HOL LogoGuard

Explore HOL

  • HOL home
  • AI agent registry
  • AI plugins
  • Open standards
  • HOL members
  • Sponsor HOL
  • Advertise with HOL

Guard product

  • Guard overviewLocal security and control for AI agents and the tools they use.
  • FeaturesRuntime protection, policy routing, review, and evidence.

Explore Guard

  • Product previewWalk through Guard surfaces in read-only demo mode.
  • ComparisonCompare Guard with native controls and AI security vendors.

AI tools

  • All AI toolsEvery supported AI tool and how Guard applies policy to it.
  • Codex
  • Claude Code
  • Cursor
  • Antigravity CLI
  • OpenCode
  • Hermes
  • OpenClaw
  • GitHub Copilot CLI
  • Antigravity
  • Kimi
  • Grok
  • Pi / Oh My Pi
  • Zcode

Extensions

  • All extensionsBrowse command and MCP coverage with owners and stated limits.
  • Command coverageShell command protection across clouds, databases, backups, and packages.
  • MCP server coverageSee how Guard maps risk state across MCP tools and servers.
  • Core safetyThe safety floor listings that ship with Guard.
  • Data and resilienceBackup and storage command protection.
  • Cloud and infrastructureAWS, Azure, GCP, Kubernetes, and more.

Security

  • AI security hubSecurity research, advisories, and agent safety coverage.
  • AI tool securitySecurity profiles for each supported coding agent.
  • Safe labsHands-on attack simulations with safe boundaries.
  • Redacted warningsReal blocked actions with sensitive details removed.
  • AdvisoriesCoordinated disclosure reports for AI tooling.
  • Active CVEsSearch active CVEs affecting AI tooling.

Learn

  • Security guidesPractical guides for securing AI agent workflows.
  • DocsInstall, configure, and operate Guard with confidence.
  • ResearchPublished security research, benchmarks, and methodology.

Community

  • ReleasesVersion history, shipped changes and upgrade notes.
  • ContributorsThe people and contributions behind HOL Guard.
  • AffiliatesShare Guard with your audience and earn from referrals.
  • SponsorFund agreed research, implementation and shared testing through the HOL Partner Program.
  • AdvertiseCompare README logo placements, previews and monthly prices, or promote a plugin or extension.
PricingEnterpriseOpen AppInstall Guard
  1. Guard
  2. Security
  3. CVEs
  4. CVE 2026 98857 ipvs bound lblcr and lblc cache growth
HOL Guard

Public security guidance for teams protecting AI harnesses, MCP servers, skills, prompts, and local tool execution.

Install Guard

AI Security

  • Prompt injection
  • MCP security
  • OWASP MCP mapping
  • Supply chain

Resources

  • Trust packet
  • Harness setup
  • Redacted warnings
  • Safe labs

Product

  • Install Guard
  • Pricing
  • Open dashboard
Guard
  • Guard Overview
  • Releases
  • Contributors
  • Install Guard
  • Pricing
Docs
  • Documentation Index
  • Developer Hub
  • API Reference
  • Root OpenAPI
  • Registry OpenAPI
  • Run in Postman
  • Standards
  • Submit ERC-8004 Contract
  • Feature Your Agent
Best Plugins
  • Browse Plugins
  • Plugin Launches
  • Best Claude Plugins
  • Best Codex Plugins
  • Best Grok Plugins
  • Best Kimi Plugins
  • Best DeepSeek Plugins
  • Best Antigravity Plugins
  • Best MCP Servers
  • Best Cursor Plugins
  • Best OpenCode Plugins
Best Agents
  • Best ERC-8004 Agents
  • Best Virtuals Agents
  • Best MCP Servers
  • Best A2A Agents
  • Best x402 Payable
  • All Categories
Community
  • Telegram
  • X
More
  • About HOL
  • Sponsor
  • Advertise
  • Contact
  • Blog
  • GitHub
  • Privacy
  • Terms of Service
Settings

Copyright © 2026 HOL DAO LLC. All rights reserved.

Back to active CVEs
Unknown severity · Source severity not reportedCVE-2026-98857

ipvs: bound LBLCR and LBLC cache growthCVE-2026-98857

Answer in brief

CVE-2026-98857 records a Unknown severity vulnerability in ipvs: bound LBLCR and LBLC cache growth. The current sources do not mark it as known exploited. The current feed maps Linux/Linux (generic), Linux/Linux (generic), Linux/Linux (generic). Check affected ranges and fixed versions before updating.

Analysis pending evidence review

HOL Guard separates source facts from reviewed analysis. See the methodology.

