HOL LogoGuard

Explore HOL

  • HOL home
  • AI agent registry
  • AI plugins
  • Open standards
  • HOL members
  • Sponsor HOL
  • Advertise with HOL

Guard product

  • Guard overviewLocal security and control for AI agents and the tools they use.
  • FeaturesRuntime protection, policy routing, review, and evidence.

Explore Guard

  • Product previewWalk through Guard surfaces in read-only demo mode.
  • ComparisonCompare Guard with native controls and AI security vendors.

AI tools

  • All AI toolsEvery supported AI tool and how Guard applies policy to it.
  • Codex
  • Claude Code
  • Cursor
  • Antigravity CLI
  • OpenCode
  • Hermes
  • OpenClaw
  • GitHub Copilot CLI
  • Antigravity
  • Kimi
  • Grok
  • Pi / Oh My Pi
  • Zcode

Extensions

  • All extensionsBrowse command and MCP coverage with owners and stated limits.
  • Command coverageShell command protection across clouds, databases, backups, and packages.
  • MCP server coverageSee how Guard maps risk state across MCP tools and servers.
  • Core safetyThe safety floor listings that ship with Guard.
  • Data and resilienceBackup and storage command protection.
  • Cloud and infrastructureAWS, Azure, GCP, Kubernetes, and more.

Security

  • AI security hubSecurity research, advisories, and agent safety coverage.
  • AI tool securitySecurity profiles for each supported coding agent.
  • Safe labsHands-on attack simulations with safe boundaries.
  • Redacted warningsReal blocked actions with sensitive details removed.
  • AdvisoriesCoordinated disclosure reports for AI tooling.
  • Active CVEsSearch active CVEs affecting AI tooling.

Learn

  • Security guidesPractical guides for securing AI agent workflows.
  • DocsInstall, configure, and operate Guard with confidence.
  • ResearchPublished security research, benchmarks, and methodology.

Community

  • ReleasesVersion history, shipped changes and upgrade notes.
  • ContributorsThe people and contributions behind HOL Guard.
  • AffiliatesShare Guard with your audience and earn from referrals.
  • SponsorFund agreed research, implementation and shared testing through the HOL Partner Program.
  • AdvertiseCompare README logo placements, previews and monthly prices, or promote a plugin or extension.
PricingEnterpriseOpen AppInstall Guard
  1. Guard
  2. Security
  3. CVEs
  4. CVE 2026 98770 usb gadget midi2 fix the jack descriptor array
HOL Guard

Public security guidance for teams protecting AI harnesses, MCP servers, skills, prompts, and local tool execution.

Install Guard

AI Security

  • Prompt injection
  • MCP security
  • OWASP MCP mapping
  • Supply chain

Resources

  • Trust packet
  • Harness setup
  • Redacted warnings
  • Safe labs

Product

  • Install Guard
  • Pricing
  • Open dashboard
Guard
  • Guard Overview
  • Releases
  • Contributors
  • Install Guard
  • Pricing
Docs
  • Documentation Index
  • Developer Hub
  • API Reference
  • Root OpenAPI
  • Registry OpenAPI
  • Run in Postman
  • Standards
  • Submit ERC-8004 Contract
  • Feature Your Agent
Best Plugins
  • Browse Plugins
  • Plugin Launches
  • Best Claude Plugins
  • Best Codex Plugins
  • Best Grok Plugins
  • Best Kimi Plugins
  • Best DeepSeek Plugins
  • Best Antigravity Plugins
  • Best MCP Servers
  • Best Cursor Plugins
  • Best OpenCode Plugins
Best Agents
  • Best ERC-8004 Agents
  • Best Virtuals Agents
  • Best MCP Servers
  • Best A2A Agents
  • Best x402 Payable
  • All Categories
Community
  • Telegram
  • X
More
  • About HOL
  • Sponsor
  • Advertise
  • Contact
  • Blog
  • GitHub
  • Privacy
  • Terms of Service
Settings

Copyright © 2026 HOL DAO LLC. All rights reserved.

Back to active CVEs
Unknown severity · Source severity not reportedCVE-2026-98770

usb: gadget: midi2: Fix the jack descriptor array sizesCVE-2026-98770

Answer in brief

CVE-2026-98770 records a Unknown severity vulnerability in usb: gadget: midi2: Fix the jack descriptor array sizes. The current sources do not mark it as known exploited. The current feed maps Linux/Linux (generic), Linux/Linux (generic), Linux/Linux (generic). Check affected ranges and fixed versions before updating.

Analysis pending evidence review

HOL Guard separates source facts from reviewed analysis. See the methodology.

