HOL LogoGuard

Explore HOL

  • HOL home
  • AI agent registry
  • AI plugins
  • Open standards
  • HOL members
  • Sponsor HOL
  • Advertise with HOL

Guard product

  • Guard overviewLocal security and control for AI agents and the tools they use.
  • FeaturesRuntime protection, policy routing, review, and evidence.

Explore Guard

  • Product previewWalk through Guard surfaces in read-only demo mode.
  • ComparisonCompare Guard with native controls and AI security vendors.

AI tools

  • All AI toolsEvery supported AI tool and how Guard applies policy to it.
  • Codex
  • Claude Code
  • Cursor
  • Antigravity CLI
  • OpenCode
  • Hermes
  • OpenClaw
  • GitHub Copilot CLI
  • Antigravity
  • Kimi
  • Grok
  • Pi / Oh My Pi
  • Zcode

Extensions

  • All extensionsBrowse command and MCP coverage with owners and stated limits.
  • Command coverageShell command protection across clouds, databases, backups, and packages.
  • MCP server coverageSee how Guard maps risk state across MCP tools and servers.
  • Core safetyThe safety floor listings that ship with Guard.
  • Data and resilienceBackup and storage command protection.
  • Cloud and infrastructureAWS, Azure, GCP, Kubernetes, and more.

Security

  • AI security hubSecurity research, advisories, and agent safety coverage.
  • AI tool securitySecurity profiles for each supported coding agent.
  • Safe labsHands-on attack simulations with safe boundaries.
  • Redacted warningsReal blocked actions with sensitive details removed.
  • AdvisoriesCoordinated disclosure reports for AI tooling.
  • Active CVEsSearch active CVEs affecting AI tooling.

Learn

  • Security guidesPractical guides for securing AI agent workflows.
  • DocsInstall, configure, and operate Guard with confidence.
  • ResearchPublished security research, benchmarks, and methodology.

Community

  • ReleasesVersion history, shipped changes and upgrade notes.
  • ContributorsThe people and contributions behind HOL Guard.
  • AffiliatesShare Guard with your audience and earn from referrals.
  • SponsorFund agreed research, implementation and shared testing through the HOL Partner Program.
  • AdvertiseCompare README logo placements, previews and monthly prices, or promote a plugin or extension.
PricingEnterpriseOpen AppInstall Guard
  1. Guard
  2. Security
  3. CVEs
  4. CVE 2026 98801 net restrict soreservemem to tcp sockets and cap
HOL Guard

Public security guidance for teams protecting AI harnesses, MCP servers, skills, prompts, and local tool execution.

Install Guard

AI Security

  • Prompt injection
  • MCP security
  • OWASP MCP mapping
  • Supply chain

Resources

  • Trust packet
  • Harness setup
  • Redacted warnings
  • Safe labs

Product

  • Install Guard
  • Pricing
  • Open dashboard
Guard
  • Guard Overview
  • Releases
  • Contributors
  • Install Guard
  • Pricing
Docs
  • Documentation Index
  • Developer Hub
  • API Reference
  • Root OpenAPI
  • Registry OpenAPI
  • Run in Postman
  • Standards
  • Submit ERC-8004 Contract
  • Feature Your Agent
Best Plugins
  • Browse Plugins
  • Plugin Launches
  • Best Claude Plugins
  • Best Codex Plugins
  • Best Grok Plugins
  • Best Kimi Plugins
  • Best DeepSeek Plugins
  • Best Antigravity Plugins
  • Best MCP Servers
  • Best Cursor Plugins
  • Best OpenCode Plugins
Best Agents
  • Best ERC-8004 Agents
  • Best Virtuals Agents
  • Best MCP Servers
  • Best A2A Agents
  • Best x402 Payable
  • All Categories
Community
  • Telegram
  • X
More
  • About HOL
  • Sponsor
  • Advertise
  • Contact
  • Blog
  • GitHub
  • Privacy
  • Terms of Service
Settings

Copyright © 2026 HOL DAO LLC. All rights reserved.

Back to active CVEs
Unknown severity · Source severity not reportedCVE-2026-98801

net: restrict SO_RESERVE_MEM to TCP sockets and cap max valueCVE-2026-98801

Answer in brief

CVE-2026-98801 records a Unknown severity vulnerability in net: restrict SO_RESERVE_MEM to TCP sockets and cap max value. The current sources do not mark it as known exploited. The current feed maps Linux/Linux (generic), Linux/Linux (generic). Check affected ranges and fixed versions before updating.

Analysis pending evidence review

HOL Guard separates source facts from reviewed analysis. See the methodology.