Published Oct 18, 2026Updated Oct 21, 2026Source checked Oct 25, 2026First seen by HOL Oct 18, 2026Material review Oct 21, 2026
Upstream Advisory

Key facts

Risk
Unknown severitySource severity not reported
Exploitation
Not marked as known exploited
Affected software
3 mapped packages or products
Fix availability
Available

Why this deserves its current priority

A CVSS score is not reported in the current record. The current sources do not mark it as known exploited. Treat this as a source-backed prioritization signal, not a statement about your environment.

Analysis status

Analysis pending evidence review

Factual feed record only; HOL analysis is not approved for indexing. Read the methodology.

Affected scope and exposure questions

The current feed maps Linux/Linux (generic), Linux/Linux (generic), Linux/Linux (generic). Check affected ranges and fixed versions before updating.

Mapped affected packages and fixed versions
PackageAffected rangeFixed version
Linux/Linuxgeneric>=1da177e4c3f41524e886b7f1b8a0c1fc7321cac2 <31028d7b970962fbeda1e9131405c76551094300 || >=1da177e4c3f41524e886b7f1b8a0c1fc7321cac2 <6316d17324bd4ca400c26adb7b656c6e3447c209 || >=1da177e4c3f41524e886b7f1b8a0c1fc7321cac2 <16c83c047ecfaf226ad81d45d77fa11a3184d0e4 || >=1da177e4c3f41524e886b7f1b8a0c1fc7321cac2 <2a3c3de660f96865f303fd25f1285f2ffbfd521d31028d7b970962fbeda1e9131405c76551094300, 6316d17324bd4ca400c26adb7b656c6e3447c209, 16c83c047ecfaf226ad81d45d77fa11a3184d0e4, 2a3c3de660f96865f303fd25f1285f2ffbfd521d
Linux/Linuxgeneric2.6.12Not reported
Linux/Linuxgeneric>=1da177e4c3f41524e886b7f1b8a0c1fc7321cac2 <bc9ff8e64771cc32a216953fe615386f46ac1eaa || >=1da177e4c3f41524e886b7f1b8a0c1fc7321cac2 <31028d7b970962fbeda1e9131405c76551094300 || >=1da177e4c3f41524e886b7f1b8a0c1fc7321cac2 <6316d17324bd4ca400c26adb7b656c6e3447c209 || >=1da177e4c3f41524e886b7f1b8a0c1fc7321cac2 <16c83c047ecfaf226ad81d45d77fa11a3184d0e4 || >=1da177e4c3f41524e886b7f1b8a0c1fc7321cac2 <2a3c3de660f96865f303fd25f1285f2ffbfd521dbc9ff8e64771cc32a216953fe615386f46ac1eaa, 31028d7b970962fbeda1e9131405c76551094300, 6316d17324bd4ca400c26adb7b656c6e3447c209, 16c83c047ecfaf226ad81d45d77fa11a3184d0e4, 2a3c3de660f96865f303fd25f1285f2ffbfd521d

Recommended response

  1. 1Check inventory. Check lockfiles and deployed manifests for Linux/Linux, Linux/Linux, Linux/Linux.
  2. 2Review the reported fix. Update Linux/Linux to 31028d7b970962fbeda1e9131405c76551094300; Linux/Linux to bc9ff8e64771cc32a216953fe615386f46ac1eaa if you use the affected versions. Test the change in a non-production environment first.

Evidence timeline and material changes

  1. Published upstream

    Oct 18, 2026

    Evidence: source:cvelist:source_dates:source-dates:record
  2. Source modified

    Oct 21, 2026

    Evidence: source:cvelist:source_dates:source-dates:record
  3. First seen by HOL

    Oct 18, 2026

Sources and claim methodology

  • Source referencegit.kernel.org
  • Source referencegit.kernel.org
  • Source referencegit.kernel.org
  • Source referencegit.kernel.org
  • Source referencegit.kernel.org
Upstream source description

In the Linux kernel, the following vulnerability has been resolved: ipvs: bound LBLCR and LBLC cache growth ip_vs_lblcr_new() and ip_vs_lblc_new() create cache entries for every previously unseen destination address. The table max_size only tells the periodic collector to reclaim entries after the cache has already exceeded the limit. It does not reclaim entries that the attacker continues to use. Reject new cache entries once either table reaches max_size * 3 / 2. The extra headroom lets the periodic collector catch up while the existing scheduler fallback continues to use the selected destination when cache creation fails. New traffic therefore stays serviceable without growing the tables further.

Quoted source text, attributed separately from HOL analysis.

Record context

Vulnerability class
Vulnerability
EPSS
Not reported
CWE IDs
Not reported
Source
CVE List V5
Source checked
Oct 25, 2026
References
5 linked sources
Open source record