Published Oct 18, 2026Updated Oct 21, 2026Source checked Oct 25, 2026First seen by HOL Oct 18, 2026Material review Oct 21, 2026
Upstream Advisory

Key facts

Risk
Unknown severitySource severity not reported
Exploitation
Not marked as known exploited
Affected software
3 mapped packages or products
Fix availability
Available

Why this deserves its current priority

A CVSS score is not reported in the current record. The current sources do not mark it as known exploited. Treat this as a source-backed prioritization signal, not a statement about your environment.

Analysis status

Analysis pending evidence review

Factual feed record only; HOL analysis is not approved for indexing. Read the methodology.

Affected scope and exposure questions

The current feed maps Linux/Linux (generic), Linux/Linux (generic), Linux/Linux (generic). Check affected ranges and fixed versions before updating.

Mapped affected packages and fixed versions
PackageAffected rangeFixed version
Linux/Linuxgeneric>=856fa444b0982746f95e801bab0e586533eb29a3 <8294ff75a9de23f7cc641e5e5ca31fa6ea72a574 || >=856fa444b0982746f95e801bab0e586533eb29a3 <87f2185423e01f113811301878f2f67eccec960d || >=856fa444b0982746f95e801bab0e586533eb29a3 <223c3bd02a582776d8ee47dae7b69d3258420694 || >=856fa444b0982746f95e801bab0e586533eb29a3 <310c2d4608d8c1a2baa57db1dfd319c5c40cf4a18294ff75a9de23f7cc641e5e5ca31fa6ea72a574, 87f2185423e01f113811301878f2f67eccec960d, 223c3bd02a582776d8ee47dae7b69d3258420694, 310c2d4608d8c1a2baa57db1dfd319c5c40cf4a1
Linux/Linuxgeneric6.6Not reported
Linux/Linuxgeneric>=856fa444b0982746f95e801bab0e586533eb29a3 <18138d9f19cf6944ff09f5c8c0930545036fe3d0 || >=856fa444b0982746f95e801bab0e586533eb29a3 <8294ff75a9de23f7cc641e5e5ca31fa6ea72a574 || >=856fa444b0982746f95e801bab0e586533eb29a3 <87f2185423e01f113811301878f2f67eccec960d || >=856fa444b0982746f95e801bab0e586533eb29a3 <223c3bd02a582776d8ee47dae7b69d3258420694 || >=856fa444b0982746f95e801bab0e586533eb29a3 <310c2d4608d8c1a2baa57db1dfd319c5c40cf4a118138d9f19cf6944ff09f5c8c0930545036fe3d0, 8294ff75a9de23f7cc641e5e5ca31fa6ea72a574, 87f2185423e01f113811301878f2f67eccec960d, 223c3bd02a582776d8ee47dae7b69d3258420694, 310c2d4608d8c1a2baa57db1dfd319c5c40cf4a1

Recommended response

  1. 1Check inventory. Check lockfiles and deployed manifests for Linux/Linux, Linux/Linux, Linux/Linux.
  2. 2Review the reported fix. Update Linux/Linux to 8294ff75a9de23f7cc641e5e5ca31fa6ea72a574; Linux/Linux to 18138d9f19cf6944ff09f5c8c0930545036fe3d0 if you use the affected versions. Test the change in a non-production environment first.

Evidence timeline and material changes

  1. Published upstream

    Oct 18, 2026

    Evidence: source:cvelist:source_dates:source-dates:record
  2. Source modified

    Oct 21, 2026

    Evidence: source:cvelist:source_dates:source-dates:record
  3. First seen by HOL

    Oct 18, 2026

Sources and claim methodology

  • Source referencegit.kernel.org
  • Source referencegit.kernel.org
  • Source referencegit.kernel.org
  • Source referencegit.kernel.org
  • Source referencegit.kernel.org
Upstream source description

In the Linux kernel, the following vulnerability has been resolved: usb: gadget: midi2: Fix the jack descriptor array sizes The jack in/out descriptor arrays in struct f_midi2_usb_config have the size of MAX_CABLES, which look reasonable -- but it turned out to be incorrect. Namely, the entries for those arrays are added from both inputs and outputs, hence for each loop cycle, it adds two, ended up with as twice as the expected size. This inconsistency may result in potential OOB when a large number of jacks are set up via configfs, although the max number of cables (the loop count) is limited to MAX_CABLES. For addressing it, correct the jack_ins & jack_outs array sizes to twice, MAX_CABLES * 2.

Quoted source text, attributed separately from HOL analysis.

Record context

Vulnerability class
Vulnerability
EPSS
Not reported
CWE IDs
Not reported
Source
CVE List V5
Source checked
Oct 25, 2026
References
5 linked sources
Open source record