Published Oct 18, 2026Updated Oct 19, 2026Source checked Oct 25, 2026First seen by HOL Oct 18, 2026Material review Oct 19, 2026
Upstream Advisory

Key facts

Risk
Unknown severitySource severity not reported
Exploitation
Not marked as known exploited
Affected software
2 mapped packages or products
Fix availability
Available

Why this deserves its current priority

A CVSS score is not reported in the current record. The current sources do not mark it as known exploited. Treat this as a source-backed prioritization signal, not a statement about your environment.

Analysis status

Analysis pending evidence review

Factual feed record only; HOL analysis is not approved for indexing. Read the methodology.

Affected scope and exposure questions

The current feed maps Linux/Linux (generic), Linux/Linux (generic). Check affected ranges and fixed versions before updating.

Mapped affected packages and fixed versions
PackageAffected rangeFixed version
Linux/Linuxgeneric>=2bb2f5fb21b0486ff69b7b4a1fe03a760527d133 <492e04f9a00f3cc88a1f6899417b10f3019a624e || >=2bb2f5fb21b0486ff69b7b4a1fe03a760527d133 <5069ce898148bd799395c5a464e006cbb840f188 || >=2bb2f5fb21b0486ff69b7b4a1fe03a760527d133 <a467b05b201b5c26be52ed3081992fa9c0387648 || >=2bb2f5fb21b0486ff69b7b4a1fe03a760527d133 <37e02c42a00be692c06343e11779aadc45f45971492e04f9a00f3cc88a1f6899417b10f3019a624e, 5069ce898148bd799395c5a464e006cbb840f188, a467b05b201b5c26be52ed3081992fa9c0387648, 37e02c42a00be692c06343e11779aadc45f45971
Linux/Linuxgeneric5.16Not reported

Recommended response

  1. 1Check inventory. Check lockfiles and deployed manifests for Linux/Linux, Linux/Linux.
  2. 2Review the reported fix. Update Linux/Linux to 492e04f9a00f3cc88a1f6899417b10f3019a624e if you use the affected versions. Test the change in a non-production environment first.

Evidence timeline and material changes

  1. Published upstream

    Oct 18, 2026

    Evidence: source:cvelist:source_dates:source-dates:record
  2. Source modified

    Oct 19, 2026

    Evidence: source:cvelist:source_dates:source-dates:record
  3. First seen by HOL

    Oct 18, 2026

Sources and claim methodology

  • Source referencegit.kernel.org
  • Source referencegit.kernel.org
  • Source referencegit.kernel.org
  • Source referencegit.kernel.org
Upstream source description

In the Linux kernel, the following vulnerability has been resolved: net: restrict SO_RESERVE_MEM to TCP sockets and cap max value Commit 2bb2f5fb21b0 ("net: add new socket option SO_RESERVE_MEM") and commit d00c8ee31729 ("net: fix possible NULL deref in sock_reserve_memory") only checked sk_has_account(sk), which is true for both TCP and UDP sockets. However, SO_RESERVE_MEM and sk_unused_reserved_mem() are currently only supported by TCP: - On UDP sockets, sk->sk_forward_alloc is protected by sk->sk_receive_queue.lock, whereas sock_reserve_memory() and sock_release_reserved_memory() only acquire lock_sock(sk). Concurrent UDP packet reception/release and setsockopt(SO_RESERVE_MEM) corrupt sk_forward_alloc and memcg accounting. - udp_rmem_release() reclaims excess sk_forward_alloc without accounting for sk_unused_reserved_mem(sk). Restrict sock_reserve_memory() to TCP sockets (sk_is_tcp(sk)) for now. Supporting SO_RESERVE_MEM for UDP (acquiring sk_receive_queue.lock and honoring sk_unused_reserved_mem() in udp_rmem_release()) can be done in a future net-next series if needed. In addition, reject val > SZ_1G with -EINVAL in sk_setsockopt(SO_RESERVE_MEM). Without an upper bound, values near INT_MAX cause sk_mem_pages(delta) and (pages << PAGE_SHIFT) to overflow 32-bit signed int, corrupting sk->sk_forward_alloc and sk->sk_reserved_mem. Using a page-aligned cap (SZ_1G) ensures that the page-rounded sk->sk_reserved_mem reported by getsockopt(SO_RESERVE_MEM) can always be passed back to setsockopt(SO_RESERVE_MEM).

Quoted source text, attributed separately from HOL analysis.

Record context

Vulnerability class
Vulnerability
EPSS
Not reported
CWE IDs
Not reported
Source
CVE List V5
Source checked
Oct 25, 2026
References
4 linked sources
Open source record