83681e9cb67280f <842c0603cfa49530ef081f181a2ddbba77a37231 || >=3194c6870158e305dac2af52f83681e9cb67280f <e4b012240c8aaf57cec192234c24e0db5f531ffa || >=3194c6870158e305dac2af52f83681e9cb67280f <f15ad9d6e9173a037587dded77c904fdae8df380 || >=3194c6870158e305dac2af52f83681e9cb67280f <a4e56f57dd04d8f9bc6bc55f90f3d129da759ec9 || >=3194c6870158e305dac2af52f83681e9cb67280f <4d4601e182c8567329be7d919669ec4d847ddd93 || >=3194c6870158e305dac2af52f83681e9cb67280f <ed2e00bb22c73156bf8030b6204deabb25cf4eb5 || >=3194c6870158e305dac2af52f83681e9cb67280f <6a17a5806e9fcd99cf0dd30c3e6301f2aa1fac3c || >=3194c6870158e305dac2af52f83681e9cb67280f <686f942332b1667f13f3b8d6a2f50bcfbf42e277 | 842c0603cfa49530ef081f181a2ddbba77a37231, e4b012240c8aaf57cec192234c24e0db5f531ffa, f15ad9d6e9173a037587dded77c904fdae8df380, a4e56f57dd04d8f9bc6bc55f90f3d129da759ec9, 4d4601e182c8567329be7d919669ec4d847ddd93, ed2e00bb22c73156bf8030b6204deabb25cf4eb5, 6a17a5806e9fcd99cf0dd30c3e6301f2aa1fac3c, 686f942332b1667f13f3b8d6a2f50bcfbf42e277 |
| Linux/Linuxgeneric | 4.4 | Not reported |
Published upstream
Oct 18, 2026
Evidence: source:cvelist:source_dates:source-dates:recordSource modified
Oct 19, 2026
Evidence: source:cvelist:source_dates:source-dates:recordFirst seen by HOL
Oct 18, 2026
In the Linux kernel, the following vulnerability has been resolved: nfc: nfcmrvl: validate helper command length before pull The firmware download receive path removes the NCI data header and reads the helper command before validating the remaining packet length. A short frame can therefore reach the data access before the malformed packet is rejected. Validate the complete helper command length before stripping the NCI data header.
Quoted source text, attributed separately from HOL analysis.